We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a soccer team!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence & Conference Centre - Kamloops
Ranked #27 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great place for a soccer team!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed here in a large group that included players from 3 boys soccer teams plus coaching staff and parents. The younger boys (12 -13 year olds) stayed in four room quads with at least 1 parent mixed in for supervision, while the older teams (14/15 year olds and 15/16 year olds) stayed in team only quads with parents/coaches next door. This was great for a 4 day tournament. Fridges allowed for parents to stock up the rooms with healthy snacks and beverages to keep the boys going in 35 degree heat, and kitchens on some floors allowed for team meals to be eaten at a great savings of money and time. The continental breakfast was convenient, the basement laundry was essential with a game per day in the heat, and free parking, nearby shopping, and a swimming pool a 10 minute walk away all helped make this a very successful venture for us. We thought the pricing was fabulous - we were in Kamloops a few months ago in another hotel where the boys slept 4 to a room to get a similar price and without a lot of the other features mentioned here. The views are beautiful, the rooms are clean. We would definitely consider this again.

Room Tip: North rooms have a great view of the hills, south rooms see the city but are hotter in the summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Residence & Conference Centre - Kamloops, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for staying with us and leaving a positive review.

Jordan Piper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    23
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
9
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

This was a big disappointment, partly due to our own fault. We booked via Expedia, who recommended it on the phone as outstanding value for the money. Well, let me tell you, we paid the price of a good hotel for three adults and two little kids, and got a whole residence suite, consisting of four bedrooms, two bathrooms and a large kitchen. More rooms than we needed, but typical college dorm quality: clean and simple, small, no luxury whatsoever. The Internet works well, there is a card operated laundry facility in the basement, complimentary parking and a large strip mall in walking distance. The included continental breakfast was okay and there are great views of the area, as the campus is located on a hill and the residence in a high-rise.
Had we known this was a residence (yes, I know it's in the name but the Expedia employee made it sound like a resort) and wouldn't have expected more, this would have been an acceptable place to spend the night, if the price had been 1/2 to 2/3 of what we paid. UBC in Vancouver has better rates than this on its main campus, I just checked! And that location is hard to beat.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roland K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
truresidence, General Manager at Residence & Conference Centre - Kamloops, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Thank you for staying with us.

I am sorry that you were disappointed in our facility. We believe our suites are nicer compared to your average "dorm" and our prices are competitive with the local Kamloops market.

Jordan Piper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Stayed here twice in May - once en route to the west coast, and again on our return. Always clean, basic - with great views on the north side, parking, wifi and patio. We find this the best accomidation in Kamloops. To bad it is not year round (pesky students eh). We have already booked our two summer stops here.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the north side for the views. The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinivanCalgaryFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
truresidence, General Manager at Residence & Conference Centre - Kamloops, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for staying with us and posting your review on TripAdvisor. We do have 8 suites on our top floor that are available to guests year round. Just ask at the front desk the next time you are here and we would be happy to give you a tour.

Regards,
Jordan Piper
General Manager
jpiper@stayrcc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

My daughter and I stayed here in a 2 bedroom suite on a Sunday of a long weekend. Rate was $99.00 which included parking, wifi, use of fitness studio and continental breakfast (which was very basic!). We were on the 10th floor with lovely views over the city and the Thompson River valley. Each bedroom had a desk and TV and there was a bathroom and kitchenette. Staff at the desk were pleasant and efficient. If I were travelling through and needed a room for the night I would try here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank SCDancer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

To keep costs down, our musical groups decided to stay for two nights in a four bedroom dorm for our gigs in Kamloops. The suite gave us privacy, space, coin laundry, free continental breakfast, and free parking. Each of the four bedrooms in our suite had a tv, phone, full length mirror, desk, double bed, hangers, and windows that open.

From check-in to check-out, we were treated kindly and professionally. The room contains everything you need to know about your stay, such as check-out times, info on free breakfast, and a pre-programmed phone to reach the front desk, taxis, etc. This is way above what I expected of a university dorm.

The checkin area has an incredible view, is very spacious, has someone on staff at all times, and also has luggage carts, just like a normal hotel.

There were TWO bathrooms with showers within our suite. There was a microwave and full-size fridge. There was no toaster oven, hotplate, dishes, pots, so that was unfortunate. There was also no kettle on site that we could use, but there was hot water in the breakfast room that we could access.

Overall, a great stay and a price much cheaper than a hotel. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teebeebc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, British Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

We stayed here for the August long weekend. Our son was in a track and field meet at Hillside Stadium. Location was perfect, accomodations are basic, clean and functional. AC, free parking, free WiFi, free breakfast, microwave and fridge in the room. 2 bedroom unit for $89.95/night can't be beat.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

We stayed there for one night on our way from Vancouver to Jasper. With $75 we got a two-bedroom suite with microwave, fridge, wireless and free breakfast. Definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorisCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
1.1 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kamloops
0.6 mi away
Panorama City Centre Inn
Panorama City Centre Inn
#28 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Accent Inn Kamloops
Accent Inn Kamloops
#11 of 55 in Kamloops
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kamloops
1.6 mi away
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence & Conference Centre - Kamloops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence & Conference Centre - Kamloops

Property: Residence & Conference Centre - Kamloops
Address: 950 McGill Rd, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 0E1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence & Conference Centre - Kamloops 2*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When not used as a Student Residence for Thompson Rivers University, the facility has many configurations of rooms and amenities ideal for extended stay/long term guests, leisure travelers, and religious groups as well. Our hotel-like accommodations are available to the public May – August and include one, two and four bedroom suites, private kitchenette, lounges, yoga studio, gym facilities, multimedia room, business and banquet services, free parking, and more. Residence & Conference Centre – Kamloops also features eight Executive Loft Suites on the 11th floor with breathtaking views of either the rivers or the mountains, these eight suites are available year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence & Conference Centre - Kamloops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing