We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beds and location to hwy but noisy.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great beds and location to hwy but noisy.”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed here for 1 night on our way home from Alberta. The hotel is nice and clean. The beds were comfortable and the continental breakfast was good. The location is great for travellers but there is not much in the way of restaurants within walking distance. In the immediate area you have Dairy Queen, Triple O's, and McDonalds.

The only negative about the hotel was the paper thin doors. You could hear everything that was happening in the corridor. When I say that you can hear everything I mean you can hear every word of any conversation going on in detail not just noise. We were unfortunate enough to have a group of 19-22 year olds drinking outside their rooms from 10:30pm - 11:30pm.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teachartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1550, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
In addition to the restaurants mentioned we do have Milestones within walking distance as well as one of Kamloops' most popular Pubs - Duffy's. They are all a short walk away. I'm sorry to hear you were disturbed by other guests. We have a zero tolerance policy for rowdy behaviour but as in most other hotels guests talking in the hallway can be a nuisance. Our guest room doors are sturdy metal doors and do limit noise transfer better than some other door materials.
Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again.

Christina Lutterman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    141
    43
    18
    13
See reviews for
107
127
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The Hilton/Hampton chain has become our first choice of hotels as their customer service is unequalled by anyone. The Hampton was completely booked when we arrived so we stayed at the H.I.E. instead, no complaints, clean, polite staff, good breakfast. They have the neatest little pancake maker!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 154914Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1550, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Thank you for choosing us when you were looking for an alternative. Our new pancakes are popular and our brand - Intercontinental Hotels Group - is continuously looking for new items to add to the free breakfast we provide, there are more changes coming in the not too distant future and I hope you will check us out again.

Christina Lutterman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed here on our way home from Seattle with my husband and father-in-law. We always get hooped when I don't book ahead and we arrived to find Kamloops full up with a baseball tournament. Luckily we took the last two rooms in the hotel. The rooms were average, but clean with comfortable king sized bed. The breakfast buffet would have been better except we came down at the same time an entire little girl baseball team did. The food was all quickly scooped up and we had to cram into a corner and wait for food. This in no way was any fault of the hotel... how could you time that? The attendants tried their best and I did love the little pancake maching that made as many fresh hot pancakes and you wanted. Grandpa was a little overwhelmed with the comotion and I wish we would have taken him out to a restauruant. We stopped at the East Side Mario's across the highway for dinner and it was pretty predictable. Overall a good stop over hotel if your passing through.

Room Tip: Book ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CountryHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1550, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
So sorry to hear that you had to compete with a team for breakfast items and space. We do provide trays so that those guests that wish can bring their breakfast up to their room and eat in peace and quiet if that is preferable, just an idea for next time. Happy to hear you like the new pancake machine - I do too! I have to admit I was a little hesitant at first when we heard that it was on it's way but I was pleasantly surprised - the pancakes are great!

Christina Lutterman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This was the first out-of-province road trip for our family of four. One mishap after another occured, including a sick son (later diagnosed as strep throat) with car sickness, and we were booked to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Kamloops. There was an accident which caused the highway to be closed so we couldn't get to Kamloops. There was no cell phone service on the highway so we were considered a no-show by the hotel. It wasn't until five days later enroute home that we thought we'd stop by the hotel and let them know of our situation and see if we could get credited for the no-show. The front desk person was very sympathetic but I got a lecture from the sales manager for not calling as soon as I could (with a sick son, it was the last thing on our minds) and said it would be up to the GM who wasn't in. And wouldn't you know it, this is when the van's "Check Engine" light came on, which caused another delay, but that's another story! Once we got home, I contacted the GM who said she would check into this and let me know. We got a call back to tell us we would be credited with the no-show!!! You can be sure that this great customer service will propel me to give back ten-fold by sharing my experience and returning to HI Express the next time we travel to the coast!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdmontonMom97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1550, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Thank you so very much for posting your review. You made my day! Unexpected events happen and we do have to bend the rules when emergency situations arise. Sick children, car breakdowns and road closures - we have all been there. Happy to hear that you are back home safe and sound. Hope to see you next time you are passing though Kamloops.

Christina Lutterman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We were twice at this hotel in June. Room was quite good, breakfast like at other H.I. Express hotels. Nothing special, but not bad for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strandman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
489 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed here for a couple of nights this summer with the family.

Booking by telephone was easy and friendly, but checking-in was slow, with one receptionist and a queue of families and luggage into the front doorway. To give the receptionist fair dues, she was patient, smiley and friendly to all.

The room was a reasonable size, two double beds, a fridge, small table and 2 chairs, but the decor was dated, the tv old-fashioned (we weren't able to use our own DVD player!), noisy air-conditioning and no kettle or microwave. Wi-FI internet was ok. We didn't try the pool. The room was well cleaned and tidied up by the cleaning staff. Parking was no problem (and no extra charge).

Breakfast was good.. pancakes, muffins, bagels and eggs, yoghurt and cereal.... enough to satisfy the small family. We did not try the on-site Tandoori Restaurant.

We would probably chose one of the other Kamloops hotels first (due to room size, bed size & decor), but this is perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonFamily88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1550, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
We have chosen not to have microwaves in our guest rooms due the fact that we wish to provide guest rooms that are as free of any smell as is reasonably possible. At times the food smell tends to linger in the room after departure and it can be disturbing to the next guest checking in. We do provide a microwave in our breakfast bar area for guest use and have a freezer with dinners sold at cost for those who wish to stay in and eat. Kettles are available by contacting the Front Desk. Our TVs will be replaced by flat screen TVs prior to the end of this year.
Thank you for staying with us.

Christina Lutterman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Not a bad little hotel but it needs an urgent update. TVs are really old and square type and the air conditioner is noisy, big and useless. But beds were OK and the breakfast they include with the rate is really good.

Room Tip: Try to book a room as high as you can so you do not hear someones foot steps at 4AM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birch_abedul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1550, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
We are in process of updating some of our AC units as we speak and the new flat screen TVs will be installed prior to the end of this year. We went through an extensive renovation last year and had room furniture replaced, as well as hallway carpets and rooms and hallways were repainted as well. Our pool area will be refreshed as well this winter.
Thanks for posting your review, we appreciate it.

Christina Lutterman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kamloops
959 reviews
North Shore
Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops
Address: 1550 Versatile Dr, Kamloops, British Columbia V1S 1X4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our British Columbia Lodging Welcomes You The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Kamloops is furnished with our guests in mind. We invite you to experience our personalized service in stylish comfort. Whether you are traveling for business or during a British Columbia vacation, our award-winning Kamloops hotel's mission is to provide our guests with an unforgettable stay. Given Kamloop's location at the juncture of a few major highways, the town has become a business hot spot in the British Columbia Interior. Our Kamloop hotel's location provides business travelers with quick and easy access to downtown. The Holiday Inn Express Kamloops hotel is the perfect stop-off between the Rocky Mountains and Vancouver. The region offers a rich variety of geographical terrain, with mountains, lakes, rivers, and forests. Leisure guests will find no end to outdoor adventures near this British Columbia lodging. In addition, guests enjoy close proximity to the BC Wildlife Park, Sun Peaks Ski Resort, Stake Lake, Interior Savings Center, Aberdeen Mall and Thompson Rivers University. A star among Kamloops hotels, this affordable accommodation includes 100% non-smoking rooms, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi, modern Fitness Centre, free high-speed Internet access, spacious business-class rooms and a free Express Start Breakfast served every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops Hotel Kamloops
Holiday Inn Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing