We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met needs but a bit out of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Met needs but a bit out of town”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Our booking was arranged as part of our Rocky Mountaineer trip so this was just a bed for the night. The tour company put on a shuttle service and we were too tired to want to do anything anyway so location wasn't a key issue. If you don't have wheels or other means it might be for you.

The room was large, clean and well appointed. We made no use of other services and were out by 7:30.

I suspect you might find something handier at a similar quality and price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Semperpronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela T, Director of Sales at Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you for your thoughts. We are happy you found our rooms large, clean and well appointed. I hope you had a great trip through Western Canada and that you find the opportunity to return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    319
    77
    23
    13
See reviews for
218
229
39
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, England
Level Contributor
357 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

On our way back from a driving tour of the Canadian Rockies, we stopped overnight at the Coast Kamloops. This is just off the main highway, along with many other hotels, about 5 kms from Downtown Kamloops.

Fortunately we got there before the coaches arrived bringing those from the Rocky Mountaineer train (we did that the week before, though stayed at another Kamloops hotel).

Reception and dining staff were all very helpful and friendly. We liked the internal layout with trees and plants, running water dropping into pools, the indoor pool right out in the central atrium, and the main dining room overlooking it all. We had an enjoyable dinner that night, and a nice served breakfast in the morning (only tour groups get the breakfast buffet).

A perfectly acceptable place to stay.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank malawi40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela T, Director of Sales at Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the facilities, the dining and the helpful, friendly staff during your stay. I hope you had an enjoyable trip with Rocky Mountaineer and enjoyed the beauty of Western Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon Arm, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

At check-in the staff were extremely condescending and rude. I was there on business and the chair at the desk was broken and the bed was very uncomfortable. It is also very difficult to find the right temperature. For the prices charged at this hotel you would expect quite a different experience. It was the both the first and last time I will be staying at the Coast in Kamloops. I travel frequently for work and have stayed in many hotels across the country. Folks, give this hotel a pass and do yourselves a favour and check-in at a Best Western. You will be guaranteed a great sleep and friendly genuine staff. I couldn't get over the rudeness!

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Be Human W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela T, Director of Sales at Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
I am sorry your stay and check-in experience was not satisfactory. I wish you had shared these concerns with us while you were here so we could rectify the two issues as they arose. These comments are not commonplace for us, and we take them very seriously. We would have liked the opportunity to take care of them, as it is regrettable that your stay was not satisfactory. Our apologies for the disappointment you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed here as a halfway point for our long haul drive so it was only for a short stay but the hotel lobby is beautiful and the staff were extremely professional, friendly and efficient.
The hotel has a bit of a unique set up with different wings and the pool and atrium in the middle but it was nicely done. The room was spacious and overall pretty nice. It is renovated, and was clean and nicely decorated. I really liked the bathroom, it was nicely done.
It was a very busy night that we were there and the hallways were busy with people and kids running around, so it was a little noisy. Even with heavy duty doors, there was still quite a bit of noise coming in from the people in the hallways late into the night.
Overall the staff and lobby of the hotel are fantastic and the room was above average. The rooms weren't as nice as the Nainamo Coast hotel that we have stayed in, but better than the Victoria one.
It has lots of parking and is convenient getting to from the highway. It was a nice stay

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna_12Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela T, Director of Sales at Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
We really appreciate you sharing your impressions of our hotel and your patronage of Coast Hotels overall. Hopefully you are a member of our Coast Rewards program and are enjoying the membership benefits through your Coast Hotels stays. If not, feel free to sign up at one of our hotels or on our website. We hope to have you join us again in the future. Thank you for staying with along your summer journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This Coast hotel used to be a Best Western hotel we visited 7 years ago. They renovated the interior and the entrance. The hotel is much better looking than before and cleaner. The rooms are relatively large with all the amenities you would expect in the category. The reception staff have been efficient and friendly. The only drawback was the noise level in the room, facing the highway. On the other hand we slept very well, you get used to the (damped) noise anyway).
The breakfast was good and reasonably priced, service could have been a bit quicker. All in a good experience and a good price/quality ratio.

Room Tip: Select an interior room to avoid the noise from the highway, and be aware of distance, some rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyVanHooveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela T, Director of Sales at Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our property. We appreciate you coming back to the hotel and imagine that you were surprised by the extensive makeover the property has undergone in the past two years. It is wonderful to hear that you appreciated all the updates as well as the large, clean rooms and our friendly and efficient staff. I will share your thoughts on the restaurant service and food with our Restaurant Manager. We hope to welcome you back when you are in the Kamloops area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We were booked into the Coast as part of our Rocky Mountaineer trip. In fairness we arrived late, very tired and just needed a bed, from that point of view it was perfect. A good sized room, very clean, comfy bed and decent bathroom, check in was great and there was hot coffee, chilled water, fruit and cookies on offer to all guests in reception...that's a nice touch! We hardly explored the hotel as we were up and gone by 7am the next morning, again I have to say that Kamloops is not a place to stay in for long, it is a passing through place, hence why I say 'good for a couple of nights', there is not much competition in Kamloops, plenty of modest hotels but nothing really top notch from what I gathered from other travellers and the RM staff. The main requirements are there at the Coast, clean, comfy, decent bathroom and pleasant front of house staff, if you are touring around do you really need more?

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHNL858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela T, Director of Sales at Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
It was a pleasure to host you for your Rocky Mountaineer overnight stay in Kamloops. We are happy to hear that everything offered in our hotel was to your satisfaction. It is regrettable that your stay was so short, as there are many things to do in Kamloops given the time to do so. If you ever contemplate returning to Kamloops for a longer period of time, you may want to search online for “things to do in Kamloops” and find the Tourism Kamloops site with 107 ideas for activities. I hope you had an enjoyable holiday overall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed one night on a quick trip through the Interior. The front staff on arrival were very friendly and attentive. We stayed on the second floor facing inward as was suggested, to eliminate traffic noise. The room was spacious and very clean. There was coffee, tea, hot chocolate and a small fridge. The only downside is that the walls between rooms require much more soundproofing. We could easily conversation, tv, etc from the room beside ours. Great pool area. We understand the hotel was recently renovated, which you could tell, however they missed the elevators, so do let the elevator be your first impression.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diaund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela T, Director of Sales at Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
We appreciate your recent stopover with us. I am pleased that our team members were great and that you enjoyed the amenities and cleanliness of our spacious rooms. My apologies that there was an issue with noise between your room and the neighbours guest room. It is not something that we normally hear of occurring, but I am sorry it happened to you. If you do stay with us again and this is an issue, please do share that with our front desk. They will make every effort to move you to another room to try to rectify this. You are right about the elevators, it is on the “to-do” list, and we just haven’t made it there quite yet. This summer we have been concentrating on updating all of our conference rooms and foyers so that we are prepared for the fall conference and meetings season. Thank you for keeping it top of mind. I value your comments and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Hotel 540
#7 of 55 in Kamloops
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 1250 Rogers Way, Kamloops, British Columbia V1S 1N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 9 million dollars in renovations completed in 2013, the property offers a freshly updated full service property. This green hotel uses geo-thermal technology & is 4 Green key rated. Enjoy staying in one of the 202 spacious hotel rooms or suites which each include a microwave and mini-fridge. Rejuvenate in the indoor atrium/courtyard with natural salt water pools. Relax in the hot tub, exercise room or sauna. Convenient on-site cold beer, wine & spirits store. Located near shopping, theatres & restaurants. Fantastic dining offered in the hotel at Romeo's Kitchen & Spirits. Sip something refreshing and enjoy the incredible city & river views from the patio overlooking the valley and the city of Kamloops. Complimentary parking, local calls, and wi-fi are all included for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coast Kamloops Hotel And Conference Centre
Kamloops Towne Hotel
Best Western Kamloops
Kamloops Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing