We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Review from a Business Traveller”
Review of Hotel 540

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel 540
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kelowna
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Review from a Business Traveller”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

When you travel for work, there is nothing better than being able to relax after a long day and not have worry about details. My new address in Kamkloops is the Hotel 540, the service is fantastic and consistent! Reservations are always completed accuratley, and confirmed via email (a smartphone's best friend). The Club Floor is great for a travelling worker as it includes everything you need - Food, Parking & Business amenities. When you're not in town for work, downtown Kamloops has it all - and it's just steps away from catching a Blazers game.

Room Tip: Always take the Club Floor - Best Value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Catherine C,

Wow - you nailed it ! Thanks for taking the time to share. Great tips - and you are right, best value is in our best rooms on the club floor ! We look forward to welcoming you again - as a regular traveler you will want to be sure to be signed up for our PERKS program, where you get special amenities and recognition benefits every stay. Not to mention 500 AEROPLAN points on most rates !

See you soon

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    535
    188
    45
    21
See reviews for
332
505
69
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Stayed twice at the Hotel 540 on Victoria St in downtown Kamloops after some research.
Chose this location as there are great cafe's within walking distance and a few stores (grocery and London Drugs) and quite being away from the Hwy where most of the other hotels seem to be located.
Chose the larger room "suite" with King bed and lounge chairs for the extra elbow room. Also requested a quite room as our stay was due to post surgery.
The $10. off dinner voucher and 2 person complimentary breakfast (anything off the menu plus a drink of your choice) as well as underground parking (they also have nearby outside parking if your vehicle is too tall to fit underground) evened out the price compared to the other hotel prices.
Having the option not having to drive somewhere to eat was awesome especially when one is recovering from hospitalization. The menu is decent, enough variety for everyone. Try the Chocolate torte for desert...you will want to go back just for this!

The room was tidy, clean and quite; the bed and chairs comfy.
I would highly recommend this one.

Room Tip: The suite with sitting area is very comfy for more than one person
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear adkuprel,

Thanks very much for taking the time to share of your experience- great tips ! Our new Chef Mitch Shafer has a tremendous reputation in town - and if you loved the food this time, just wait for our new restaurant to open in mid April - WOW ! And you're right, if you want to try something else, so many other options just outside the door. See you soon !

Kind Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2013

On arrival I found my room to close to the elevator. I went to the front desk and the person at the desk went out of her way to find me a different room and in the end upgraded me to a better room on another floor. Also everyone else at the hotel was very friendly and there with a big smile all the time. Great service.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear MikeB,

Thanks very much for taking the time to write your review. I was pleased to see that our Front Desk team was able to find a room you were pleased with and meet all expectations. We have noted your room preference on your guest profile for next time !

Kind Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Revelstoke, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Over the years, I have stayed at this property and most others in the downtown area many times. The Hotel 540 is now clearly the leader for a stay in the heart of the city if you want to be within easy walking distance to all sorts of shops, restaurants, and pubs, as well as parks, entertainment, and cultural activities.

This was my third stay since the major renovations and rebranding got under way, and that appears to be just about complete. The rooms have all been quiet and well appointed, and always clean. Staff at every level throughout the property were friendly and accommodating. The Hotel 540 was a calm oasis for us after arriving in a snowstorm.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear KenT,

Thanks very much for sharing your feedback. I was so pleased at how you have noticed and appreciated our progress in the past couple years. So many exciting changes have happened and more underway ! Our new rooftop pool and terrace area, combined with a new fitness centre in June ! We have just purchased state of the art equipment for industry leading LIFEFITNESS that will make our new fitness centre second to none ! Floor to ceiling windows facing the mountains, plug in your ipod for programming and away you go !

Kind Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed at Hotel 540 over the Christmas holidays. This was our second stay at this hotel. We found the room to be comfortable and spacious. The service was polite and prompt. Marjorie was very helpful in the booking process! We were able to get an early check-in and extend our stay by a day. Housekeepers were very friendly and greeted us every morning. The downtown location is ideal for visiting local restaurants and shops. The hotel is also walking distance from the local hockey arena! Since the last time we were there, they have added a valet service at the front door. We are eagerly awaiting the new addition of the pool and hot tub!

Room Tip: Club floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank so_cn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear so_cn,

Thanks very much for taking the time to share your experience ! I was so pleased to read how much you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, You specifically mentioned Marj, and yes she has been providing great service here since 1989 ! one of Kamloops' most recognizable faces !

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed here on a one night stop over in Kamloops. So I only have one nights experince of this hotel to comment on.

So lets start with the positives, it has underground parking (although not immediately obvious)which was good. Reception is bright and airy. The rooms were well appointed and did not disappoint.

The Ok's - Breakfast.

The negatives (bearing in mind we were only there for 1 night). The NOISE! I don't know what was going on the night we stayed there but there must have been multiple room parties going on on our floor and the one above. If people weren't shouting and screaming and running up and down our corrider they were doing it on the floor above! I made numerous attempts to call the front desk but got not answer (I found out in the morning that they were dealing with complaints from other guests most of the night).

The smell of Cannabis was everywhere, be it in the lift of whilst walking along the corriders. Some people may not be familiar with the smell but I am and it wasn't pleasant and not something I wanted to experience in a hotel where I was staying with my family.

So to sum up, the hotel was ok, I didn't have that much of a problem with it. It was more the people/guests that it attracted (on the night I was staying there) which I have the biggest problem with.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fwaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear Fwaig,

Thank you for very much for taking the time to share your experience. In looking in to this further- we have determined that you had stayed back in August. In matching up your feedback to an evening we had then. I am very sorry of the impact some of these guests caused you. While I was pleased you enjoyed the hotel - I can assure you that this was very much an exception to the rule here. While we are upscale and enjoy a great location, we normally do not attract a party crowd. Our team is very well adept at avoiding this sort of situation for our newly renovated hotel. That said, things do happen in all hotels and we work swiftly to correct them if they do. I would ask that when you return to the area, please contact me directly to make your arrangements personally.. As mentioned, this is definitely not the norm with our other guests, and given the opportunity I am sure we can regain your faith in our services.


Kind Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Hotel 540 is a great hotel. This is our second year staying at this hotel. It is in a great location and if you wanna have a little fun go to the casino. The staff was great, the rooms are clean, it is just all around great. And when the pool is complete, even better. Nice to have under ground parking. Because it was a company party, they put us in a bigger room. That was great. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Stay in the honeymoon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear AlanaK,

Thank you very much for choosing the Hotel 540 and for your fantastic review. I was so pleased to see we scored perfectly for your stay and you were able to enjoy one of our great suites. We look forward to hosting you again next year !

Kind Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 540? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 540

Property: Hotel 540
Address: 540 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 540 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 540 is Kamloops' premier downtown hotel. This modern property has undergone a thorough $12m modernization and is now often referred to as "Kamloops' Best Address". Hotel 540 offers all the comforts and conveniences of a luxury hotel at an affordable price. Conveniently located downtown within walking distance of shops, offices, and art galleries, the hotel is also a short drive away from Thompson Rivers University, tournament venues and golf courses. The award-winning Sun Peaks Resort is 60 minutes from the hotel.If you are planing a special event, we offer exceptional, state of the art banquet facilities with all the amenities and services necessary to a memorable event or meeting. With accommodations to suit all needs, our blue. Dinning + Lounge, year round rooftop pool and hot tub , 24hr fitness room and our New Mountview Terrace, find out why the Hotel 540 truly is Kamloops' Best Address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 540 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing