We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 3 Plus Worth Rounding to a 4”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel 540

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 540
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
232 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“A 3 Plus Worth Rounding to a 4”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Good service, a welcoming staff and recent renovations make this hotel a good option when visiting Kamloops. It is well-located and there are several eating options a short walk away if you don't want to eat here, although their restaurant looks like a fine choice. Expect standard room features, but you'll sleep comfortably.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galooba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Galooba,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hotel540, we appreciate your feedback! We are indeed located right in downtown Kamloops, a stone's throw away from a range of great restaurants. We also offer great casual dining in-house with our Blue Restaurant, located on the lobby floor.
Looking forward to accommodating you again in the future ,
Best Regards
Alexandre Ananou
Manager of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    498
    177
    43
    20
See reviews for
306
462
67
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upminster
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night at this hotel as part of our Rocky Mountaineer trip. It was described as "moderate" in the information sent to us in advance of our trip. How wrong that was in our resulting experience. The welcome by the staff could not have been better, and our room was both comfortable and well appointed for our one night stay. We had prepaid Rocky Mountaineer for evening meals at the hotels in which we were to stay, but it was a delightful surprise on this occasion when we went down to the modern bar/restaurant to find a table set out for us and a personalised menu printed with our names at the top. The meal was good; the steak that I had was first-rate. The hotel is conveniently situated in Kamloops for a pre-dinner stroll out. We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel and the lovely welcome and service that we received from all the staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hyking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Hyking,
Many Thanks for sharing such great review on Trip Advisor! I am thrilled to see that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff is the bloodline of our organisation and it's great to hear that our Team made you feel comfortable and welcomed.
I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future.
Best Regards
Alexandre Ananou
Manager of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

From the Rocky Mountaineer we were taken to the Hotel Five Forty where we were met by the GM who escorted us in to meet the front desk staff. Everyone was so gracious. They knew we were celebrating our anniversary and had upgraded our room to a beautiful king suite. We had a delicious dinner at the hotel's restaurant, Blue. We only wished that we had had more time to spend exploring this lovely town in the high desert of BC. Upon our departure the next morning, the GM met us in the lobby and inquired about our stay at the hotel. We assured him that everything and everyone had made our short stay just perfect. Thank you for everything. We will be back on our next sojourn from Vancouver to the Canadian Rockies--by car!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yngvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Yngvie,
Wow! Thank you for sharing such great feedback on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your Rocky Mountaineer Trip and your stay at the 540. It was very nice meeting you and we look forward welcoming you again on your Rocky Adventure!
Warm Regards
Alexandre Ananou
Manager of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Hotel is in a great location and staff were very friendly Very attentive helping us with our luggage and parking. The room was very small as was the bathroom. Sink let out the water ( very annoying). On getting into bed that evening I noticed marks (or tears in the sheet - difficult to tell) so took the sheet off my bed - in my opinion housekeeping should not have put it on the bed in the first place. Noisy early in the morning as so many guests were staying for one night with early starts on the Rocky Mountaineer train tour. We did not eat in the hotel. If we were passing through Kamloops again I think we would look at other properties to stay in.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TartanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Tartan,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Guest feedback - including your comments - allow us to continuously improve our Service. While I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed our hospitality, great service and staff, I am sorry that the room did not live up to your expectations. You will be pleased to hear that we do offer a range of different rooms, from cosy and comfortable Standard Rooms to spacious Suites.We do indeed welcome a number of Rocky Mountaineer Guests, departing early in the morning, and it is our responsibility to keep you away from the noise.
I would love to welcome you again at the 540, and I hope you will give us another chance in the future. Feel free to contact me directly if you have any further comments or suggestions.
We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you again.
Sincerely.
Alexandre Ananou
Manager of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel was awesome. Drive up and a valet greets you instantaneously. Hotel Lobby is lovely, restaurant on site had great food. Rooms were clean and the staff friendly. The only thing left wanting was the Free WiFi. Would have preferred if the manager released some throttle..too slow to load!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheKelownaAlbrechts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Nicole,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel540 on Trip Advisor. Glad to see you enjoyed our Valet Service. You will be very pleased to hear that we have a number of rooms with a Hard-Wire Internet connection, allowing for even faster Wi-Fi.
We look forward to your next visit Nicole.
Best Regards
Alexandre Ananou
Manager of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This newly refurbished hotel on the main street in Kamloops offers great, personal service. There are a variety of restaurants in the area, for all tastes and budgets. Access is easy from the Trans Canada Highway. Staff is great

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenskiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Benski,
Great to hear such feedback, thank you for sharing it with other Trip Advisor users! We pride ourselves on having the best Customer Service Team in town and I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our service & hospitality.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kindest Regards
Alexandre Ananou
Manager of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Staff is very friendly and the room was clean and very nice. I didn't try the restaurant downstairs as its a bit out of my price range but it does get very good reviews and looked nice inside. The bartender was helpful and made a good drink. Wifi is free! The location is pretty good - there is a good restaurant near by called the Noble Pig as well as a strip mall and casino.

The pool is really fantastic - it is roof top and actually rather warm with a great view. There are little fountains at the side spraying in warm water. The hot tub is also very nice and set at a good temperature.

I found my room a bit noisy and there was no bathroom fan which was a little strange as it would fog up when I showered. The sink water pressure was also a bit strange.

There was a good supply of towels and other toiletries which was nice as well as a real hair dryer. The shower was also really nice.

If you are driving please be aware that you will need to pay for parking at 10$ a day.

Room Tip: This is common sense really, but not near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skywolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Skywolfe
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all the feedback. The Pool is indeed one the hotel's greatest amenities, and I am very pleased to see you enjoyed it along with our staff & service. All our rooms are equipped with bathroom fans; my sincere apologies if it was not working properly.
We look forward to accommodating you again in the future.
Best Regards
Alexandre Ananou
Manager of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 540? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 540

Property: Hotel 540
Address: 540 Victoria Street, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 540 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 540 is Kamloops' premier downtown hotel. This modern property has undergone a thorough $12m modernization and is now often referred to as "Kamloops' Best Address". Hotel 540 offers all the comforts and conveniences of a luxury hotel at an affordable price. Conveniently located downtown within walking distance of shops, offices, and art galleries, the hotel is also a short drive away from Thompson Rivers University, tournament venues and golf courses. The award-winning Sun Peaks Resort is 60 minutes from the hotel.If you are planing a special event, we offer exceptional, state of the art banquet facilities with all the amenities and services necessary to a memorable event or meeting. With accommodations to suit all needs, our blue. Dinning + Lounge, year round rooftop pool and hot tub , 24hr fitness room and our New Mountview Terrace, find out why the Hotel 540 truly is Kamloops' Best Address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 540 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing