We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapppointed”
Review of Trans Canada Motel

Trans Canada Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trans Canada Motel
Ranked #45 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We were travelling home and needed a few hours to sleep. I looked on Trivago and found this hotel for $55 and availability was 4 rooms left.
When we arrived to the hotel the woman said was no rooms at that price and then offered us a room for $140 or $79 for non smoking.
It was close to midnight and we had planned to only get a few hours in. So we left and slept in the car.
Why advertise if you can't get the prices being offered???

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
transcanadamotel, Webmaster at Trans Canada Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations regarding price. We sometimes promote specific rooms at a reduced rate, and I apologize that those rooms were already taken when you arrived late. We recommend not relying on third-party sites for hotel information and dealing directly with our hotel for the most accurate and up-to-date information. I regret that you were mislead by a third-party booking company, and I hope you will try us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Room was clean
Area was very quiet
Service was very friendly and efficient
Price was right....always nice to find a place that is reasonably priced where you would be happy to stay again.
The pool was a disaster and should maybe be fixed or removed

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cyhin30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
transcanadamotel, Webmaster at Trans Canada Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I’m so pleased that you found us a clean and pleasant place to stay and that our amenities were to your liking. I'm sorry the pool didn't meet your expectations, but I'm glad everything else did. We take real pride in this hotel and in serving guests like you, and I’m extremely happy that you had such a pleasant stay. We look forward to having you with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stay here as a half way stop between Vancouver and Calgary. Always clean, comfortable bed and very friendly owners. Even though it is near the highway - we have yet to hear any noise. Sure - there is no pool, it can be dated but the owners are gradually upgrading the rooms and we can take our dog. We do not notice how old the building is when we are sleeping.
Good value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Royandlynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
transcanadamotel, Webmaster at Trans Canada Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m pleased you had a good experience with us although I regret that some aspects were not to your liking. You'll find that we have improved in many ways since your stay. We take real pride in our hotel, and we want you to have the best possible experience here. We’re working toward complete satisfaction of all guests every night.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

For the price, your hardly looking for luxury. Having said that, I have stayed in nicer places for cheaper. The rooms were fine, nothing special. Could do with a little updating.Swimming pool was empty and a bit scummy. There was also a bit of a strange smell in the room, not entirely sure what it was....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vxk831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
transcanadamotel, Webmaster at Trans Canada Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m pleased that you had a generally good experience with us, but I’m very concerned that we didn’t live up to your standards or expectations. We take great pride in our hotel, and I hope that shows. We've made many changes since your stay, and we're always improving. I hope you will give us another chance and see that we’re doing what we can to improve and enhance the guest experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We decided we wanted a place to stay in Kamloops that would be half-way between Calgary and Vancouver, but did not want to spend a pile of money as we basically wanted a comfortable room and a pool, but we were not expecting a four-star as we knew it would just be a check in, a swim and wake up the next morning and hit the road again.

The pool was one of the main reasons we booked this place as it was the only mid-to-low-priced motel that had a pool and was in Kamloops.

The pool was a huge disappointment as it simply was not open, just a dirty puddle at the deep end. The motel owner said the pool was closed because the motel people could not find any people to look after the pool, which was fine, but I think they should tell customers, either on the booking site or on the phone that the pool is closed as that was a key reason why we booked this motel.

This motel is very much in need of some upkeep. Everything is dated and in disrepair. The Friday and stove were from the 60s or 70s, the counters were old and worn out. The flooring and furniture were also quite old and dated. Surprisingly the bed was reasonably comfortable.

We were not expecting a four-star, but a three would have been nice. It was OK for a night, but would not recommend any more than one if all you need is an affordable overnighter.

We went for a walk and the motel next door and one further down had pools that were open and looked so refreshing on this 34 C day, so the story about no pool people available did not go over so well.

It is next to the highway, so a bit loud when larger trucks roll by.

Owner seemed friendly enough, but my recommendation would be look elsewhere if you can find something else in the same price range.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lance K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
transcanadamotel, Webmaster at Trans Canada Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your opinions. I’m terribly sorry we failed to meet your needs in some ways. We’re involved in a continuous improvement process aimed at making the hotel better than ever before, and a lot has changed in the time since you stayed with us. I hope you will visit again and see how we’re getting better every day. You’ll be surprised by all the positive changes.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Terrible motel, do not stay here! Dirty room, dated, dirty coffee machine, swimming pool empty and dirty. Stayed for one night on the way from Vancouver to Banff, but will never stay here again, awful! Chose a motel next door or elsewhere, but do not stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1nga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
transcanadamotel, Webmaster at Trans Canada Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. I’m terribly sorry we failed to meet your expectations. We take pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and in the overall experience we provide to guests. I sincerely apologize that we let you down and assure you that action is already being taken to make things better for the future. Your experience is not an indication of how we normally do business, and we’ll work to provide a more consistent experience in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Plugs falling out of outlets, Curtains with big holes in them, Tap on sink fell off, didn't give us an option to change rooms, furniture covered in water stains and filthy carpets. Swimming pool with no water just garbage. Who could want anything more??

Room Tip: Don't stay here.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
transcanadamotel, Webmaster at Trans Canada Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that several issues combined to make your stay less than desirable. We take real pride in offering the best possible guest experience, and I understand that we let you down. You can be sure we’ll do better for you next time as we've made many changes since your stay with us several years ago. Nothing means more to us than providing a pleasant guest experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
The Plaza Hotel
#8 of 54 in Kamloops
985 reviews
Country View Motor Inn
#35 of 54 in Kamloops
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Acadian Inn
#39 of 54 in Kamloops
136 reviews
Valleyview
The Ranchland Inn
The Ranchland Inn
#20 of 54 in Kamloops
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trans Canada Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trans Canada Motel

Address: 2505 Trans Canada Hwy E, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 4A9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range: £29 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Trans Canada Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Trans Canada Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing