We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outside looks plain, but it's what's inside that counts, right?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riverland Inn & Suites
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Unity, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Outside looks plain, but it's what's inside that counts, right?”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I have stayed here on a number of occasions as this hotel is one of the few hotels that is reasonably close to my work. This hotel has very humble exterior which doesn't suggest the quality that lays within the hotel. The décor is somewhat updated, beds are reasonably new, the linens a good quality. The rooms are clean. This location is relatively quiet. If you look around the hotel, you can tell that this hotel has been well maintained with lots of TLC in some of the little touches. The river provides a wonderful natural backdrop which makes this hotel a big winner in my books. My only issues is the phone system is rather...um...prohibitive.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBSandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverlandladys, Front Office Manager at Riverland Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
I know this response is a little late but I thought I would just like to leave you a short comment to your feedback. If at anytime you are having any trouble with the internet, phone, television we are just a quick call away and we will try our very best to fix the problem. But know now for your future stays that you just have to let us know and for us its only a quick press of a button and your calls should work Local and/or Long Distance, if you don't bring an issue like this to our attention then I cannot fix the problem. =)

The summer is coming quick so don't forget to stop in & see us!

Sincerely,

Jenn =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    154
    70
    16
    12
See reviews for
94
156
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here previously and rated it a five based on price and room quality...my last stay however rated much lower, maybe even a two... The room I received was not as pictured, the furniture was dated and the room had an odour of carpet cleaner which wasn't apparent at first (maybe due to the fresh air vent fan being on high when I entered the room) but come morning it was all I could smell. The television was placed much lower than the bed surface which made it difficult to view laying in bed. I arrived late and didn't realize the washroom was quite dirty until I went to take a shower in the morning. I will likely stay here again based on previous visits but I will be more diligent in checking the room before accepting it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Hotel is large, popular, clean, just outside busy CBD area of Kamloops and has a water view and ample free parking. No elevator. Restaurant next door. Guest laundry with one washing machine and one dryer on ground floor, advice was best used after 3PM. Staff were very busy, very pleasant and helpful. Our spacious third floor balcony room had one Queen bed, 2 lounge chairs, microwave. And most bizarre to us, no washbasin in the bathroom but outside in main living area next to a combined hotplate/frig/sink extravaganza. This hotel is popular for guests of The Rocky Mountaineer and this and skiing might account for what to us were very odd room fit-outs. They cater for groups of people travelling together, sleeping in the one room. Or the rooms have a huge Hot Tub, instead of seating, in the living area for aching skiers. We didn't want any of this. Just one large bed, a TV lounge and sink in bathroom. So after long discussion with patient, helpful but puzzled young lady we got a room with one large bed, 2 TV chairs. But 2 sinks in living area. One a kitchen and one a bathroom alongside each other. But hotel was clean, affordable, in good area and the housekeeping staff were lovely, very hard working women. Tiny breakfast room with a few tables and chairs and a kitchen from which guests helped themselves to food which was very good. Hot and cold. Just getting a table was difficult. Reception staff managed topping up the supply of food and they were run off their legs attending to departing guests paying bills and the kitchen. But did a good job. This arrangement for such a large, popular hotel must be a nightmare in very busy ski season.

Room Tip: Discuss with hotel staff what type of room and number of beds you require.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POLLYANNA57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon B.C.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights while attending my grandson's hockey tournament. This was our second time staying at this motel. We got an exceptional rate and were very surprised that a hot/cold breakfast was included, which was very good. Our room was small (should have booked a bit bigger but that was my mistake) but very comfortable and clean. It is very well located to downtown Kamloops and Riverside Park. Quiet, friendly. Will stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the bottom floor (nice green lawn out front) which we don't usually do because ofte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inuvik, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

stayed here for one night on a quick stopover in Kamloops. arrived at 2am in the morning and the girl at the front desk was pleasant and checked me in right away. room was priced well and overlooked the river. very nice view if you care about such things in Kamloops! only stayed about 9 hours in total as was just passing through. bathroom light was not working and room could use a slight touch of TLC, but overall great little hotel/motel! also, not ideal if you do not have your own transportation and wanting to explore the town as it is a little out of the way.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here on an overnight stop from the Rocky Mountaineer and was booked by them. It was a standard motel type hotel but way out of town! Overlooked the river which was very pleasant - you could sit in the gardens and watch the activity on the river. We walked into town but I feel this may be a long walk for anyone less able. Also not the easiest centre to find. We stayed on a Sunday and most places were closed. We'd been recommended a few restaurants by our guide and eat at one of these. However, there was a restaurant next to hotel (can't remember the name) and I know many guests ate there. Rocky Mountaineer had laid on shuttle bus for their guests but first one left too late to get into Kamloops, eat and get the last one back. Maybe RM should look at this....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KissesCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I stayed here for one night during the Rocky Mountaineer train tour.

Had a suite on the second floor overlooking the river and mountains beyond. The nearby road was noisy if the balcony door was left open, and the lick on the door itself was broken.

The carpet was stained in places, and rucked in the sitting area. The bathroom was clean and tidy, and general condition acceptable.

The Storms restaurant next door was good, which was fortunate as the hotel was a significant walk out of town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missdixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kamloops
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 540
#7 of 54 in Kamloops
1,470 reviews
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverland Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverland Inn & Suites

Property: Riverland Inn & Suites
Address: 1530 River St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 1Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverland Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the Thompson River with picturesque Mount Peter and Mount Paul as a backdrop, our Inn is the ideal stay for those looking for quiet comfort, and knowing it is only just a short walk into town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Riverland Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverland Inn And Suites
Riverland Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing