We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trans Canada Motel

Trans Canada Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Trans Canada Motel
Ranked #41 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

This motel has definetely seen better days but I only needed a place for a single night and I was travelling on a tight budget. I found it shabby but very clean with firm but comfortable beds. This is not suitable for someone with mobility problems as there are no grab-bars in the bathroom which has a deep tub. It does not have very secure windows or doors. The door has a little chain lock along with a door handle lock. The windows don't seem to lock, there is no security bar for it and the screens all look lke they've been pried out at some point in time. But, for $70 a night, I had a clean room with a decent bed. I got my money's worth.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sok30_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    6
    9
    8
    7
See reviews for
4
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Prince Albert, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

Old place, I would suggest spend $10-20 more and get a nice decent place. During my stay, there was no water in the pool and no breakfast provided. It was cheap, might be good for budget minded people.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertaOilers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

This motel is located off Highway-1 about 10km from Kamloops town. For the rate of $49/night (excl. taxes), we got a room with microwave, a mini-fridge and hi-speed wi-fi internet! The pool was not working at the time we were there, but it was the perfect place to put up for a night. The beds were comfy, the floor was clean, the TV was working so everything was great. Bring a pair of ear plugs and you should have no problems with the traffic noise (if any). I think this was one of the best finds (in terms of value) in this region!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ak970097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innisfil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

Booked a 5 night stay while on business and had to be the worst place I have ever stayed at. The first night distubances from unit above. at 4AM. FLOORS AND WALLS NOISY Second night room was not serviced was told housekeeping staff did not come. Had shower and when college went to have shower he had NO water for almost one hour. TV had bad speaker. Had to have internet in office reset, and very little band width. The second night room was clean.
The third night once again no room service, beds were not made, towels on floor, no cleaning done. Once again we had to insist on service.Sink has large chunks out of porcelan and the bed is proped up with a chunk of wood. AVOID THIS PLACE !!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank refind_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

A great stay i must say. I stayed with a group of friends and each of our rooms were nicely made and they were all clean.They had large televisions, a/c, microwaves, and fridges. The rooms were cozy and they had a heated pool which was quiet refreshing. Overall it was a great stay. And compared to the motel next to it ( The thriftlodge ), it was far more comfortable, and the service was more polite.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dja95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Country View Motor Inn
#37 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Valleyview
The Ranchland Inn
The Ranchland Inn
#22 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Valleyview
Kings Motor Inn
Kings Motor Inn
#33 of 55 in Kamloops
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Valleyview
Super 8 Kamloops East
Super 8 Kamloops East
#45 of 55 in Kamloops
3.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Valleyview
Lamplighter Motel
Lamplighter Motel
#38 of 55 in Kamloops
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trans Canada Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trans Canada Motel

Property: Trans Canada Motel
Address: 2505 Trans Canada Hwy E, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 4A9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Trans Canada Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Trans Canada Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing