We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value - has this new owners?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverland Inn & Suites
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Reviewed 31 May 2009

This was the costliest hotel during our Canada trip but also the least comfortable. Plus points: power shower, view of Thompson River, clean room.

Negatives: hard beds, poor breakfast, pool not looking particularly clean. Please provide teaspoons - not plastic strips!

I can't understand the positive reviews of this motel which wasn't even cheap, but should have been.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattinbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 324 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2009

It's kind of tricky how to interpret reviews... We booked here because of the high ratings and better price point than the Hampton. This is a nice, simple, clean motel. It is not fancy or plush. For the price it certainly was fine. We paid a little over $100 CDN for a queen bed room for the night. My thoughts:

Cleanliness: Crisp white sheets, no stains to be found, likewise for the towels. Only thing negative I could mention is the corners of the carpet look like they get a nozzle attachement clean maybe once a week, or couple of weeks, there was a tiny bit of dust buildup there.

Value: Decent value, breakfast was included and consisted of eggs, sausage, muffins, juice etc.

Location: Beautiful location on the river, close to HWY 5/97/1 junction.

Rooms: Simple but effective. TV and mini fridge in the room, good hot shower. Bed was not super comfortable though and bathroom facilities were average...

Overall: I consider this place average to good. Would give a 3 1/2 star review if I could.. but when I think 5 stars I think plush mattresses, linens, fancy breakfast etc. This place was above par, but not exceptional... it is the kind of cleanliness and services that all places would strive for. Sadly most motels fall below what should be acceptable standards.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyferr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

We stayed at the Riverland Inns and Suites for just one night (after 15 hours of driving in from Saskatchewan). The staff was friendly and there to welcome us at 11 pm. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The hot tub was even open to midnight - a nice way to soak out the aches and pains of the road. The "continental" breakfast included some hot items - eggs, hashbrowns, and sausage, as well as the normal bagels, cereal, juice, coffee, etc. Very quiet. Appeared to have some pet-friendly rooms (we saw a few dogs in the morning).

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uncannycanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

My boyfriend and I drove into Kamloops without a hotel booked, we were being spontaneous! My boyfriend spotted the Riverland Inn as we pulled into town. I instantly noticed how well-kept the grounds are and how clean it was when we went into the check-in office.

The hotel is right on the river, as the name suggests. The rate was great and our room overlooked the river. The room was very clean, had a really comfortable bed (real duvet cover instead of the generic hotel bed covers), and good smelling bath products (coconut lime!). There was a good-sized frige in the room and a nice big flat-panel TV.

There isn't a restaurant on the premesis, but there was one right next door, which was handy (very good restaurant at that!). There is a pool and hot tub at the Inn, which we didn't use. There were a couple of barbeques outside, available to all guests to use.

The shower was fantastic, unlike most hotels with bad water pressure. And although the Inn is close the to the highway, it was nice and quiet.

The last thing that made an impression was the free continental breakfast. There were muffins, bagels, bread, cereal, fruit, eggs, sausages, and hashbrowns... not at all the typical free contintental! The tables were dressed with clean white tablecloths and overlooked the river.

We were only passing through and stayed one night only, but it certainly made an impression. The Riverland Inn & Suites definitely has value!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenn_bowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

We booked based on TripAdvisor reviews, and agree. This is a clean, newly refurbished, comfortable motel which is a great independent option if you are staying in Kamloops. We found the room to be quiet, the bed was comfortable, there's free internet and a good shower! A good, simple breakfast is included: bagels, toast, cereals, muffins and some oven-baked options such as (frozen) hash browns and sausages. As a stop over on the way to Sunpeaks it works well as it's only a 45 minute drive to the resort.

Storms restaurant is next door which is a reasonable option serving the usual variety of food from hamburgers to cooked dishes. Staff were very amenable.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viajeros001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

Great hotel on the side of the river. We were actually quite suprised at how quite it was in the room as it's pretty close to the highway, but we didn't hear it at all.

The room was fairly small, and the bathroom even smaller, however it had everything we needed - and the shower was really good.

Pretty easy to find, and free parking is always a bonus.

Fantastic restaurant located next door to the hotel called Storms - definitely worth a visit if you stay here.

Would definitely stay here again if we were passing through Kamloops.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank katewcdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2008

We stayed here (booking on-line from the UK) because of the positive reviews on this site and elsewhere and all I can say is THANK YOU! This was a gem, right beside the river, with an excellent (though not cheap) restaurant a 90 second walk away. There are fast-food places a short drive away, but I would recommend a meal at Storm - it was lovely and as it was dark, our baby just slept in his stroller beside our table while we ate, after he'd finished flirting with the waitresses.

Because we were traveling with our 13 month old son, we opted for a suite rather than a room. It was only a little more than a standard room, and definitely worth it, especially if you're staying more than a night. The suite was well set-out, with the bedroom and bathroom at the front and a big open-plan living area in the back, leading onto a balcony overlooking the river. The air con worked well, which was just as well as it was 30 degrees, even in late September. There was a small kitchen area with a 2-ring hob, fridge and microwave and the bedroom was nicely decorated though not overly big. The curtains didn't completely shut out the light and there was a little bit of noise from other guests in the evening, but it was really pretty quiet, which was a pleasant surprise, given it's not that far from the main road.

The indoor pool was a reasonable size and lovely and warm, though the hot tub looked a little less than clean, with a loose rail, cracked step and a strong smell of chemicals... we had had to take the covers off both, so maybe it was a build-up of chemicals from that. Kids can also play outside on the grass next to the river, but parents will want to keep a very careful eye on them to make sure they don't wander too close to the water.

The breakfast was great, available in a (very hot) room just off reception. There was cereal, bread and a toaster, tea and coffee, bagels, jam, cream cheese, etc. I suspect there would have been an even better choice including scrambled eggs and french toast if we'd got there earlier, so I recommend getting down there by 9:30 at the latest.

We spent the morning of our wedding anniversary there and the staff had been very helpful in suggesting (via email) a local florist in response to my husband's request. So I got silk roses and chocolates for my anniversary, in sunny Kamloops!

All in all a lovely place to stay in what is an inevitable stop-off point to/from Vancouver. Good rooms, lovely view, friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast, lovely pool and a good price - what else can you ask for?!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Topoftheworldma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
The Plaza Hotel
#8 of 54 in Kamloops
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 540
#5 of 54 in Kamloops
1,569 reviews
Aberdeen
Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverland Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverland Inn & Suites

Address: 1530 River St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 1Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range: £40 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverland Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the Thompson River with picturesque Mount Peter and Mount Paul as a backdrop, our Inn is the ideal stay for those looking for quiet comfort, and knowing it is only just a short walk into town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Riverland Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverland Inn And Suites
Riverland Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing