We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly as Expected”
Review of The Ranchland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ranchland Inn
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Exactly as Expected”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Don't go looking for a 4 Star, 5 Star Hotel, this is a Motel, Yes it was $80 something/night, yes its right off the highway, yes its near the train tracks, once inside the room we didn't hear a thing, only the occasional Fatty or over compensating douche walking on the second level. I don't expect any place not to have bugs, spiders, and centipedes get into every ones houses. I killed the spider, didn't really want it crawling into my mouth while I slept.

The place looks like its attempting to upgrade and replace items in the rooms, we were luck enough to get a room that had a newer shower, a nice fiber glass tub, only suggestion would be to put in a detachable shower head, as the current one was made for a midget, anyone under 4'11" would have loved it. The room also had a nice new LCD TV, A fridge, Microwave and Hair Dryer. Not many 4 star hotels put a microwave in your room. I was able to buy popcorn, microwave it, and relax. Its not like I was here for a long time, but for the 2 nights we stayed, it was just fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    72
    35
    7
    7
See reviews for
44
65
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We made a last minute booking to stay here on a drive from Calgary to Vancouver. We originally booked a double room for four adults over the phone. The woman (I forget her name) was incredibly helpful and offered us a good deal on the one room. I had forgotten to request a ground floor room, which was important because one person in our party has mobility issues. We also decided that two rooms would likely be better. When we arrived we asked if it would be possible to change things around a bit and get a second room, which was done immediately and for minimal extra charge. The only issue was the 'continental breakfast' was nothing impressive, but we weren't interested in it anyway.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. It's a typical roadside motel, so nothing to write home about, but for this category of accommodation it's perfect. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glitterhoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkwall
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stopped for overnight stay very handy for the highway, Nice looking place polite and friendly check in , got a double Queen room fridge, old style TV Microwave an Coffee maker all linen good and clean comfortable beds .
Was given groundfloor room so car was parked outside room door ,very handy
Table and 2 chairs for self serve breakfast from reception , hot tub is available next to reception would use Ranchlands again

Room Tip: bround floor handy for the car
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We just needed a place to sleep enroute to Jasper and were pleasantly surprised by what we got for our money.
Clean rooms, comfortable beds, decent towels, friendly staff, an adequate breakfast, toiletries, a shower with awesome water pressure, small fridge and microwave.
The A/C was noisy so we turned it off when we went to bed and opened the window. Heard a bit of traffic noise but not enough to keep us awake and heard nothing from the rooms above or beside us.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nakilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This is a good $40 motel; we paid twice that to stay there. Basically a Motel 6-quality room with a strange layout. We stayed on a warm day. The AC noise made it difficult to sleep, but it was quieter than the highway and trains would've been if we'd opened the window. Found a couple of bugs in the bedspread. Bathroom smelled of mildew. The breakfast was minimal. The owners were very nice, and the exterior was well-maintained.
This was a typical Kamloops motel, threadbare and overpriced. Even the gas is expensive there, hard to understand for such a nondescript town, certainly not a tourist destination. If you're traveling Vancouver-Jasper, there are better places midpoint to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My wife and I passed through Kamloops on our way to points South and West, and put our heads down at this motel. It was cheap and clean. The pillows were terrible, but we tend to bring out own if we are driving. For the price, can't complain. You get what you pay for, but here you don't pay for much.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treewhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The motel was as advertised, it was affordable and clean. The furniture was dated and the continental breakfast was a little lame, but we didn't stay there for the amenities. It was clean, close to the highway and reasonably priced. The room was fairy warm and the air conditioner was kind of loud, but if I was passing through Kamloops, I would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
3.4 mi away
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
946 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riverland Inn & Suites
Riverland Inn & Suites
#16 of 55 in Kamloops
329 reviews
5.5 mi away
Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
3.3 mi away
Hotel 540
Hotel 540
#7 of 55 in Kamloops
1,431 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ranchland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranchland Inn

Property: The Ranchland Inn
Address: 2357 Trans Canada Hwy E, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 4A8, Canada (Formerly The Ranchland Motel)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > Valleyview
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ranchland Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy moderately priced accommodations in a beautifully landscaped motel adjacent to a park. The Ranchland Motel is located on the East Trans Canada Highway just minutes from downtown Kamloops. Dine at the assortment of nearby restaurants. Take advantage of our golf packages for the many nearby golf courses or our ski packages for Sun Peaks which is just 45 minutes away. The Ranchland Motel is close to everything. We are adjacent to a park with a play ground and playing fields. We are a block from a shopping centre with banks-liquor store-grocery-drug store and restaurants. Downtown Kamloops is 5 minutes to the West. The Kamloops Wildlife Park is 5 minutes to the East. Kamloops is a town with 80000 people that bills itself as the Tournament Capital of Canada. There are many nearby golf courses as well as the ski and golf resort of Sun Peaks which is just 45 minutes to the North. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ranchland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing