We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Downtown Hotel!”
Review of Hotel 540

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 540
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I travel quite a bit and stay in alot of hotels. The 540 has had a big reno and the rooms are small but clean and well appointed. We were placed near the elevator and the room was noisy. We asked to be moved and Gina at the front desk was awesome! She relocated us to a quiet room with no hassle. Great stay!!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodieinhell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

Dear Foodieinhell,

Thanks for your comments. I am pleased to read that we were able to find accomodate your request so efficiently and that you enjoyed your stay overall. We look forward to see you again soon !

Best Regards

Bryan Pilbeam / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,460 - 1,466 of 1,539 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2011

Comfortable rooms, most renovated. Some of our party had the new bathrooms but others didn't (sink in the room, not the bathroom). Beds comfortable, internet OK, television had quite poor reception for some channels (Global). Front desk staff friendly, restaurant on site has good food and beer. The on site cafe does a great breakfast which is reasonably priced. Slightly dodgy area behind the hotel, but nothing that bothered us. It's close to town so we had many food options and a great Irish bar with a rooftop patio two blocks down. Casino on site is no problem, 7-11 round the corner if you need supplies.

Room Tip: Ask for the new bathrooms which you see in the hotel's website pictures, not all have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ayup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

Dear Ayup,

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the location of the hotel. You are correct that we do have a few different room types in the hotel, 2 of them include upgraded bathrooms (Deluxe - Granite, and Club - Marble). Our standard rooms have standard laminate counter tops. We hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards

Bryan Pilbeam / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We booked a stay and play package which was excellent value, it included parking, breakfast for 2 and also 2 $10 vouchers for the casino next door. Great location downtown, really easy to find and central to everything. We stayed in a really nice room on the 5th floor which was huge, the decor was very tasteful and the bathroom was beautiful and very clean. The bed was amazing! Really comfy pillow top mattress with fantastic linen as well. The restaurant Embers was open in the evening that we arrived and had a great atmosphere and service. Cafe 540 was the restaurant that the breakfast vouchers were for and they make the biggest omelets we've ever seen!! If you're passing through Kamloops, this is the best place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2011

Dear Mell L,

Thanks very much for taking the time to share your review ! Our Stay and Play Package is great value...and thus, very popular for our savvy travelers ! I am pleased to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. I'll have to tell our Chef that the omelettes are too big !! (just kidding).

Glad you enjoyed ! And look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best Regards,

Bryan Pilbeam / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Was a bit unsure about the hotel when we first booked through one of those discounters where you learn the hotel name after booking. The hotel was in a pleasant location downtown although it shares its building with a casino (which doesn't give the best first impression). That said, the lobby was attractive and clean, as was the room, with new linens, clean premises, and carpets that looked to be in good condition. Staff throughout were friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant at breakfast was not the best, although it was okay. I ordered a latte, and when I tasted it, found that it was made with condensed milk (which I don't care for). When I asked the server to take it away she offered to deduct it from my bill, and then brought me some regular coffee instead which was good. I appreciated her being pleasant about it.

I would stay there again, although the casino is a bit of a deterrant

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura_in_Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2011

Dear L_in_Vic,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our friendly team and you found the accomodation to be clean and attractive. I am glad our server was able to look after the latte/coffee item. I had to check on the "condensed milk" comment myself...to clarify - our coffee machine is a Tassimo, and the lattes are made with a "concentrated" milk item - small detail, but she may have been confused in the explanation. Nonetheless, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon !

Best Regards,

Bryan Pilbeam / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Hotel 540 saved our disaster long weekend! When our other pre-booked hotel plans fell through, we ended up rolling into Kamloops at 7pm on the Friday for the first time in our lives and had no idea where to go. Checking thru the typical hotel websites, we were shot down by 5 hotels that were all booked up. We tried all the big chains first, trying to find a hotel that we'd heard of or at least recognized and Hotel 540 was honestly last on our list at the time, we'd never heard of it before! At wits end we finally clicked on their link on hotels.com and what a surprise!! It said they had just completed $12 million in renos and looked gorgeous! We called ahead and were advised by Dave that yes, indeed, they had a room!

We fiddled with the GPS and managed to fumble our way down to their location. At the front desk we were warmly greeted by Dave and explained how happy we were to finally find a place to stay instead of backtracking 4hrs back to Vancouver. We had gotten engaged the week before and this was our first time away to relax and enjoy, our first hotel pick outside of town had turned out to be a motor inn instead of the promised resort, so our trip was kind of a bomb to start. Dave managed to upgrade us to a room on the Executive Club floor and hooked us up with a B&B package for an extra $10 a night that included breakfast (real breakfast, not continental!) and parking.

The room was spotless, the bathroom clean and new with granite countertops and great bath products (easily opened with flip-tops on the shampoo, no pulverizing the bottle to get the conditioner out!). The bed was ultra comfortable and the view out across the valley and river was idyllic. The big screen TV also comes with a guide for all the channels.

We made a couple trips out to the downtown core where the hotel is located and were provided with great directions by the front desk. It was a nice distraction too, to have the casino downstairs as well and not have to travel far to it.

Overall, the quality of the hotel itself combined with the exceptional customer service stacked up to be a wonderful experience. The quality per dollar ration is wonderful - we've paid more for less in Kelowna! We'd never been to Kamloops before and we will sure be coming back and staying at Hotel 540 everytims!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manders04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2011

Dear Manders04,

Thanks very much for taking the time to share your review. It's a bittersweet feeling to be known as the "best kept secret in town" - we are hoping to have it less of a secret ! That said, we do pride ourselves on the personal experience you described, and the newly renovated hotel we are fortunate to have. We look forward to welcoming you again soon !

Best Regards,

Bryan Pilbeam / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This hotel is in a nice location right downtown. It's easy to find and easy to get around to other attractions from there. The view from our room was beautiful, nice large hills and the river. We were able to walk to the beach at night and just lay on the grass in the shade. We also walked to several nice restaurants in the downtown core, like Frick and Frack, a coffee place right next door with an outdoor patio, and an Irish pub a couple blocks down.

The room was comfortable and had a mini fridge. The only issue we had, and we mentioned it twice, was the water pressure in the showerhead. We were told maybe it needed to be fixed or cleaned but then we were told nothing was wrong with it. My husband believes it's just a regulator. Let me tell you, it took FOREVER to shower and even feell like we were getting wet. As my husband said, "by the time it reaches anywhere below my waist it's evaporated!" haha Very inconvenient. Eventually, he would pass me the ice bucket filled with tap water just so I could rinse my hair.

We booked this room on a travel site so we got a great deal, much better than people checking in at the same time as us. Maybe it wouldn't be that great of a price normally. I really wish the parking wasn't so expensive, considering we are already paying for the room and the parking is controlled with our hotel key.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HatRez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2011

Dear HatRez,

Thanks for sharing your review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay ! I was disappointed to learn of the challenges you had with the shower, I apologize that we were not able to rectify this appropriately during your stay. Our Room Attendants check these things after each stay, but unfortunately- much like a light bulb- there is no warning when parts break. That said - no excuse, it appears our Maintenance Technician was not able to rectify this appropriately. As for parking, we do not bury our parking charges in a higher rate as some other hotels choose to. It becomes a pay per use item, and we know that $10/day is well below an industry norm. On the upside, we are the only hotel in Kamloops to have gated/key accessible/ heated underground parking. It is a great ammenity for the very cold winter days, as well as keeping your car out of the sun when it is 34'C (like today).

We look forward to seeing you back again in the future !

Regards

Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

The hotel is placed in middle of this very spread out city. Good shopping possibilties, while lose to many shops. 10 min walk to the banks of the rivers, and the nice park there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Dear Helle P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. You are correct, our central location is a great advantage to be within the middle of so many of Kamloops' shops, restaurants, night life and the very popular Riverside Park. I hope you enjoyed your time in Canada !

Best Regards,

Bryan Pilbeam/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kamloops
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 540? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 540

Address: 540 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range: £68 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 540 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 540 is Kamloops' premier downtown hotel. This modern property has undergone a thorough $12m modernization and is now often referred to as "Kamloops' Best Address". Hotel 540 offers all the comforts and conveniences of a luxury hotel at an affordable price. Conveniently located downtown within walking distance of shops, offices, and art galleries, the hotel is also a short drive away from Thompson Rivers University, tournament venues and golf courses. The award-winning Sun Peaks Resort is 60 minutes from the hotel.If you are planing a special event, we offer exceptional, state of the art banquet facilities with all the amenities and services necessary to a memorable event or meeting. With accommodations to suit all needs, our blue. Dinning + Lounge, year round rooftop pool and hot tub , 24hr fitness room and our New Mountview Terrace, find out why the Hotel 540 truly is Kamloops' Best Address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel 540 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing