We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not worth the price unless you like traffic noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riverland Inn & Suites
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Stayed in a one queen room booked through hotels.com after reading reviews here. Was immediately disappointed upon seeing hotel as it doesn't look like something I would pay $135 to stay at. The room was clean and nice enough and the bed and bedding was great. Only cable tv, so couldn't buy a movie. The biggest problem though was the significant traffic noise, especially at 5 am. The view of the river is nice, and I can see that it would be nice to stay here for a while if you were working in town and needed to get up at 5 am. Don't take room 219 as it has a bright light outside the window that shines in around the curtains all night. Restaurant next door, "the storms" is good. Breakfast at hotel ok. Continental plus eggs, sausages and hashbrowns. Overall a nice enough place but not worth the price.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funfoodie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed here on route home to Seattle from Jasper. Intentionally chose this accomodation based on it's idyllic setting. The photo is totally deceptive. It is right off the highway near RR tracks and various commercial property. In no way does it back up to grassy undeveloped hills. There were 3 of us. Had a room with a separate bedroom containing 2 beds, and ONLY 2 beds. No chair, counter, hangers, etc. NO PLACE TO PUT SUITCASE. NO BEDSIDE PLACE FOR CLOCK, PHONE, ETC. The bedroom window opened to alcove under stairs, impossible to get air circulation. Very stuffy. No air conditioner on that window. Three queen beds but NO PLACE TO HANG A SINGLE CLOTH OR TOWEL. No elevator- had to lug everything down stairs. This should have been noted. Had to have clerk rekey entry cards- they didn't work the first time. Lukewarm breakfast. No decaf. Very dissatisfied with this inn.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulaG914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed here as part of the Jasper to Vancouver Rocky Mountaineer train journey. This place really exceeded my expectations. All the rooms have a lovely outlook over the river. There is a nice lawn on the river edge where you can sit and take in the view. The rooms were large with a balcony, tea and coffee making facilities, fridge, iron and ironing board. We went next door to Storm for dinner. The meal was excellent and inexpensive and they had a wonderful outside section that overlooks the river. I would definitely recommend this property as a 3 1/2 star.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We recently stayed here whilst driving from Vancouver to Calgary.
The location and setting was fantastic, overlooking the river :) a short drive into main shops etc. Our room was small but our bed was so good, comfortable! A/C was a bit noisy but not too bad as we're heavy sleepers.
Free wifi & printing was a huge help!! Staff were very helpful & pleasant. The breakfast was a joke though, we thought we'd give it a try (other reviews said the same thing) but it was gross. Settled for jam on toast then headed off.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ccsydney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This property is gorgeous. Updated exceptionally clean room. High end bedding, very comfortable bed. Well appointed with flat screen tv, lg fridge. Balcony with fantastic view of the river. Lovely grounds- would be great for families with kids as the grassy area is very well maintained. Continental breakfast is top notch.
a superb hotel for the price range, clean and comfortable. Front desk staff excellent, let us check in 1 hr early.
All rooms overlook the river.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vancouverislander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We were part of the Rocky Mountaineer train tour that had an overnight pitstop in kamloops, bc. We stayed at riverland inn and suites. This was set up by the tour group during our booking.

As routine starwood property diehard fans we weren't sure what to expect here at riverland inn. However we were pleasantly surprised.

Rooms were very clean. Bathrooms were renovated. Shower pressure was very high, which we love. Fluffy pillows and comfortable beds. We slept like we were at home.

Only problem was our late arrival to the hotel. Didn't get the chance to wander the town a bit before our next leg of the train ride to Vancouver.

Maybe next time...

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inspired_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Stayed here for one night on way to Jasper and was really pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious, clean and nicely decorated. Nice buffet breakfast with choice of hot and cold food. Ideally situated just off highway 5. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyndaAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kamloops
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 540
#6 of 54 in Kamloops
1,543 reviews
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverland Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverland Inn & Suites

Address: 1530 River St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 1Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range: £53 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverland Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the Thompson River with picturesque Mount Peter and Mount Paul as a backdrop, our Inn is the ideal stay for those looking for quiet comfort, and knowing it is only just a short walk into town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Riverland Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverland Inn And Suites
Riverland Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing