We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel.”
Review of Lamplighter Motel

Lamplighter Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lamplighter Motel
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
calgary, Alberta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel.”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We have stayed at this motel several times over the last 20 years. First because they had a
room with 3 beds when we were travelling with children. WE have seen several different owners doing several improvements. I would say the hotel rooms are top of the line for budget. They
have taken out the double beds and put in queens so the room has less space, however, for
$65 you definitely get your moneys worth! The tub is deep and the towels have better
quality then they used to. Regarding the adult movies, I believe they come on late and so you
would have to be looking for them to see them. Rooms to have a fridge and microwave.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. There are trains and road noise as they are just off the highway. Someti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    10
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
7
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

First of all, I did not go in. The interior maybe renovated & very nice. I do not know.
For me, a simple drive by was enough to know this was NOT the place for a solo, female traveler. The selling feature on the sign was "ADULT MOVIES AVAILABLE" or something to that effect. The hot afternoon provided an opportunity for some of the male guests to sit outside. Well, let's just say I'm glad I did the drive by during the day. Scary. This motel, along with a few others are located at the end of the strip / road and feel more isolated / further way from the main restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kamloops hotels

Paso Robles, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Don't be fooled by the look or location when you first drive up or by the unorganized front desk, this is an excellent value when traveling through Kamloops. We spent one night here on our way to Vancouver coming from Jasper. Did not check out the sauna/spa.

Pros:
- Bang for your buck
- Newly renovated with new paint, flatscreen tv
- Great insulation, did not hear neighbors or train
- Free wifi
- Microwave and fridge
- Convenient location off freeway, Starbucks next door to grab breakfast and coffee for the road

Cons:
- Some furniture still needs updating
- Lose the ugly, unsanitary bedspread
- Update bath fixtures, broken off knobs difficult to pull/push

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moenli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have stayed here many times over the years but not recently.
Impressed with the renovated and up-dated room (we had #44) and the $65 + tax charge seemed hard to beat.
Up-side is close to many fast foods and Harold's Restaurant; downside is that whole strip is across the highway from the many passing trains. The A/C helped drown out the noise.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrie808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

If this hotel was rated more than one star, you gotta be kidding.

The beds are like ironing boards, towels were dirty and stained, bedspreads are never washed ... Shall I go on?

The staff were not friendly and would crack their face if they smiled.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1CentMuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

On a cycle tour across Canada, we stopped here and were warmly greeted by Vicky at the front desk, such a helpful person. Hot tub was great! Good blackout curtains. There's a Starbucks within walking distance to the East (there's in-room coffee). No noise between rooms. Many regular customers (we met some). Good shower, separate sink from toilet and shower. Good rates, lovely people, family owned.

Room Tip: Folks smoke outside but it's kept to one side of the hotel, so ask for the non-smoking side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank combustion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, BC, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

My husband and I reserved well ahead of our weekend's stay at the Lamplighter, so the rate we paid was one of the better ones for motels in the Kamloops area (that is, motels with generally favourable reviews). The staff was friendly and accommodating to our needs, the room was clean, and the TV was a flatscreen and offered the usual Canadian and American networks, but not many of the specialty ones.

Water pressure was good but our sink's drain was somewhat blocked, and so drained slowly. The bed had a pillow-top mattress but was very firm, so it didn't "give" the way I prefer my mattress to be.

Our room was unfortunately the second from the main road, so we heard a little road noise which wasn't too bad but a train goes by several times a night across the road and we certainly heard that.

Although we booked a non-smoking room someone nearby was smoking, so our room smelled of smoke when we returned there later in the day. The smell dissipated later on (probably after the smoker went to bed).

All rooms at this location are on the ground level with parking right outside the rooms, so it's easy for disabled people to get around.

This motel is not a four star venue but it's conveniently located a five minute drive from the conference centre we spent our days at. All in all, it's a reasonably priced, decent, clean place to stay and we'll probably stay there again the next time we're in Kamloops.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the main road away from the road noise and the train. All rooms are on the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lottacash2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Country View Motor Inn
#34 of 54 in Kamloops
185 reviews
Riverland Inn & Suites
#15 of 54 in Kamloops
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Valleyview
Kings Motor Inn
Kings Motor Inn
#28 of 54 in Kamloops
111 reviews
Valleyview
Super 8 Kamloops East
Super 8 Kamloops East
#43 of 54 in Kamloops
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamplighter Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamplighter Motel

Property: Lamplighter Motel
Address: 1901 Trans Canada Hwy E, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 3Z9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > Valleyview
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lamplighter Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Clean rooms with AC - Refrigerator - Coffee Maker - Microwave - Free WiFi - Free Local Calls - Iron and Ironing Board - Kids playground. Within walking distance of Fast Food and Restaurants. 5 Minutes from airport and 10 minutes from Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lamplighter Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing