We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stop-Over Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops
Ranked #13 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Stop-Over Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

We were travelling from Vancouver to Banff and needed a place to spend the night. The Holiday Inn Express was perfect: clean and comfortable. Newly appointed decor made the room and hotel very attractive, and the bed was very comfortable! Located minutes from the highway, it was easy to find, and there are some good restaurants minutes away. Breakfast was delicious. Overall, a very good find.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbtravel001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    137
    42
    18
    12
See reviews for
103
121
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penticton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

Our daughter goes to university here and we visit her at least 2 times a
month, we have been staying at this hotel for 2 years now.
Our last stay on April22nd and 23rd , was not pleasant. We are Rewards customers and
nothing was placed in our room to welcome us and set us apart for the
loyalty, as the week before we stayed at the Holiday Express at
Metropolis and we always get a newspaper, and other perks and most importantly FRIENDLY service, but NOT HERE. When we
requested our selected package, the manager told us we will get it at the time we
check out, which was strange since we always get it at the time we check
in NOT check out, as sometimes there are coupons from shops/restaurants that you may use DURING your stay.

However no big deal. BUT we were awoken at 8AM by a strange sound along
the wall and thumping. We were tired from packing up our daughter to take
her home since she finished her exams.

Then half an hour later the cleaning staff opened our door. None of us
could get back to sleep, even though we needed the rest for the long drive
home. When we were checking out (even though we pre booked & shouldn't
have to wait to get a receipt!).
I told the clerk the truth, after he asked how was our stay, I told him
about being woken up etc. Another guest waiting to check out at the same
time asked if we were on the 3rd floor too, and we were and he too was
woken up. He thought it was peeling of old wallpaper (they are
REMODELING).

The manager came out and engaged into a combative mood that there was no
wallpaper. We were only exchanging comments in what it may have been the
cause of the noise so early in the morning. She failed to understand it
was NOISE that woke us up on the 3rd floor, whatever the noise was made
from was a moot point, it was unwelcome NOISE disturbing our sleep.

I requested a form to complain, she told me it was the same as the survey
that I get e-mailed. To date no e-mail survey! I wonder why?

Further we had chosen a 'package' and had to wait over 15 mins for them
to get the gas discount card and enable it-this should have been prepared
before hand!
The staff is nice (exclude the manager), the hotel is nice, when its not
being remodeled, but between the construction and bold rudeness of the
manger, we will NEVER stay at this hotel again. She not once apologized,
she was too busy being combative to my horror!

Sadly, they have lost a lot of business from us since our daughter has 2
more years to complete her degree and our son is enrolled for this coming
fall, a guarantee of FOUR years, at least TWO stays a month from my
husband and I, per 8 months a year, equates to well over SIXTY-FOUR
stays they have just LOST from us!

This Holiday Inn Express needs to get a new pleasant NON combative
manager. For all your goodwill and our loyalty for the past 2 years she
has thrown out the window!

Sheraton Inn is just down the road with a wonderful restaurant in its
complex and a water slide.
UPDATE: we did alert the Holiday Express 'Customer Care' online and were notified the management would get back in 7-10 business days. Hmm, its a been a month without one apology!! So much for following up on customer care ! And this review has been erased from this site by the way! So I will continue to place it again each time its erased, its the truth and its our right to alert customers regarding the management at this particular Holiday Express.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Holidays076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

We were staying in this hotel for 1 night (26/4/10) after a transatlantic flight and driving from Vancouver to Kamloops. Our accommodation was fully pre-paid with a Thomas Cook Voucher. On checking in the receptionist didn't accept the voucher and handed it back to me, wasn't particularly interested in my explaining the accommodation was pre-paid.

On check-out i found the following morning i had been charged in full on my credit card for the nights stay plus a deposit of $300 cdn in case we smoked or wrecked the room!!.

On complaining i was assured by the clerk that i would be refunded in full and he apologized for the clerk from the night before and indicated she had to go home as she wasn't feeling well. (illness i accept - but making people feel unwelcome is another thing - and is not acceptable).

Most frustrtaing the day clerk indicated he would put everything right he didn't and two weeks later i have no refund on my credit card.(he failed to deliver on his promise to put things right)

I am not impressed and will be pursuing the matter to seek a satisfactory resolution to this incompetence and unauthorised charges on my credit card!

Michael Shaw, MIH (member of Institute of Hospitality)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mshawLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

We've stayed here many times, and to me it's the only place to stay. Always clean and modern. Good service everywhere, especially the ladies who care for the breakfast room. They keep refilling the excellent food choices, yet make time to chat with people as well. This place is quiet and very centrally located.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2009

We didn't stay here, as they were full, but I'll never go back again after the way the desk clerk treated us.
After telling us they were full he asked where we were headed and where we came from. When we asked why that mattered, he said it was so he could help us find somewhere with space available. After telling him we were heading east to west, he said everything in town was full except for one. When I asked what was going on in town that made everyone so busy he said it was because it was summer and it was just nuts how busy it was.
He then proceeded to give us directions to a hotel a ways back the way we'd come, then right downtown, a few miles out of our way. On our way out we spotted a Super8 a block away and decided to check and, lo and behold, they had rooms. Driving around later that evening we found several within a few blocks that had vacancies.
I'm sure when he found we'd come in from the east, meaning we'd passed by most of town, he figured we'd probably already checked a place or two and found them full, making his claim of them ALL being full more believable, and we'd be more likely to go blindly to their affiliate.
He not only told us once that everyone else was full, but twice, stressing it the second time, so there's not a chance that we misunderstood him. He flat-out LIED. I will never stay with a hotel that has such despicable business practices, no matter how cheap the rates or good the room.
(By the way, the Super8 was on off-season rates, so that blew his excuse of it being "summer")

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeeCeeVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2009

Of all the Holiday Inns we've stayed at, this facility is the top of the list.
Clean, friendly staff, great hot breakfast, very comfortable rooms and fairly new.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webeenthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

This hotel was very nice. We had a room on an upper floor and we could see out over the city. The room was very clean and the bed was really comfortable. There were a lot of people there (a tour bus pulled in right as we were checking in), but we didn't hear anything while we were in our room. The bathroom was clean and spacious. All in all a very nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PathsTaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops
Address: 1550 Versatile Dr, Kamloops, British Columbia V1S 1X4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our British Columbia Lodging Welcomes You The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Kamloops is furnished with our guests in mind. We invite you to experience our personalized service in stylish comfort. Whether you are traveling for business or during a British Columbia vacation, our award-winning Kamloops hotel's mission is to provide our guests with an unforgettable stay. Given Kamloop's location at the juncture of a few major highways, the town has become a business hot spot in the British Columbia Interior. Our Kamloop hotel's location provides business travelers with quick and easy access to downtown. The Holiday Inn Express Kamloops hotel is the perfect stop-off between the Rocky Mountains and Vancouver. The region offers a rich variety of geographical terrain, with mountains, lakes, rivers, and forests. Leisure guests will find no end to outdoor adventures near this British Columbia lodging. In addition, guests enjoy close proximity to the BC Wildlife Park, Sun Peaks Ski Resort, Stake Lake, Interior Savings Center, Aberdeen Mall and Thompson Rivers University. A star among Kamloops hotels, this affordable accommodation includes 100% non-smoking rooms, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi, modern Fitness Centre, free high-speed Internet access, spacious business-class rooms and a free Express Start Breakfast served every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops Hotel Kamloops
Holiday Inn Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing