We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel was clean, comfortable and conveniently located.”
Review of Fortune Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fortune Motel
Ranked #35 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We stayed 2 nights. The room and facilities were clean and up to date. Everything worked. The bed and pillows were very comfortable -- we slept like babies. Being on Fortune Drive, one of the main highways through North Kamloops, the motel is conveniently located, with a shopping mall right across the street. The service was very good, and we appreciated the chance to stay there..

Room Tip: In the busy season book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2011

I travelled by bus from Whitehorse Yukon to visit my daughter and wanted a hotel close by
I had called ahead of time to arrange a late checkin because my bus arrived at midnight
The lady was warm and friendly despite the late hour
My room was clean ,quiet and well appointed,I had a great rest after a long uncomfortable
ride
I stayed for 4 days and have no complaints,the room was cleaned well and reoutfitted every day as to be expected, all staff I encountered were friendly
I believe I will stay here on every visit I make to Kamloops because of the value,location to all services I needed and the feeling of being welcome

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aregee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

I found this motel by chance while driving by. Clean, comfortable rooms with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lost1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We were looking for a decent hotel on the North Shore that was budget-friendly. The Fortune Motel fit the bill.

The hotel looks a little dated from the street, but walking into the lobby it felt very clean and modern. The room was clean and the bed was pretty comfortable. The fridge, microwave, and free wifi were definite pluses. We also found the owners to be friendly and helpful!

For $85/night, it had everything we needed. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you need to stay on the North Shore or close to the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Our girls' softball team and parents came to this hotel because it was recommended by our team manager. The hotel view looked good on the website. The room was musty. There were loud noises during the night from people using their showers and toilets. We found a bug on the bed and hairs inside the other bed. We asked to change the sheets the next day but they never changed them due to the fact, we marked the sheets and the hairs were on the same spot in the bed. The manager said "they were changed and they're professionally done". The good part about being here was that it was close to the ball park, and they let us use their gathering space as our breakfast room.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vernie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fortunemotel, Owner at Fortune Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

I recall this situation. Once we were advised of the problem we changed the bedding. They inspected and asked for the sheets to be changed again. I could see no problems but I personally supervised a second changing to ensure there were no problems. All of our sheets are sent off the property for processing. The odd time they might have returned with a hair on them from processing. We have since purchased new sheets to replace all existing stock and are doing our own laundry to ensure quality. As for the cost of our rooms we provide an excellent product for the price we charge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Travelled with my boyfriend and his band for a couple of gigs in Kamloops. The Fortune is located north of the river. Not in the centre of town but close to the airport and a sports complex. Other people staying there included fire fighters and pilots fighting the wildfires in the hills, members of sports teams, and a smattering of families just passing through.
Across the street is a 24-hr MacDonalds (24-hr in-store, not just drive thru), and a little further up the road (walking distance) is an extra foods, Shoppers Drug Mart, Liquor store, subway, pub, etc.
Front desk lady was super helpful when we had questions about attractions. Hotel guests can use a bbq, front desk lady had all the flippers etc. to borrow. We went across to the Extra Foods one night for weenies and had a cookout. They even had an extra propane tank when the first one ran out, and plastic forks when we realized we had no way to eat our potato salad.
Pool and hot tub area was clean. Hot tub was hot but not scalding. Pool was warm. Small but nice for a quick dip.
Room was clean. Included mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker. Water pressure was excellent. AC unit was loud, but we turned it off when we went to sleep and the room stayed cool enough. Walls between rooms are cement, so didn't hear much from our neighbours (I don't think they heard much from us either). Room was $85 plus taxes.
Overall good budget accommodation if you don't mind not being in the centre of town, which was about a 10 minute drive. I would reccommend this place.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: n'allez jamais à ce motel minable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sylvain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Country View Motor Inn
#37 of 54 in Kamloops
189 reviews
North Shore
Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops
The Plaza Hotel
#8 of 54 in Kamloops
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aberdeen
Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops
Riverland Inn & Suites
#17 of 54 in Kamloops
359 reviews
Grandview Motel
#19 of 54 in Kamloops
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortune Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Motel

Address: 654 Fortune Dr, Kamloops, British Columbia V2B 2K6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > North Shore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range: £44 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fortune Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fortune Motel in Kamloops. We are located in the north Kamloops business district across the street from the Extra Foods shopping complex. The Fortune Motel is close to the McArthur Island Sports Center, the Brock Arena, the Interior Savings Center, and the Memorial Arena making us the perfect hockey accommodations in Kamloops. We also accommodate curling, figure skating and speed skating teams as well. For 10 or more rooms we provide either an extra room for equipment storage, or an extra room for a coach or bus driver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Fortune Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing