We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet!!!!”
Review of The Ranchland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ranchland Inn
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Clean and quiet!!!!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Blew my expectations apart. Had small clean rooms at very low price. I cannot believe how quiet it was, I usually sleep with earplugs and it was near the road. But they must have built this old motel with super thick insulation I did not hear any slamming door or vehicles and it is a drive up room. Breakfast even had fruit and she gave me two! Thanks Pam I shall return!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelnorth7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    72
    35
    7
    7
See reviews for
44
65
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Booked this motel (online) because it was pet friendly. Pleasantly surprised that the room was clean but very basic. Motel was on the east side of Kamloops on the Highway on 'motel row', almost one of the last motels. The staff were very friendly and answered most of our questions. Parking lot was brightly light and appeared safe, but did the normal precautions - nothing valuable in the vehicle. A/C was awesome - really appreciated as we were there on the Aug long weekend and it was hot. The free continental breakfast was rather disappointing (brown and white bread for toasting and an assortment of muffins, with tea, coffee and orange juice). We were disappointed because when my wife went to serve herself OJ from the dispenser, there was a small fly in it and she showed it to one of the staff. The response was Disappointing and Startling: "oh it must have come in through the opening on the top" but she DID NOT THROW OUT the contaminated OJ, just offered my wife another cup from the SAME dispenser!!!... this was gross!!!!
Would I recommend the place... yes for a short stay, clean rooms, abit over priced for the location and being dog friendly. But I'd be careful about the quality of the food and the way they respond to health issues.

Room Tip: Well, we were on the ground floor room 115 but no problems about noise level etc.. We had our 2 larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiggerdosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spruce Grove, Alberta Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I booked this motel very last minute and I was pleasantly suprised. The motel was very easy to find, even at night. The parking lot was very well lit so I felt completely safe leaving my BMW convertible outside overnight. The front desk staff was extremely polite and helpful. The room was a good size and most importantly, it was clean! I was so impressed with this motel that I booked it again on my way home. Will stay here agin for sure and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggs72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, British Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Beautiful cool clean room after a very hot day of travel - it was heavenly! The front desk people were friendly and helpful - recommended a great place to eat and everything in the room was perfect. Extremely good value.

Room Tip: Bubble bath for that big comfy tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelma403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A friend and I got a room at this place off Hotwire and were a little nervous about the 2-star rating. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the accommodations. While there wasn't a pool onsite (it was at least 35 degrees when we were there and we were melting), there was a shared one at the Super 8 just down the road, which was awesome. The rooms were clean and didn't smell like smoke (a welcome change from comparable motels) and I really appreciated the new bathtub they had; it's one of those one-piece fitted thingies and it was very clean and felt comfortable to use. They could use some new towels as the ones they have are pretty threadbare but again, they were also clean. I also found this motel quite quiet in comparison to some of the other places we'd just stayed. The woman at the desk (I'm assuming she's the owner) was super accommodating and really friendly and pleasant and very on-the-ball, which I appreciated. As other reviewers are mentioning, the breakfast is very very basic but honestly we were surprised there even was one, so it was all a bonus to us! Again, while this place isn't deluxe by any stretch of the imagination, it more than adequately filled our needs and I would definitely consider this place again. Don't believe the two stars!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy Janzen
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed here for a single night and it was a very good experience. The room was clean, quiet and the bed was acceptably comfortable. Wifi was functional if a bit sluggish. Breakfast was really basic but par for the course for this type of accommodation. The price was pretty insane at around $60.

Would stay here again if I was passing through Kamloops. No real need to spend more.

On more thing: behind the hotel is a really great park and school playground, perfect for kids to burn off some energy before bed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy_jj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Nothing fancy here, but all we wanted was a clean, quiet, comfortable place to sleep on a road trip. We arrived late and left early. The rooms were only $60/might. The rooms look drab but they were clean. The breakfast is nothing to shout about, muffin, coffee, an apple, but we were there to get sleep, and it was comfy enough. I would stay again, if traveling and just needing a place to sleep. This motel would not be a fun vacation stay or multi-night destination. Stop and go. P.S. we are 100% sure we left a child's blanket there, and we called a few days later and they never did find it.

Room Tip: We had two rooms, they were identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
2.2 mi away
Riverland Inn & Suites
Riverland Inn & Suites
#15 of 54 in Kamloops
331 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kamloops
949 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre
3.3 mi away
Hotel 540
Hotel 540
#7 of 54 in Kamloops
1,435 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ranchland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranchland Inn

Property: The Ranchland Inn
Address: 2357 Trans Canada Hwy E, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 4A8, Canada (Formerly The Ranchland Motel)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > Valleyview
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ranchland Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy moderately priced accommodations in a beautifully landscaped motel adjacent to a park. The Ranchland Motel is located on the East Trans Canada Highway just minutes from downtown Kamloops. Dine at the assortment of nearby restaurants. Take advantage of our golf packages for the many nearby golf courses or our ski packages for Sun Peaks which is just 45 minutes away. The Ranchland Motel is close to everything. We are adjacent to a park with a play ground and playing fields. We are a block from a shopping centre with banks-liquor store-grocery-drug store and restaurants. Downtown Kamloops is 5 minutes to the West. The Kamloops Wildlife Park is 5 minutes to the East. Kamloops is a town with 80000 people that bills itself as the Tournament Capital of Canada. There are many nearby golf courses as well as the ski and golf resort of Sun Peaks which is just 45 minutes to the North. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ranchland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing