We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great staff”
Review of Hotel 540

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 540
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“great staff”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

we only experienced the room here.
we were on a rocky mountaineer trip which got delayed, so we didnt get in til 10 pm
we were greeted by lovely cheerful helpful staff, who all turned out out wave us off the next morning.
the room was tired, clean and comfortable, but nothing like as big or well furnished as the pictures on the web site.
at premium rates paid for gold service rocky mountaineer, we were short changed a bit here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oxontraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    507
    177
    44
    20
See reviews for
310
471
68
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,019 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

A run of the mill hotel in the centre of Kamloops that we visited for two nights. Our room was comfortable with two comfortable double beds. The room contained a kettle as well as a coffee machine - ideal for those who prefer tea to coffee. The room overlooked the main road but we heardno road noise, however, the in room air conditioning was very loud. In addition, at the time we were staying (June 2013) there was construction work on the hotel but this did not impact us at all - even though some of the work was being undertaken outside our room.
On the downside, this hotel seems to be heavily used by bus and rail tours and on the two days we were there tours departed at around 7:00 am. This did disturb our sleep as from around 6:00 am on both days we were awoken by a variety of noises - hairdryers, waterflow from showers/toilets, opening/closing/banging doors, people talking in the corridor. Our sleep quality was good during the early part of the night but early morning disturbances spoiled this (we would have scored Sleep Quality as 4 but reduced to 3 because of the early morning disturbances).
Due to the disturbed sleep in early morning we would NOT recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We were told by our APT Tour Guide, that the Rocky Mountaineer arranged our accommodation in Kamloops, so we thought ok, we have stayed in the best hotels this one may not be as good. Well we were certainly surprised, this place was great. The staff met us with a nice cool drink after our long trip, and were very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and very comfortable. After a shower we headed down to the restaurant for a meal . It was delicious, the service excellent. We had a walk around town, lots of things to see and do. When we exited the next morning the staff lined up to say thank you and goodbye. Well done and thanks to the staff at Hotel 540!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed at Hotel 540 on May 6 & 7th and the staff were very pleasant, smiled, professional and helpful. The rooms were very clean and spacious and the beds were comfortable. The restaurant staff and food was very good also. We were quite impressed with the city of Kamloops and how clean the streets were too. I would stay there again for sure. We also liked the joining Casino too. We actually won a lot of money there. A trip I will never forget. The hotel staff made you feel welcomed and that is why I would recommend this hotel to anyone needing a good hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms are very spacious and very quiet in the halls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed here in June as a stopover on our Rocky Mountaineer train journey. We found the location excellent as it right in the centre of town. The welcome was warm and friendly with a complimentary drink on arrival. The room whilst not luxurious had everything we needed including air conditioning. The bed was large and comfortable. The only slight criticism was the noise from the corridor but this did not detract from our stay. Kamloops itself was pleasant in the early evening sunshine and has numerous bars and places to eat. We headed for "The Noble Pig" to sample some of its own beer and had an enjoyable evening sat at the bar chatting to locals.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watty68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Every staff member at the hotel was friendly, professional, and helpful. The suite was large, comfortable and quiet, and the restaurant (blue) meals were delicious. The hotel is right across the street from a movie theatre and within walking distance of dozens of interesting stores. We celebrated our anniversary and had a very relaxing getaway. We will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are likely to be more insulated from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We travelled Goldleaf on the Rocky Mountaineer with an overnight stop at this hotel in Kamloops. The hotel was chosen by the RM company and is supposed to be five star. Yes, it does have a central location but Kamloops is one of those places you only want to stop in for one night. Our room overlooked what appeared to be a sex shop. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean and the service friendly which I suppose is all you really need for an in-transit stop over, and I did hear from other passengers in other hotels that we were lucky to be staying there. However it had the air of a functional business hotel and didn't really feel five star.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whereami021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 540? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 540

Property: Hotel 540
Address: 540 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Family Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 540 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 540 is Kamloops' premier downtown hotel. This modern property has undergone a thorough $12m modernization and is now often referred to as "Kamloops' Best Address". Hotel 540 offers all the comforts and conveniences of a luxury hotel at an affordable price. Conveniently located downtown within walking distance of shops, offices, and art galleries, the hotel is also a short drive away from Thompson Rivers University, tournament venues and golf courses. The award-winning Sun Peaks Resort is 60 minutes from the hotel.If you are planing a special event, we offer exceptional, state of the art banquet facilities with all the amenities and services necessary to a memorable event or meeting. With accommodations to suit all needs, our blue. Dinning + Lounge, year round rooftop pool and hot tub , 24hr fitness room and our New Mountview Terrace, find out why the Hotel 540 truly is Kamloops' Best Address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 540 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing