We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great job”
Review of Hotel 540

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 540
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We checked in well before check-in time, and the staff made our room available. This is service well beyond the norm, and is indicative of the attitude of the hotel.
Our only complaint is that when we returned to the hotel around 11:30pm all the hotel parking lots were full, and we had no choice but to park on the street. If this had been in January it would have been a significant inconvenience.
Other than this issue I wholeheartedly recommend the hotel.
BTW, for those who recall the Stockmens' Hotel, this may be the same location, but it definitely is not the same hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohninBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2011

Dear JohninBC,

Thanks very much for taking the time to share your feedback. You are correct, we are very different from the "Old Stockmans" as well as the former Executive Inn Kamloops...and there are many more exciting improvements on the way ! As more people are learning this, we continue to get busier, and as such - we have just secured some additional parking spaces, to ensure your experience is not repeated (ie parking full). As always our service team here is happy to help; glad you felt the service level was "beyond the norm" and our team will be excited to learn of your "wholehearted recommendation".

Best Regards

Bryan Pilbeam / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,526 - 1,532 of 1,596 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2011

After reading other reviews and the description of the hotel, I thought it would be a good choice. It is not suitable for families - the restaurant on location is adult only (no minors). Although we walked around the immediate area, there did not seem to be any restaurants nearby. The front desk staff at least had maps available to show what was in the area, but could not offer any suggestions for a family restaurant in walking distance. The room was OK - clean but noisy (sirens outside and other traffic noise, typical of a downtown area I guess). The room was not quite as it was pictured on travel websites and the location appeared closer to the highway than it is. There is a charge for parking. It is more suitable for a business traveler or couples passing through.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fashionistamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Dear Fashionistamama,

Thanks for taking the time to share your review. As the parent of 2 small kids as well, I had to think for a few minutes as to how to reply; as we lived in the hotel for 3 months after moving to Kamloops in January. We are a Business Class hotel, and as such (while we love children) - you are correct in that much of our offering caters to Adults (who themselves often do like that specialty). While we have a great family restaurant for breakfast, our evening dining room has a liquor licence restriction that unfortunately does not permit children. If In-Room Dining is not of interest, there are 2 restaurants suitable for families across the street, and several options (from upscale to fast food) within a block or two walk. I am sorry and will review with our Service Team to make sure these options are clearly and favourably conveyed to our guests for their convenience. Finally, we do have a few different room types |(standard, deluxe, executive club floor and suites)- and pictures reflect each one. Sorry to learn that the stay was "just ok" but we will continue to work to improve the experience for all guests - our valued family travelers, adult guests and business travelers !

Best Regards

Bryan Pilbeam / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Lovely stay for 1 night in a spacious suite for a very reasonable price!! We echo previous comments - Dave at reception was superb. The stop over location during our trip was much more than we hoped for. My husband would recommend the Denver omelette and I was happy with mine. If in Kamloops make this the place to stay

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael_Melissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Dear Michael_Melissa,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. I hope you enjoyed your trip to Canada ! I was kidding Dave that he is becoming "Mr. Trip Advisor" and has a lot to up to now ! (which he will). I know the rest of the team are anxious and competent to look after our guests in the same way. Great to read those perfect scores !

Best Regards,

Bryan Pilbeam / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Checking in late sometimes means poor service but not at this hotel. Dave was on the front desk and was very cordial . He went out of his way to ensure us that our stay was going to be memorable and comfortable. Our room for two people was very spacious. A new large flat screen TV was a welcome amenity, especially viewed from the incredibly comfortable beds. This hotel is located in the centre of downtown Kamloops and is across the street from a newly renovated food and drugstore anchored shopping centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th floor if possible. Nice views to the north towards the Thompson River. Nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitch018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Dear Mitch 018,

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. I have personally shared your comments with Dave - and was quite excited to read that. I would agree that he does a very good job for us (along with many others !). Great room tip for others too !

Best Regards

Bryan Pilbeam / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We recently stayed at the 540 Hotel for a weekend getaway and do a little gambling in the downstairs casino. The hotel has been recently renovated, looks great and really clean. It was my wife's birthday and I had requested a bottle of wine and roses be in the room on our arrival. The staff did a terrific job of laying these out on one of the beds decorated with rose petals. The hotel restaurant has great food, a bit pricey but very good. We enjoy spending some time in the casino, it's more generous than most. For a relxing weekend this is our first choice.

Room Tip: Call ahead for the better rooms, will upgrade when available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teeoff22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Dear teeoff22,

Thanks for taking the time to share your review - and for choosing our hotel for your special occasion ! As you might gather, we specialize in this great events and offer the catered services, concierge services that a discerning guest would expect in a business class hotel. Of course we also have a casino on sight, which is also a rare combination. We hope you will come back again - and as we have just launched a new Menu and Wine List in Embers, you can try something new ! (I recommend the Tuna Tower on our tapas menu, or your preferred cut of Certified Angus Beef )

Best Regards
Bryan Pilbeam / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My family and I were travelling from Edmonton to Victoria and wanted to break the journey up. Not really wanting to spend a huge amount on a one night hotel, but equally not wanting to stay in some dive - I found 'Hotel 540'. Very nice hotel in a good central location (walking distance to bars, restaurants, fast food and coffee!) and a good price (room with two queens + parking = $130cdn) . Room was spotless and adequate for our needs. Bathroom a little dated, but was very clean. I did not use any other facilities in the hotel - but it looked nice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mim4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Dear Mim48,

Thanks for taking the time to share your review and for choosing The Hotel 540 ! We are fortunate to be located downtown, where there are so many amenities. I noted you felt all was great value. I did see your comment on the bathrooms, and this would tell me that you were in a standard room. These particular rooms will have new upgraded bathrooms with Granite/new fixtures etc. completed this January. Until then, we have priced these at $10/nt less than our Deluxe rooms (which are upgraded) - for our guests to have a bit of choice in product/price. We hope you will choose us again on the return trip !

Best Regards
Bryan Pilbeam / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights during our trip to Kamloops,with the family.

Booking by telephone was easy and friendly, and checking in & out was swift. Not the friendliest or smiliest of receptionists, just indifferent. Car parking was an extra $10 (uncommon amongst the other Kamloops hotels).

Decor was modern and clean, with a fridge, kettle, coffee maker, LCD tv, desk and two queen sized beds, so perfectly adequate for a small family (a little smaller than the other hotels, but this is downtown). The toiletries were nice. We didn't try the in-house restaurant Embers.

The location is ideal for the downtown Kamloops area... it is walking distance to many restaurants (for breakfast, lunch & dinner), the launderette, Farmer's Market, shops and the Hospital. We would stay here again.

Hotel room cost is well-priced for the hotel (even adding in the parking), and the extra price for the Executive Floor is worthwhile for additional space.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonFamily88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Dear LondonFamily88,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. I was pleased to read you enjoyed the hotel and amenities both internally as well as in the downtown area ! It is a great advantage to be able to stay somewhere that you can walk to so many options. I was sorry to read that our Front Desk team wasn't stellar - they are working hard to be that. But this gives us something to continually improve towards. I am pleased to also read you enjoyed out Executive Club Floor. I hope we can host you again !

Best Regards,

Bryan Pilbeam / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Plaza Hotel
#8 of 54 in Kamloops
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 540? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 540

Address: 540 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range: £66 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 540 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 540 is Kamloops' premier downtown hotel. This modern property has undergone a thorough $12m modernization and is now often referred to as "Kamloops' Best Address". Hotel 540 offers all the comforts and conveniences of a luxury hotel at an affordable price. Conveniently located downtown within walking distance of shops, offices, and art galleries, the hotel is also a short drive away from Thompson Rivers University, tournament venues and golf courses. The award-winning Sun Peaks Resort is 60 minutes from the hotel.If you are planing a special event, we offer exceptional, state of the art banquet facilities with all the amenities and services necessary to a memorable event or meeting. With accommodations to suit all needs, our blue. Dinning + Lounge, year round rooftop pool and hot tub , 24hr fitness room and our New Mountview Terrace, find out why the Hotel 540 truly is Kamloops' Best Address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 540 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing