We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Joyce's

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kamloops
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Joyce's
Ranked #5 of 9 Kamloops B&B and Inns
amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

They were both very sweet, the rooms so cute, with childhood memories... bathroom provided with everything you could think you'd need, 5 types of soap! And breakfast yes that was a feast. Even in exclusive hotels you don't get this much choice! In one word: Lovely!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanawala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    10
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The owners, Joyce and Victor are very nice and friendly and also really knowledgeable about the area. The room and shared bathroom were clean but very oldfashioned - kind of like coming back to your nursery after 40 years :). Breakfast was very different to any other breakfasts we've had while travelling, lots of bowls with fresh and dried fruit, nuts and seads and cereals - healthy and yummy! Thanks very much Victor, must have taken some time to prepare.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flauschipoohbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2012

My friend and I arrived in Kamloops after a long drive from Jasper, not sure where to stay we made a mad dash to the tourist information just in the nick of time and the lady there who was very helpful recommended Joyce's to us and off we went. Initially it did feel a little strange as we turned up and it felt like we were staying at someone's house but Joyce soon made us feel at home and very welcome. We shared a double room which had plenty of space and was very comfortable. After reading the reviews on here at dinner both my friend and I were very excited about breakfast! We hadn't met Victor before breakfast but were greated to an array of food! The food and company at breakfast made us not want to leave and made it impossible to stop eating! The homemade jam was amazing. I would definitely recommend this to anyone, comfortable, friendly and great value for money. Thank you Joyce and Victor for a great nights stay.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We have only been to a few B@B's but we must say....this B@B was the best. Joyce, Victor and their 2 friendly cats greeted us apon our arrival, with smiles,meows and hot chocolate.

Their Heritage House is located in the Heritage area of downtown, with tree shaded walks. There are house signs that give histories of older homes (in front of the homes)

There are 3 parking stalls, at the back of the house. Which are for the guests.
And a very nice garden, and sitting area to relax in.

The 3 bedrooms that are available for staying in, are on the second floor of the house.
There are 2 washrooms, close to the rooms in which are shared by the guests.

We stayed in the Queen room.
A nice size room
The bed was very comfortable, and pillows too.
it was nicely decorated, and had a very nice homey feel to it.
There are not Tv's in the rooms, but there are books to read

There is a TV in Living room on the main level of the house. and they have free wi-fi Internet connections,

After a restful sleep.....
we went downstairs for breakfast,... the huge dining room table was covered in breakfast goodies.
There was.... :
coffee, teas, hot chocolate,, hot apple cider and a choice of at least 6 different juices
6 breads and pastries and 6 types of spreads (jams, etc.)
6 types of whole fresh fruit, 6 types of fresh cut fruit and 6 types of dried, frozen and or preserved fruit,
and 12 different cereals, cold and hot ,
also yogurt, rice pudding, fibre bars and pop tarts
and Victor, had a lot of interesting stories to tell us about the house, and his past.

What a comfortable stay........we will be back........thanks for your great hospitality Joyce and Victor and your entertaining friendly cats.....

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubberducklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed one night at Joyce"s after a long drive from Jasper to Kamloops. We did"nt arrive till late, but Victor and Joyce were so welcoming, it was like popping round to your nan and granpa's. The house is amazing, full of antiques and trinkets and the breakfast was vast and very good. The rooms were a good size and very clean, our kids loved it too.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicky d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Just got back to Vancouver after a few more weeks touring BC and staying in various accommodations from motels, hostels, B&Bs and hotels. One of our memorable and comfortable stays was at your B&B. It is very obvious that time, effort and consideration of your guests has gone into this beautiful heritage house. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the town's many summer attractions. Music in the park every night for July and August and only a 5 minute walk away. Thanks again for the tasty breakfasts, such a great selection of fresh fruits. Conversations with Victor and Joyce the proprietors relaxed and interesting. Loved sitting on the porch with the rain coming down and not getting wet.. This B&B comes recommended by the "Lonely Planet guide" and now us.... Victor and Joyce are very welcoming its like home from home. Thanks again. (Tricia and Neil Heatley, Northamptonshire, England)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2000000Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
946 reviews
Riverland Inn & Suites
#16 of 55 in Kamloops
329 reviews
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Accent Inn Kamloops
#12 of 55 in Kamloops
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joyce's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joyce's

Property: Joyce's
Address: 49 Nicola St W, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 1J5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Kamloops
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing