We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Blackheath, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good overnight stay”
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed here as stopover on Rocky Mountaineer. The hotel doesn't look that impressive from the outside, but the recently renovated rooms are very comfortable.

The location is a long way from downtown, and after a long day on the train we elected to eat dinner in the hotel restaurant rather then go out. Good restaurant and reasonably priced.

Good WiFi and attentive staff.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GRM52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela T, Director of Sales at Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us on your stopover with Rocky Mountaineer. I hope you had an enjoyable vacation and we can welcome you back once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    335
    85
    24
    15
See reviews for
236
255
43
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
QLD
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel as a stopover in the middle of a two day Rocky Mountaineer trip. This hotel is by no means flashy or glitzy but it is certainly clean, well run and the staff are excellent, particularly at reception desk. The room was most comfortable, very quiet and the bed was great. There's not a lot to say as I was there for such a short time but I'm happy to report I have nothing negative to say about my stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anubis2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela T, Director of Sales at Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. I hope you had a great trip to Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Only stayed here one night whilst on the Rocky Mountaineer. Good quality accomodation and spacious rooms. The views were not great (carpark) but it had a nice reseraunt/bar area and the staff were pleasant.
Free wifi in the rooms which is a bonus and nice queen beds for all.

Great hotel if you are looking for a stop over.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colins5286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela T, Director of Sales at Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
I appreciate you taking your vacation time to share your experience at our hotel. I hope your holiday on the Rocky Mountaineer and within Canada was a pleasant one. The very large rooms with quality linens and finishing are a great source of pride for us, as are the comfortable new beds and complimentary wifi. Thank you for pointing those features out. You were within our new south wing, which has the option of overlooking the front of the building, parking and hillside, or the tropical atrium, pool area. If you stop over with us in the future, please let our front desk team assist with any preferences you may have. They always do their best to accommodate special requests whenever availability allows us to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Our room opening up to a lovely indoor large courtyard with running water like a stream and many plants and some sand. Most areas of the hotel were good but a breakfast was not included with the room which many other similar hotels now include. My friend said that the in room coffee was quite good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eztourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela T, Director of Sales at Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed overlooking our tropical atrium during your visit. As mentioned breakfast is not normally included in our room rate, as we are trying to keep the room rates affordable by not incorporating that cost within the room rates. Ora Restaurant offers a wide variety of reasonable breakfast menu options so that each guest can select whichever items best suit their food preferences and budget. Glad to hear the in-room coffee was enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We booked two rooms on the May long weekend. One room a king and one wth 2 queens. I called the hotel to inquire about the check in time as we were earlier than expected and was told that they only had the one reservation for the queen beds. They told me that the check in for the king bed was for the day before and since we didn't arrive, they gave the room away. I was furious as the hotel is full and we had already driven 8 hours. I told them no, I booked the rooms for the same day. They said they could get us another room but it would be an extra $60 a night. I said no, I want the same rate that I got when I reswerved it. I get a company discount. The girl told me that it was up to the manager. I took the room and then called central reservations and the lady told me that she had the correct days for both rooms and called the hotel to clarify. She told me that the hotel made an error on the days and will give me the other room at the discounted rate I was quoted and all was good. We got to the hotel and the girl couldn't find our reservation and called central reservations and talked to the same lady we did. We got our rooms and I inquired why I couldn't get my other room at the company discound and they said because the discount rooms were all taken. I don't get it. We were given our rooms in the new remodelled section. The beds are comfortable and the towels are nice and fluffly in the bathroom. Free wifi was an added bonus.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taylorta2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela T, Director of Sales at Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you for your thoughts on your stay May long weekend. I am pleased that you enjoyed the rooms and services when in the hotel, but was disappointed to hear your reservations process was not smooth. I am afraid I could not find any record of the issues when I researched, but I have made our front office manager aware of the difficulties you encountered to avoid a reoccurrence. We hope to welcome you back to enjoy the comforts we are so proud to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This was just an overnight stay as we passed through on the Rocky Mountaineer, so much detail is missing! However, the most important thing was - excellent well equipped room and a quiet, very good nights sleep.

The restaurant for dinner was very good, however our perception was that this hotel was quite a way out of town, therefore you had a limited range of restaurants to choose from!

The staff however were very helpful, the fridge in my room was making an awful din and I was not going to use it - but could not switch it off - they sorted it for me instantly.

My husband thoroughly enjoyed the indoor pool - which our room overlooked.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonessharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela T, Director of Sales at Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
I hope that your trip to Canada was outstanding. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in our newly renovated rooms. We do have a fair amount of restaurant options within walking distance, but are pleased to hear that Ora Restaurant offered you a very good meal while within the hotel. Our front desk team is always happy to help address any guest concerns, so we thank you for giving us the opportunity to do so. We are delighted that your husband took the time to experience our spectacular atrium and indoor pool. It is a wonderful unique feature of our property, which also includes a hot tub. I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The coast left its downtown location and picked up this hotel, attached to the conference center. Its currently overlooks the city on the hill near shopping malls, commerical areas - with a bunch of other hotels, restaurants and pubs. Overall pretty good. Nice lobby, reception area. The restaurant attached the hotel is alright, had a good burger for dinner. My room was in the newer renovated side, facing the indoor atrium (pool, hot tub, seating area). My guestroom had been recently remodeled - nice beds, tv, fixtures - actually fairly spacious. The workout room needs some updated equipment. Would I stay here again for work? Probably...hey, its Kamloops!

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated wing. At the time of this review, only one side had been completed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billybob101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela T, Director of Sales at Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you for the review Billybob101. We are happy to be flying the Coast Hotels flag since November of 2011 and are pleased that you found many shopping and restaurant options nearby. The lobby and newer south wing, which you stayed in, have enjoyed 4 million dollars in upgrades to ensure an extraordinary transformation. We will consider your advice with regard to the fitness equipment when we undertake a renovation of that wing this winter. We look forward to welcoming you back to the property anytime you visit Kamloops.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Hotel 540
#7 of 54 in Kamloops
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kamloops
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 1250 Rogers Way, Kamloops, British Columbia V1S 1N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kamloops
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kamloops
#7 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full service, green hotel uses geo-thermal technology & is 4 Green key rated. Enjoy staying in one of the 202 spacious hotel rooms or suites which each include a microwave and mini-fridge. Rejuvenate in the indoor atrium/courtyard with natural salt water pools. Relax in the hot tub, exercise room or sauna. Convenient on-site cold beer, wine & spirits store. Located near shopping, theatres & restaurants. Fantastic dining offered in the hotel at Romeo's Kitchen & Spirits. Sip something refreshing and enjoy the incredible city & river views from the patio overlooking the valley and the city of Kamloops. Complimentary parking, local calls, and wi-fi are all included for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coast Kamloops Hotel And Conference Centre
Kamloops Towne Hotel
Best Western Kamloops
Kamloops Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing