We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean but not quite”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel 540

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 540
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Clean but not quite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

First impressions are good, updated and clean in the lobby area. Rooms are also clean and updated. Our only complaint was the noise from the hallway. We could hear people walking by and talking during the night. Also, in our room at least, there was no tub just a large shower stall.

Other than that, bed was comfortable, pool and deck area looked nice and all the staff we dealt with were friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    498
    177
    43
    20
See reviews for
306
462
67
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

A good clean room in Kamloops. Was very hot in Kamloops, so, on check-in, we had a nap with lovely aircon. Room is average multistorey hotel style. Room well equipped, nothing special. Handy location. Seems popular with tour companies. Ate at one of many restaurants nearby.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beawarthog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
113 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our stopover in Kamloops whilst travelling on the Rocky Mountaineer from Jasper to Vancouver in August 2013.
Kamloops is a fairly small place and arriving late / leaving early, we did not have the need to use the hotel restaurant. We used the bar and had drinks, the waitress was very pleasant.
We also walked into town and took in a concert in the park. An English guy and lead guitarist fronting quite a good group.
We also found the SCOOPZ ice cream shop and indulged in some very good fare, all we needed after eating all day on the train.
The hotel was clean and comfortable, and we had a good nights rest.
I would recommend it if you are looking for a hotel in Kamloops.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmwman995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VANCOUVER
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times but they have now made more improvements . They have added an exercise room and a pool and a banquet room on the 2nd floor. I went and tried out the excersise room and it is excellent. Nice and big and roomy with lots of equipement. Looked into the pool and sauna and will try that next trip. Excersie room is open 24 hrs. Staff at the hotel is always friendly and rooms always clean and confortable. Restraurant has good food with ample to eat. Will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Front view is of Victoria Street and back is of London Drugs. Both are quiet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The hotel was nice and clean and the restaurant staff was fabulous however there was a power outage in the evening. There was no follow up from the staff as to what the problem was. We just had no power and no AC and no phone service and were just literally left in the dark about the "problem". Power came on at about 2 a.m. when all the lights, TV and AC started waking us in an already uncomfortable night. We didn't know if we left our room, could we get back in?? I expected a note under the door in the a.m. but nothing. The desk say it was a B.C. Hydro issue, but I paid for AC, and TV. They didn't seem to care. For that I give a poor rating....customer service. Couldn't control the issue, but sure could have communicated a lot better.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita542013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed three nights in this hotel. It is an older hotel TOTALLY RENOED. The air in the hotel is fabulous - everything was clean and well taken care of. The pool area is lovely. The hotel is central. The restaurant is very very good especially for breakfast ---BUT SERVICE IS SLOW SO BE WARNED. Staff are lovely in the hotel and in the restaurant. Hotel is well located. All in all good value for a nice place.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and request the fifth floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This was an overnighter for me and it was so noisy that I barely slept. The walls are thin, the room is hot and the smell is iffy. It made my onward journey a bit of a nightmare.

On the plus side the food wa absoluetly amazing, i tried some amazing beers and the staff were mostly good.

Need to up your game to succeed and get some decent soundproofing in

Room Tip: The best room would be one in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 540? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 540

Property: Hotel 540
Address: 540 Victoria Street, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 540 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 540 is Kamloops' premier downtown hotel. This modern property has undergone a thorough $12m modernization and is now often referred to as "Kamloops' Best Address". Hotel 540 offers all the comforts and conveniences of a luxury hotel at an affordable price. Conveniently located downtown within walking distance of shops, offices, and art galleries, the hotel is also a short drive away from Thompson Rivers University, tournament venues and golf courses. The award-winning Sun Peaks Resort is 60 minutes from the hotel.If you are planing a special event, we offer exceptional, state of the art banquet facilities with all the amenities and services necessary to a memorable event or meeting. With accommodations to suit all needs, our blue. Dinning + Lounge, year round rooftop pool and hot tub , 24hr fitness room and our New Mountview Terrace, find out why the Hotel 540 truly is Kamloops' Best Address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 540 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing