We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice...But Not”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice...But Not”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed here for a wedding over the weekend. Should have stayed at the other hotel recommended.
Called the 1-800 number and used the code set up by the bridal party. Ended up getting a cheaper rate without using it. Paid over the phone in May. Checked my bank online to see I have a $250 charge. Called the Holiday Inn, and learned it's a deposit of sorts, would have been nice to been told that when I was booking, or even checking in. Now I'm waiting 3 business days for it to be reversed.

The room itself was nice, but really not worth the money that was being asked for it. Lack of included breakfast was a downer as well. The attached White Spot was nice, but there again, no coupons being offered for a discounted breakfast is unfortunate.

The small 'kitchen' area was nice, with the microwave and mini fridge, but I ended up unplugging the fridge as it kicked in every half hour and was super noisy. Would have taken a smaller room that didn't have a fridge and microwave for less money.

Awkward location as well, as the hotel is located on a divided street, but there is a back entrance if you go straight through the traffic lights. From what I heard from the locals, the hotel was also located in the seedier section of Kamloops.

Next time if I HAD to use a Holiday Inn, in Kamloops, I'd use the Holiday Inn Express by the airport and get the included breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room AWAY from the stairs, otherwise you'll hear the slamming of the door everytime so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
So sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us and I wish it would have been different. Rates fluctuate for hotel rooms much like airline tickets and it's driven by supply and demand. It is common practise to take a pre-autorization on check in for any incidentals and that pre-auth is released on check out if nothing has been charged against it. The delay in having the money accessible on the credit card is totally dependent on the bank it is issued by and out of any hotel's control.The only time we at this property take a pre payment is if the rate demands it as many discounted rates do. We do offer rates that include breakfast but as we are a Holiday Inn we are not allowed to include a complimentary breakfast with all rates, that is a signature and a requirement of the Holiday Inn Express, and one of the differences between the brands. The other is that as a Holiday Inn we have a restaurant attached, the Holiday Inn Expresses do not. I would also like to clairify that there is no Holiday Inn Express by the airport. We would be happy to explain the differences between the brands to avoid having anyone disappointed by booking a brand that doesn't meet their needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    98
    27
    5
    1
See reviews for
85
78
12
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here because of good reviews on TripAdvisor. What a mistake. We stayed in a suite on the second floor. All night long there was a door slamming shut every few minutes. I did not sleep a wink. It was also a room facing the street so it was really loud. When I mentioned is to the staff they said "oh well we can't do anything about street noise". Agreed - but then perhaps don't put the family with two young kids in the loudest possible spot? They discounted my rate by 20 dollars because of the door slamming, but should have done much better.

This place is also really hard to find if you are travelling in from the West and not very convenient for staying if you are heading to Vancouver. Find somewhere else to stay.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Apull2064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
So very sorry to hear you were disturbed by a slamming door. It is not clear from your review if you called our Front Desk and complained while it was happening, as we would have made sure the slamming stopped immediately. We are not used to hearing guest complaints in regards to street noise. My suggestion would be to request rooms that are located away from anything that can create noise going forward for guests that are sensitive.

Christina Lutterman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Another Holiday Inn stay and it was a nice hotel with a good price point. Not to crazy about the location but we were there for only one night. They had a good restaurant that was attached to the hotel, The White Spot.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thanks for posting. I'll check into the issue with the key coding and I apologize for the frustration a non working key causes. Good to hear that you did enjoy the hotel and your stay with us.

Regards,
Christina Lutterman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is easy to find but hard to get to as the entrance is in the 'back way'. Our room for 4 was plenty large, comfortable and nicely appointed. The housekeeping staff were prompt and courteous. The front desk staff person was a bit careless in programming our and other people's access keys. The location makes accessing restaurants quite easy as there are many within a short walk.

Room Tip: The one elevator is slow, so request a lower floor where you can use the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thanks for posting a review. For guests arriving from the north we do have a"front" entrance as well but I agree arriving from the south one does have to drive around and come in from the "back" way as there is a divider on Tranquille Rd preventing a left turn.
I will definitely check with the Front Desk staff as to why there was an issue with the keys. The key encoder is working just fine so not sure what happened. It is fairly common that the keys get de-activated if they are close to a cell phone, so that could have been a factor as well.

Christina Lutterman
General Manager
Holiday Inn & Suites Kamloops
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Such a nice hotel! Lovely modern decor, very clean, good staff, and very comfortable beds. I love the soothing green colour scheme. Breakfast at the White Spot (attached to the hotel) is so-so. I enjoyed my apple-topped waffle (like apple pie for breakfast!), but the bacon was under-done and the scrambled eggs WAY over-done. So I'd stay at this hotel again, but skip breakfast. One down-side: the pool is SUPER echo-y! There was just one other Mom with two boys in there at the same time as us, but the noise level was deafening. Put a lot more soft furnishings or sound-absorbing panels in there, guys!

Room Tip: If you are travelling with kids, get a divided room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sahoyaref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you very much for your review, we truly appreciate you taking time to write a positive review. I will share your comment with White Spot.
Regards,

Christina Lutterman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night on the way through Kamloops enroute to Vancouver.
Excellent hotel - spotless, well appointed room and friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast at the adjoining White Spot (not included in the room) was great - food and service - some of the best coffee I have EVER had!
Location, though, is not great - if you are driving East to West, it is quite out of the way. We were pulling a U-Haul trailer behind our truck - so wanted to park the vehicle in the lot and walk from the hotel to dinner, etc. We did - but your options are very limited for dining close by. We had a wonderful Greek meal - but it was a good 15 minute walk each way, and the area is a bit "seedy". Next time, we would just eat at the White Spot in the hotel (didn't try it due to bad Urbanspoon reviews - but breakfast was great!).
In a nutshell - the hotel is awesome - if we could have driven to dinner, it would have been perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
We can be a bit tricky to find of you are coming in from the Trans Canada Hwy. We are more than happy to give directions to all our guests over the phone or send written instructions if needed. The drive across the river to get to us is worth it however!
Regards,

Christina Lutterman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

On a stop over this hotel was nice and clean. Reasonable priced for basic amenities. Location if facing Tranquille Rd is a little noisy with traffic but the town is sleepy by 11 so it's not too bad and the AC drowns it out. All around a good average hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilsweetieflyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
We do have the perfect location for those travelling by air. Close to the airport but no noise from the planes. We offer a complimentary airport shuttle for those who need it.

Regards,

Christina Lutterman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Aberdeen
Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kamloops
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops

Property: Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops
Address: 675 Tranquille Road, Kamloops, British Columbia V2B 3H7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > North Shore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kamloops
#9 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing