We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel 540

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 540
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Love the hotel, great dinner, great room, Great Front Desk Staff. The appearance on the outside of the hotel doesn't do the hotel justice. Beautiful rooms, minus the casino noisy at night. I would come back based on the the service and the rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2010

Dear Victoria54,

Thanks very much for taking the time to share your feedback. As part of our current renovation we do have some scaffolding on the rooms (note these rooms are taken out of service and closed off on the hallways) on the outside of the hotel. While it is admittedly unsightly, it does not and obviously did not affect your experience ! Glad you hear you enjoyed the room, hotel and great service from our team. We have and continue to work hard to make sure each guest experience exceeds their expecations.

Best Regards,

Bryan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,559 - 1,565 of 1,595 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2010

Reasonable sized rooms with the usual facilities.

On site restaurant had a few problems. Very slow breakfast service. We were lucky as we were one of the first guests to arrive for breakfast at 6:30 am and had to leave the hotel at 7:30 am. Many of our fellow guests left before their meals had arrived, as they were also on a a tight schedule.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakey10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2010

Dear Jakey10,

Thanks for taking the time to share of your experience. We are in the process of sharing and reviewing our procedures with our restaurant service team. Sometimes there are "rushes" which unfortunately slows down service- certainly not an excuse, but rather a condition of the business we are in and we will use your feedback to improve. I apologize for the inconvenience you were caused, but glad to see this did not affect your schedule. We are working on "reasonable" to be "fantastic". Hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards

Bryan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

The hotel itself was good, however the street outside became a local drag strip after 10pm - not exactly ideal when you're staying with children! The noise carried on until the small hours, when it was accompanied from the sound of people leaving the hotel casino, rather worse for wear! If I had to stay in Kamloops again, I think I would definitely stay out of town! Shame as the hotel was of a good standard and newly renovated.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljmac28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2010

Dear ljmac28,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Having young children myself, I know how precious sleep is (for us and them !) Unfortunately this happens from time to time outside hotels - sometimes downtown, sometimes in suburban areas. My apology for the inconvenience this and the people traffic caused you. The good news is, as part of our current phase of renovation, we are installing new windows and frames (all rooms now have this that are being sold) that are not only energy efficient, but will reduce noise as well ! I am pleased to read you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay and I hope you will give us another try.

Best Regards

Bryan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

When we arrived in Kamloops we were not very optimistic on accomadation. We saw Hotel Five540forty and were a bit doubtful but on entering the hotel we were plesently suprised. The Hotel was spotlessly clean.Room was lovely and had a fantastic sleep! We ate in the bar/resturant the food was really nice it was the nicest we had had on our holiday. The breakfast we got the next morning was really nice also the portions were very substancial it kept us going past lunch time! The staff we encountered were really friendly and willing to assist us what ever way they could!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyDays28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2010

Dear HappyDays28,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased to see you enjoyed the service, room and meals at Hotel 540. As for the outside appearance, you will be pleased to read that we have recently had the outside of the hotel refinished / painted / new signage and are in the final stages of some new windows on our east wing. The lobby was also refinished since you stayed with us. We look forward to seeing you again and again !

Best Regards,

Bryan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

The team at Hotel 540 did a great job looking after our board meeting. I was most impressed with the well executed renovation program at the hotel. The rooms are looking very nice and are comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliedufresne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2010

Dear EllieDufresne,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are very proud of our newly renovated hotel, and are continually working to ensure the service is exceeding expectations as our product does. Glad to hear your meeting went well and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best Regards

Bryan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

On the outside there is still the old name of the hotel, but the rooms are modern and newly renovated. The lobby and the garage are still very shabby and the front desk staff turned out to be very unhelpful and rude. All in all a nice hotel if you stay in your room and avoid the front desk!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aquarius80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

I travelled to Kamloops on business this week, my business was downtown so I chose to stay at Hotel 540 because of its location. When I arrived I could tell right away that the hotel had been recently renovated. I was checked-in right away and informed that I could park for free in the underground, secured lot. My room was awesome. What I expect to find in a larger city, new furniture, new carpets, flat-screen tv's! There was a breakfast restaurant open early enough (630AM) that I was able to enjoy a nice breakfast prior to attending my meeting. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful and the food in the lobby lounge was delicious. I travel to Kamloops quite frequently on business and Hotel 540 will now be my first choice, I'm glad I decided to give them a try!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicsales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Plaza Hotel
#8 of 54 in Kamloops
989 reviews
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 540? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 540

Address: 540 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range: £66 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 540 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 540 is Kamloops' premier downtown hotel. This modern property has undergone a thorough $12m modernization and is now often referred to as "Kamloops' Best Address". Hotel 540 offers all the comforts and conveniences of a luxury hotel at an affordable price. Conveniently located downtown within walking distance of shops, offices, and art galleries, the hotel is also a short drive away from Thompson Rivers University, tournament venues and golf courses. The award-winning Sun Peaks Resort is 60 minutes from the hotel.If you are planing a special event, we offer exceptional, state of the art banquet facilities with all the amenities and services necessary to a memorable event or meeting. With accommodations to suit all needs, our blue. Dinning + Lounge, year round rooftop pool and hot tub , 24hr fitness room and our New Mountview Terrace, find out why the Hotel 540 truly is Kamloops' Best Address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 540 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing