We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little removed from town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I was just there for the night and found it comfortable, if somewhat isolated from entertainment/dining options. As a result, your dining choices are limited to the hotel's ORA restaurant. The food's OK, but a dining choice would have been nice. Of course, when there's little or no competition, the prices get a little steep too. We had some difficulty on a couple of occasions tracking down wait staff to seat and/or serve us.
My room was passably clean and was comfortable and the hotel's atrium rather a nice touch. One wing of the hotel is undergoing renovation but that doesn't appear to be affecting operations. Free wireless internet is a plus, but their "business centre" was less than adequate. The conference centre downstairs is a bit of a rabbit warren. Don't know what they were thinking there, when they laid that out.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calgary68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela T, Director of Sales at Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your January stay with us. I have passed along your comments with regard to seating and service delays to Ora’s Restaurant Manager to rectify. My apologies for any waits you endured. With regard to dining options we are within walking distance of a few options other than Ora, such as Ric’s Grill, Tim Horton’s, On the Rocks Pub and Five Guys Burgers & Fries. If you had the option of a longer walk or a 2 minute drive there are also others such as East Side Mario's & Milestones. The menus for Ora Restaurant Lounge are currently being redeveloped and will be available on their website if you want to check back sometime in February to see their latest fare. I cannot put the link in due to TripAdvisor guidelines, but if you Google Ora Restaurant Kamloops Menus, it should come up.

My apologies if you were disappointed with our temporary business centre. We recently reopened our new lobby in December after an extensive renovation and are awaiting our designer’s final plans on the business centre area to take it to completion. The complimentary wireless is also another of the recent improvements to the hotel, so I am happy to hear it was a positive addition for your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

864 - 870 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2011

My husband and I are very quiet people. When we arrived at the hotel, my husband noticed a dent in the wall of the hotel room. Not thinking nothing of it, as we assumed it would have been reported by the chambermaid staff when they had cleaned after the previous guests. To our shock, when we received our next visa statement we noticed an extra $250+ charged from the hotel (over and above the stay). They had not contacted us. We contacted them and they said they were charging us for the damage they had found in the room. WE DID NOT DO THE DAMAGE! They would not believe us and refused to take the charges off. We don't know if it was the previous guests or the cleaning staff, but it was not us! This has never happened to us in any other hotel. I would never stay again! I would not recommend this place to anyone! The room was clean besides the damage, but the beds were not comfortable as well. We stayed in 2010

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela T, Director of Sales at Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

This review does not belong to the Coast Kamloops property. It is from the Best Western Plus, but somehow ended up on our page. I advised Tripadvisor, but all they did was remove the response from the GM of the Best Western Plus. Every time I report it to Tripadvisor they do not help in removing it. I don't know what to do about it other that to leave this explanation here. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Ok, so the rooms are spacious & clean; somewhat outdated with the florescent lighting in ceiling around the room. The furniture & linens, paint etc. have been updated. however, the gap under the door that let streaming light in from hallway was annoying, so was the voices coming through the ventilation grate above our bed. We asked to update to a city view and was charged an additional $10.00, SO not worth it since the hotel is really out of the city sight line and you look down on top of the Aberdeen Mall & some of Sahali if you stand at the window since there is no where else in the room to look outside from. The courtyard and Ora restaurant was the nicest part of the hotel. The dinner buffet was pretty good with salmon, pork, sushi & every other choice under the sun. Aside from that, we'll stay somewhere else next time & maybe come for the food at Ora.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool & courtyard are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelatasker, Director of Sales at Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Thank you for sharing your candid opinions Noelle. I am sorry to hear that your stay was disturbed by the space under the door to the hallway and the ventilation system. Thank you for bringing this to our attention for our review. That coupled with your disappointment with the view is very unfortunate. The view can be quite fabulous on the view side, but a lot of that is weather dependent. If the valley is clouded in, as it has been in recent days, then you are correct that the immediate area is the extent of the view. It is disappointing that you do not intend to return to us. However if you do decide to visit us in the future, we would appreciate if you would share any concerns with the front desk, so they can work toward an immediate resolution for a comfortable stay. I am relieved that the room size and cleanliness were satisfactory and that you enjoyed Ora's buffet in our atrium area. We do hope you change your mind in the future and return once our extensive updates are complete. I believe you will be pleased.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Even though the hotel is under a much needed renovation, our stay was quiet and comfortable. We always stay here when we travel to Kamloops. Wifi was up and worked great, no problems.

Room Tip: Ground floor, pool side room is the best for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljkabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelatasker, Director of Sales at Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Thank you so much for your return visit to our property. Your repeat business and opinions are immensely appreciated. I am glad to hear you utilized the new Wi-Fi and enjoyed the service quality. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit and hope you enjoy the magnificent changes coming with the completion of our current renovations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Never stayed at a hotel in Kamloops so had a look at the reviews. This seemed to rank near the top and similar price range to a couple other better than average chain hotels.

I dont get it...aside from the nice courtyard and lounge there really isnt anything above average about this place. The rooms are well below average for this price and look about 30 years old. The room reminded me of the discount 2 storey motel rooms....Tv had like 8 channels...Wifi not available period. Reviews and rating on tripadvisor seems to be quite accurate but this one isnt and Im not sure how people could place this at the top of the list based on quality and the price.

Stay at one of the newer chains being built in the area...they looked new, modern and what you would expect for this price range...

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sab30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelatasker, Director of Sales at Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2011

Your comments are appreciated. I am sorry if you were disappointed with the current décor, television channel selection and lack of wifi access. These are all things we are currently working to improve. While the property has seen various updates since its establishment back in 1989, we are currently in the process of phase one of three phases, which will see a complete overhaul of the property. As you may or may not have noticed, the second wing of the property, across the atrium, was closed as well as the standard hotel lobby. Both are undergoing the updates right now. The wireless internet has been contracted at this point and we are just awaiting the install. Lodgenet television is also on the way to enhance your viewing selection. I hope you do come back in the spring and request to try our updated rooms for your comfort. We will still offer the nice courtyard and lounge at that time. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I stayed for two nights while attending a meeting at the Kamloops Convention Centre. Upon check-in, I was pleased with the service offered by the front desk. The room was was clean, especially the bathroom, although the grout in the tile floor showed traces of bleached-out mildew stains. The only other quibble was that the pull for one of the black-out curtains was disconnected.
I had one not so nice surprise when I found a large earwig in the shower curtain one morning. Unnerving, but it could have been worse.
One security concern I observed was that when I needed an extra key for my room, all I had to mention was my name and room number -- I was not asked for any proof of identity.
All my meals were included in the package price for the conference, so were supplied through convention catering, and I found both the quantity and quality to be impressive, even considering that everything was served buffet style.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room on the north side of the north wing (better views, not overlooking the parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eowynsword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelatasker, Director of Sales at Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

We appreciate you sharing your thoughts of your recent two night stay with us. We agree that an update to the property is now due. The housekeeping staff does an outstanding job keeping the rooms very clean, but at this point we have elected to give the property a multi-million dollar update replacing everything in the guest rooms. We are currently engaged in a major overhaul of the 105 guest rooms in our south wing. Not only will the grout be replaced, but also the tub and everything else in the rooms including the blackout curtains you mentioned. As you can imagine it is an exciting transition for us. Luckily for us, the property is separated into two separate wings, enabling us to offer approximately 100 guest rooms in the north wing to current guests with full amenities available and little disruption to our guest services.
Your security concern in receiving the extra key without review of your identification will be reviewed with our front office staff immediately. Thank you.
I will pass along your positive opinion of the food services in convention centre to the banquet staff and chef.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to connect with us to offer your insightful experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Very nice property. Reasonable price, good food (pricey) but the buffet several times a week is excellent. We enjoyed an outdoor BBQ one evening. Restaurant staff in particular were very nice. (Cheaper places to eat close by.) Pool atrium is quite nice with salt water pool although, it was closed for maintenance for part of our stay. Decor in the room was outstanding. We had a two bedroom suite and really enjoyed the layout, portable fireplace, flat screen, etc. Close to highway so I could get to anywhere in town fast. The room was very quiet. The smaller windows don't do justice to the million dollar view just outside. Very happy with our visit and would go back there again.

Room Tip: Room on third floor at corner of atrium on south wing have a great balcony overlooking the pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelatasker, Director of Sales at Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

Thank you for sharing your positive evaluation of the property. I am pleased you had the opportunity to enjoy the many amenities offered within our full service property as well as the suite you reserved. The convenient access to all that Kamloops has to offer is a major plus for us, as is that beautiful view you mentioned. We look forward to your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Hotel 540
#6 of 54 in Kamloops
1,542 reviews
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kamloops
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 1250 Rogers Way, Kamloops, British Columbia V1S 1N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kamloops
#7 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range: £77 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full service, green hotel uses geo-thermal technology & is 4 Green key rated. Enjoy staying in one of the 202 spacious hotel rooms or suites which each include a microwave and mini-fridge. Rejuvenate in the indoor atrium/courtyard with natural salt water pools. Relax in the hot tub, exercise room or sauna. Convenient on-site cold beer, wine & spirits store. Located near shopping, theatres & restaurants. Fantastic dining offered in the hotel at Romeo's Kitchen & Spirits. Sip something refreshing and enjoy the incredible city & river views from the patio overlooking the valley and the city of Kamloops. Complimentary parking, local calls, and wi-fi are all included for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coast Kamloops Hotel And Conference Centre
Kamloops Towne Hotel
Best Western Kamloops
Kamloops Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing