We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but dissapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops
Ranked #13 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“OK but dissapointing”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Upon arriving in the car park a plaque greeted us stating that HIEX is not responsible for cars being burgled in the car park! OK, I thought, thanks for the tip but now I don't feel safe!

The room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was in good order. However most of the television channels turned out to be pay to view. Don't know a bout Canada but in England there are hundreds of free view channels.

The in house meaness extended into the breakfast area with muffins being cut in half... Whats that all about?

The pool was a bit cool but once in it was lovely, just surprised it was free! On the whole I'd only stay here again if nothing else was available. I thought Kamloops was dissapointing too.

Tip: Remove everything from your car and take it to your room and park your car where you can see it. Bring a portable DVD player as the in house entertainment literally sucks and don't forget to bring your own muffins for breakfast, they can't afford them!

The traffic noise from the motorway may keep some people awake at night.

Room Tip: Remove all belongings from your car, take a portable DVD player the TV entertainment sucks and don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1550, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel. I would like to take the time to apologize for the the inconviences you seemed to have encountered during your stay. The signage you referred to in regards to vehicle safety, is a hotel standard in Kamloops and is there for the protection of the guest. We also offer 80 television channels for our guest enjoyment. In regards to the muffins, given the large size of the muffins we cut them in half to give our guest a variety to choose from. We do appreciate your feedback and would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. Emily Chenier Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    140
    42
    18
    13
See reviews for
105
124
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

when we booked in, we were given the log in code for internet. My wife quickly logged on on her I-phone but I couldn't log on on our laptop. I had to go down to the desk to find that I had to look for a search engine that would take me to Holiday Inn that would allow me to log in. Looking for the network and logging on wouldn't work. We then tried to turn on the TV and just got no signal. We called the desk and were told we had to turn on the box. The clerk had to come to our room to discover that the box we were suppose to turn on was in the cupboard with the refrigerator, at the back, out of sight. It was pretty clear that I wasn't very smart as I couldn't figure these things on my own. We travel a lot and this is the first time we've had to go through these hoops to get internet and TV. Clearly, they are saving money on electricity by turning off the cable boxes but don't tell the customers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1550, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel. I would like to take the time to apologize for the technical issues that seemed to have occurred during your stay with us. However, we do appreciate the feedback.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Emily Chenier
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spruce GRove
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn on our way through Kamloops. We arrived around 8 and the kids spent a good hour in the pool. The pool is large and there is a hottub. The rooms are just average but we liked having a mini fridge in the rooms. My husband and I both used the 'fitness centre' in the morning. This hardly is a well equipped fitness centre as it really only has three cardio pieces. We made due.
The breakfast was great. Cereal, oatmeal, hardboiled eggs, yogurt, pancakes, pastries, sausages. Was quite impressed with it.
We had one more swim and were on our way. I think it is the perfect place to stop especially for the price. We feel we got our moneys worth!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1550, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel. I am happy to hear all the positive feedback from your stay with us and glad you enjoyed our breakfast bar.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Emily Chenier
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed for a weekend due to a Lacrosse tournament. Hotel placed two teams of boys on same floor - which takes organizing and thought. Shows good service as I have stayed at other tournaments where hotels had team on all different floors. I am sure it helps other people staying hotel as well keeps team noise to one area. I missed the cut off date of group rate but the Express still gave me team rate. Good customer service. House keeping was accommodating as they were ready to clean our room but we had not left for game yet so they happily came back when we were out. Quality/ Newer/ clean beds and sheets. Up to date decor. Free breakfast had plenty of options and breakfast staff kept it full- there was 2 people attending to it that I saw. Team and parents were prepared for their day! I personally appreciated the fresh fruit and boiled eggs as I am a celiac and cow dairy allergic as well - so thank you for the options I do not always have at other hotels.The hotel is off the main highway so I was worried about highway noise. Not once did we hear the traffic. Will stay here in a heartbeat next time we are in Kamloops, and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckybeerlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1550, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Luckybeerlady,

Thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel. I am happy to hear all the positive feedback from your stay with us and glad you enjoyed our breakfast bar and happy our variety accommodated your specific needs.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Emily Chenier
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I had a great rest here, rooms are large, with good views and beds are comfortable. Facilities are fine too, with pool and gym. Location is pretty central. Breakfast is decent, and will be what you expect from holiday inns. I do find it a little pricey though, but it could be due to events in the area, so do check up on these if staying here because Kamloops is a city with many events happenings at all times.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1550, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Darren3232,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for the kind words regarding your room and the comfort of the beds. We really appreciate the feedback and I’m very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I’d like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Kamloops and we hope we’ll get the chance see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Josh Quiring
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed as a family of 4 for one night on our way to Vancouver. We found it to be a very good stay overall. The front desk clerk was very kick and efficient and check in only too a few minutes. Our room was VERY clean and the hotel looks very up to date in both the rooms and lobby. Pool and hot tub were great for the kids although not overlarge. Free breakfast was standard hotel option with a fun addition of make your own pancakes instead of waffles. Breakfast was constantly being refilled as the crowds came through. A good value and convenient to many restraints for dinner. Only downside I wish there had been a microwave as well as a fridge in the room as that is something I usually look for when travelling with my kids.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1550, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Jennifer S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for the kind words regarding your room, our staff, and location. We really appreciate the feedback and I’m very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do apologize that we currently do not have microwaves in guest rooms, however, we do have one in our breakfast bar area which is available to all guests at any time.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Kamloops and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards,

Josh Quiring
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunnypoint5
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Our family rented 2 rooms over the weekend. The first one was a pet room, the smell of cleaning chemical was terrible. The second room had no hot water in the shower. The first morning we thought we could let it go as the hotel was really busy, the second morning it was cold again but had to be to our children's events by 7:15am, no time to let the front desk know until we got back. When we went and told the front desk...she was pleasant but came and held her hand under the tap and said it was fine. We asked about a discount as we had rented 2 rooms for 3 days, had no hot water in one room and a stinky room. She told us she would make a note and speak to her manager.....as you probably already know, nothing happened. (Or I would not be writing this review) The breakfast was fine and the lady working at the breakfast was awesome, she kept it running very smooth. Not a bad place just disappointed with service from front desk.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sunnypoint5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1550, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We really appreciate the feedback but I am sorry to hear about the problems you encountered during your recent stay with us.

Our housekeeping staff does take extra steps when cleaning pet friendly rooms, to ensure that dander, hair and any odors are removed, although I am sorry to hear that in this case there was a strong cleaning scent to your room. I also sincerely apologize for the shower issue you experienced and for the way it was handled. I will be following up with our Front Desk staff to ensure that does not happen again but would also like to invite you to contact myself at the hotel, so that we can further discuss what happened and to help make things right.


Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope we will get the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Josh Quiring
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
929 reviews
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops
Address: 1550 Versatile Dr, Kamloops, British Columbia V1S 1X4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our British Columbia Lodging Welcomes You The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Kamloops is furnished with our guests in mind. We invite you to experience our personalized service in stylish comfort. Whether you are traveling for business or during a British Columbia vacation, our award-winning Kamloops hotel's mission is to provide our guests with an unforgettable stay. Given Kamloop's location at the juncture of a few major highways, the town has become a business hot spot in the British Columbia Interior. Our Kamloop hotel's location provides business travelers with quick and easy access to downtown. The Holiday Inn Express Kamloops hotel is the perfect stop-off between the Rocky Mountains and Vancouver. The region offers a rich variety of geographical terrain, with mountains, lakes, rivers, and forests. Leisure guests will find no end to outdoor adventures near this British Columbia lodging. In addition, guests enjoy close proximity to the BC Wildlife Park, Sun Peaks Ski Resort, Stake Lake, Interior Savings Center, Aberdeen Mall and Thompson Rivers University. A star among Kamloops hotels, this affordable accommodation includes 100% non-smoking rooms, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi, modern Fitness Centre, free high-speed Internet access, spacious business-class rooms and a free Express Start Breakfast served every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops Hotel Kamloops
Holiday Inn Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing