We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great option in Kamloops” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverland Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riverland Inn & Suites
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great option in Kamloops”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2009

We booked based on TripAdvisor reviews, and agree. This is a clean, newly refurbished, comfortable motel which is a great independent option if you are staying in Kamloops. We found the room to be quiet, the bed was comfortable, there's free internet and a good shower! A good, simple breakfast is included: bagels, toast, cereals, muffins and some oven-baked options such as (frozen) hash browns and sausages. As a stop over on the way to Sunpeaks it works well as it's only a 45 minute drive to the resort.

Storms restaurant is next door which is a reasonable option serving the usual variety of food from hamburgers to cooked dishes. Staff were very amenable.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajeros001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    141
    61
    13
    12
See reviews for
84
138
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2008

Great hotel on the side of the river. We were actually quite suprised at how quite it was in the room as it's pretty close to the highway, but we didn't hear it at all.

The room was fairly small, and the bathroom even smaller, however it had everything we needed - and the shower was really good.

Pretty easy to find, and free parking is always a bonus.

Fantastic restaurant located next door to the hotel called Storms - definitely worth a visit if you stay here.

Would definitely stay here again if we were passing through Kamloops.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank katewcdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2008

We stayed here (booking on-line from the UK) because of the positive reviews on this site and elsewhere and all I can say is THANK YOU! This was a gem, right beside the river, with an excellent (though not cheap) restaurant a 90 second walk away. There are fast-food places a short drive away, but I would recommend a meal at Storm - it was lovely and as it was dark, our baby just slept in his stroller beside our table while we ate, after he'd finished flirting with the waitresses.

Because we were traveling with our 13 month old son, we opted for a suite rather than a room. It was only a little more than a standard room, and definitely worth it, especially if you're staying more than a night. The suite was well set-out, with the bedroom and bathroom at the front and a big open-plan living area in the back, leading onto a balcony overlooking the river. The air con worked well, which was just as well as it was 30 degrees, even in late September. There was a small kitchen area with a 2-ring hob, fridge and microwave and the bedroom was nicely decorated though not overly big. The curtains didn't completely shut out the light and there was a little bit of noise from other guests in the evening, but it was really pretty quiet, which was a pleasant surprise, given it's not that far from the main road.

The indoor pool was a reasonable size and lovely and warm, though the hot tub looked a little less than clean, with a loose rail, cracked step and a strong smell of chemicals... we had had to take the covers off both, so maybe it was a build-up of chemicals from that. Kids can also play outside on the grass next to the river, but parents will want to keep a very careful eye on them to make sure they don't wander too close to the water.

The breakfast was great, available in a (very hot) room just off reception. There was cereal, bread and a toaster, tea and coffee, bagels, jam, cream cheese, etc. I suspect there would have been an even better choice including scrambled eggs and french toast if we'd got there earlier, so I recommend getting down there by 9:30 at the latest.

We spent the morning of our wedding anniversary there and the staff had been very helpful in suggesting (via email) a local florist in response to my husband's request. So I got silk roses and chocolates for my anniversary, in sunny Kamloops!

All in all a lovely place to stay in what is an inevitable stop-off point to/from Vancouver. Good rooms, lovely view, friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast, lovely pool and a good price - what else can you ask for?!

  • Liked — Great value, clean, comfortable room with a lovely view
  • Disliked — Hot tub wasn't very clean, but that's nit-picking!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Topoftheworldma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warks
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2008

There are plenty of motels to choose from in Kamloops, but the Riverland Inn has to have one of the best locations with lovely views across the river to the hills beyond. Its it short drive from downtown, but you don't need to get in the car as there is an excellent restaurant 'Storms' next door. For the price you get a spacious room with river views, use of the indoor swimming pool, and a complimentary breakfast. Definitely the best value we had during our 3-week trip across BC and the Rockies.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WarksTravelplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
377 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2008

We loved this hotel and can highly recommend it

It is right on the river and from our jacuzzi room (301) we had great views and a balcony for a lovely sunny evening in Kamloops. Our room was huge and clean with a firelpace, sofa and of course double jacuzzi bath with Bath and Bodyworks products - lovely

This was just a driving break stopover night but Sunny and his wife made us very welcome and their coin-op laundry room was fabulous for getting the mud out of Rockies hiking clothes!

Kamloops itself is a lovely little town - we walked downtown to the riverfront park and watched a free concert then wandered along a nice proper high street - not the stretchy strip malls of many North American towns.

Our room was the priciest in the hotel but at only $175/£90, was one of the cheapest on our trip, but one of the best

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2008

A lovely clean motel, helpful staff, very easy to find and nice grassy area overlooking the river. Decent restaurant next door

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank Spruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2008

We were very impressed by the quality of the Riverside. The room was very tastefully appointed, with very modern furnishings and a flat screen television. It's right on the river and the view from our second floor room was great. Best of all, we paid $99 and that includes breakfast!

We can't recommend the place highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vancouver_exiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 540
#8 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverland Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverland Inn & Suites

Property: Riverland Inn & Suites
Address: 1530 River St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 1Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverland Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the Thompson River with picturesque Mount Peter and Mount Paul as a backdrop, our Inn is the ideal stay for those looking for quiet comfort, and knowing it is only just a short walk into town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Riverland Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverland Inn And Suites
Riverland Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing