We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Overnight Stay”
Review of Hotel 540

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 540
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Overnight Stay”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was our overnight stop off while travelling on The Rocky Mountaineer, the room was of a reasonable standard with King bed but small bathroom which required up dating. It is centrally located close to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoham69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Geoham,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I hope you enjoyed your Rocky Mountaineer Adventure, and I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and the Hotel's location. You will be pleased to hear that while 80% of our bathrooms have just recently been renovated, we will have the remaining rooms updated before the end of the year!
Wishing you a safe trip back home Geoham, I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future.
Best Regards
Alexandre Ananou
Manager of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    536
    188
    45
    21
See reviews for
334
506
69
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Really enjoyed my stay at Hotel 540, I hadn't even heard of the place until our tour director told us we were staying there. Rooms were very roomy and very clean, comfortable beds made for a restful night. It's right downtown which provides easy access to many shops and restaurants. What really impressed me was how the hotel staff went above and beyond the call of duty. When we didn't receive our bags in Kamloops the night arrived there, not only did they assist in tracking down our bags and helping us get them, but they also provided amenity kits for all 15 people in our tour group to help us get through the night and even delivered them personally to our rooms. I have never seen a hotel do that before, I was super impressed by that. They ensured we had a comfortable night despite not having our bags. They had staff come in very early the next morning to help unload our bags when they arrived and even brought them up when we called to see if they had arrived. I would highly recommend this hotel while staying in Kamloops. They nailed everything right from the great clean rooms to the awesome staff who go above and beyond to ensure you have a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Tswift0013,
Many thanks for sharing such great feedback on Trip Advisor! I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Hospitality & Service. It is our responsibility to assist you in any way we can, and it's great to see we were able to go above and beyond for you. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your journey, we look forward to accommodating you again in the future!
Best Regards
Alexandre Ananou
Manager of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the 540 hotel. The service was wonderful the staff went out of there way to help me. The remote for the tv was not working I went to the front desk and told them, they sent a staff member straight up and replaced the batteries. The room was so big and clean it was just like I was at home. The breakfasts that we had we wonderful the portions are huge the staff always were there to fill our coffee. The location of the 540 hotel is great everything you want is just a few blocks away and the casino is next door. I will always stay at the 540 I've stayed there 4 times so far and will return for another wonderful stay. Thank-you 540 for everything.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear William,
Many Thanks for sharing your review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate all the great feedback. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff, location and hospitality. Breakfast at Blue is indeed an experience on its own...we pride ourselves on having Kamloop's best Breakfast, and it's great to see you enjoyed it! We look forward to welcoming you again William,
Best Regards
Alexandre Ananou, Manager of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Put a bunch of Guiders in a hotel for a conference and they will have a good time. Good beds, bathroom could have done with a towel rack to hang towels, food at the conference was good which was supplied by the hotel. Parking cost $10 per night. Very friendly staff. Centrally located for easy walking in downtown Kamloops, Nice walk to their park on the river.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CndnGuider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear CndnGuider,
Thanks for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our conference facilities and friendly staff. Some of our bathrooms have just recently been renovated, which is why a handful of them still do not have a towel rack - I apologies for the inconvenience. It was a pleasure being your host and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Best Regards
Alexandre Ananou, Manager of Guest Experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

A clean, bright hotel with comfortable rooms in a great location right in downtown Kamloops - close to restaurants, parks, & shopping. Friendly service and ample parking, and no extra charges for wifi or parking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Cheryl,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your feedback. Glad to hear you enjoyed our great downtown location and hospitality. We look forward to accommodating you again in the future Cheryl.
Very Best
Alexandre Ananou, Manager of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Arrived at hotel on June 2nd. Wife and I went for a walk to find a restaurant and ended up back at hotel. We passed a good number of our fellow travellers from the Rocky Mountaineer eating at places we passed who were also staying at the 540. Well they missed out on a treat. The food in the blue restaurant was excellent. We were lucky enough to meet Mitch the head chef and we were able to personally pass on our congratulations to him and his team for a wonderful mouth watering experience. So if you are in Kamloops, give the blue restaurant a try, I can recommend the ribs and my wife thoroughly enjoyed the fish. Thanks again Mitch.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear George,
Many Thanks for the great review, and thank you for sharing it on Trip-Advisor! I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed our restaurant, and I will make sure to pass on your comments to the Team. Feel free to comment on the Blue. Trip Advisor page if you have a moment.
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your Rocky Mountaineer adventure and we look forward to accommodating you again one day!
Best Regards
Alexandre Ananou, Manager of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here as part of a Cosmos tour and was pleasantly surprised by the hotel. It looks dated from the outside but the rooms are well appointed and comfortable. It is located in town walking distance to everything. The pool area is fantastic with plenty of areas to sit. This hotel has the best staff in Canada! The staff are very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend the 540.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLC146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear CLC146,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with other travelers. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality as we pride ourselves on having Kamloops' Best Guest Service Team. We would love to welcome you again in the future.
Warm Regards
Alexandre Ananou
Manager of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kamloops
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 540? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 540

Property: Hotel 540
Address: 540 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 540 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 540 is Kamloops' premier downtown hotel. This modern property has undergone a thorough $12m modernization and is now often referred to as "Kamloops' Best Address". Hotel 540 offers all the comforts and conveniences of a luxury hotel at an affordable price. Conveniently located downtown within walking distance of shops, offices, and art galleries, the hotel is also a short drive away from Thompson Rivers University, tournament venues and golf courses. The award-winning Sun Peaks Resort is 60 minutes from the hotel.If you are planing a special event, we offer exceptional, state of the art banquet facilities with all the amenities and services necessary to a memorable event or meeting. With accommodations to suit all needs, our blue. Dinning + Lounge, year round rooftop pool and hot tub , 24hr fitness room and our New Mountview Terrace, find out why the Hotel 540 truly is Kamloops' Best Address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 540 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing