We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”
Review of Hotel 540

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 540
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I was in town for business for three days and this hotel was recommended to me by my collegues. The value for the price was excellent and the service by the staff, front desk, restaurant & housekeeping was great. I love the fact at how green the hotel was.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540, Public Relations Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Gil,
Thank you for sharing such great feedback on TripAdvisor! I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Sustainable practices are fully integrated in all our operations and the Hotel540 is the only 5 Green Key Property in Kamloops.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Best Regards
Alexandre Ananou
Manager of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    506
    177
    44
    20
See reviews for
310
468
68
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a getaway within the city limits and what a surprisingly good experience. With no expectations in place, we were fully won over by the Vegas level pool area (licensed, music, winter heated). Blue is actually damn decent resto with relatively high level cuisine. Don't shy away due to location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warmerclimbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Warmerclimbs,
I am thrilled to read such great feedback, thank you sharing it with other travelers!
The pool area is indeed a licensed venue, where our Guests can enjoy a cool drink whilst sitting in our outdoor Roof-Top Jacuzzi. I will forward your comments about Blue to the Restaurant Manager, feel free to write a review on their TripAdvisor page too: Blue Dining and Lounge.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best Regards
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed two nights on the way to and from skiing.
Considering the price the hotel is good value.
Plus for good service in the reception and the gym/pool area.
Minus for rather small room the second night and slow service and high prices at breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Jan,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed our Guest Service and new Terrace area with its brand new Pool, Jacuzzi and Gym.
My apologies if you feel the Breakfast service was slow, I will be discussing your comments with our Restaurant Manager. We look forward to accommodating you again for your next ski adventure!
Best Regards
Alexandre Ananou
Manager of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This hotel is a credit to it's City. We experienced superb service from all who are employed there. Front desk staff and valets went out of their way to make my birthday a very happy one. Room service was quick and efficient, morning coupon breakfast was wonderful, valet parking underground excellent, and our room was made up beautifully everyday.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Charlene,
Happy belated birthday!
Our Employees are the bloodline of our organisation, and I am pleased to see that our Team was able to make you feel comfortable and happy on such a special occasion.
We hope to see you again before your Birthday next year!
Best Regards
Alexandre Ananou
Manager of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Our experience with Hotel 540 was great! Staff were very friendly and courteous. The room was very clean and was everything we asked for. We would definitely stay here again! They have underground parking so our car was safe and warm! The free breakfast was great as well because it was a real breakfast not continental.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyGar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear BobbyGar,
Great to hear such feedback, thank you for taking the time to write a review! I see you had the pleasure of trying the Breakfast from Blue. You will be pleased to hear that on weekends our restaurant is now serving Breakfast until 2pm! Saturday and Sunday are BrunchTime.Try our outdoor pool or Fitness Center in the morning, before heading down for hearty & healthy Breakfast Options.
We love having you as a Guest and look forward to accommodating you again.
Best Regards
Alexandre Ananou
Manager of Guest Experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This was our 3rd trip to Kamloops but our first stay at Hotel 540, we will definitely be staying here for our future trips to watch our son play for the Blazers! Great location, walking distance to the rink, shopping and restaurants. Service was amazing, very pleasant employees.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Club Suite...overlooking the river...nice & sunny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Linda,
Thank you for reviewing our Hotel on Tripadvisor, and thank you for sharing such positive feedback! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward on welcoming you back for your son's next game.
Best Regards
Alexandre Ananou
Manager of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon Arm, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I have stayed at the Hotel 540 on three occasions. The location of the hotel was the reason for selecting it on my first stay. I booked again the following year as my first visit was pleasant and again the location was perfect. My third stay is what made me take the time to write this review. My husband had to have day surgery at the Hospital (only a few minutes drive from the hotel) -- so again -- location was great. The staff at this hotel are absolutely wonderful! I asked for a couple of extra pillows for my husband (He had to keep his upper body elevated after his surgery) and they gave me 4 nice big puffy pillows. I asked if I could get a cot in the room as I was concerned I about bumping him while I slept -- they offered me two choices: a room change from a king bed to two queen beds or a cot in the room. I chose the cot which was then promptly delivered to the room. No extra charge for the cot (usually a $20.00 fee). I asked for an extra blanket -- no problem -- we can bring that up for you right away. Check out time is at 11:00 am, my husband has to see the surgeon at 2:00 pm. So again I go down to the front desk and this time I ask if it is at all possible to get a later check out time -- I asked for a couple of hours and they said we could have the room till 4:00 pm! Never once did they make me feel like a bother for asking for so many things.
The food in the restaurant was delicious and the service good.
I Love the gym! (large assortment of new work out equipment, clean, bright, -- even had a bowl of complementary fresh apples)
The facility itself is very nice and clean, but it's the staff that will make your stay exceptional.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Heather,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review, I am very pleased to hear such great feedback! Our Staff is what makes the difference indeed, and we are proud to have exceptional team players who will go out of their way to make Guests feel comfortable.
Thank you for recommending us to other people; we look forward to accommodating you again in the future.
Warm Regards
Alexandre Ananou
Manager of Guest Experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 540? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 540

Property: Hotel 540
Address: 540 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Family Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 540 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 540 is Kamloops' premier downtown hotel. This modern property has undergone a thorough $12m modernization and is now often referred to as "Kamloops' Best Address". Hotel 540 offers all the comforts and conveniences of a luxury hotel at an affordable price. Conveniently located downtown within walking distance of shops, offices, and art galleries, the hotel is also a short drive away from Thompson Rivers University, tournament venues and golf courses. The award-winning Sun Peaks Resort is 60 minutes from the hotel.If you are planing a special event, we offer exceptional, state of the art banquet facilities with all the amenities and services necessary to a memorable event or meeting. With accommodations to suit all needs, our blue. Dinning + Lounge, year round rooftop pool and hot tub , 24hr fitness room and our New Mountview Terrace, find out why the Hotel 540 truly is Kamloops' Best Address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 540 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing