We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over night Stop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
383 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Over night Stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Overnight stop arranged by the Rocky Mountaineer team, was clean and tidy with good comfortable beds. the swimming pool and spa was small but very welcoming after a long train ride. The bags were already in our room and key cards issued on the coach from the station. No hassle and trouble free. the staff were unobtrusive but available. The free wi-fi worked too which was a bonus

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidlowe46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Davidlowe46,

Thank you for your kind review of the Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre! Even though our tour guests are usually here for only one night, we do like to show them how we do it right here at The Thompson! I do hope you will consider spending more time in our lovely city, we would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    310
    118
    25
    5
See reviews for
244
268
25
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Very Friendly Staff, the room was above average - clean and well supplied, fridge, and a strong Wi Fi signal. My wife and I also received a chit for a the best contentinal breakfast of our holiday . Will go back .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nerdherder1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Nerdherder1953,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Thompson! Our team works very hard to ensure that each and every time you visit us, you will experience the fine quality we provide. Thank you very much for your review, we look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

This hotel was average, our room was nice with a King bed. They offer Free internet. We walked down the street for our dinner but nothing much was open and Kamloops is a bit of a one horse town. At breakfast there was just cereal out and we helped ourselves to find they also served us all bacon and eggs ...we ate too much if only they had told us first. It was nice though. Lemon iced water was on tap in the reception which was nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tunn-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Tunn-1,

Thank you for your review of the Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre! I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay overall, but wish you had more time to explore our lovely city. We have many different activities here, that sometimes it is hard to choose! From our nightly Music in the Park (just a short stroll away) to our museums, art galleries, farmers' markets, sporting events, golf (did you know that we have world class courses within minutes?), skiing, restaurants and shops (artisan and mainstream), you will never run out of things to do!
I hope we get a chance to host you again, we would really like to show you our town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

We decided to stay at this hotel on our way from Edmonton to Vancouver. Reviews were decent overall. Stayed in 2 rooms-- my parents in one and my husband, two young children in the other with adjoining rooms. Everything was fine until about 11:30 pm when I was woken up in the first of lost count of the total number. Slamming doors, screaming, fighting, running up and down the hall..ridiculous! I opened the door and it was obvious a party was in full swing. The smell of pot was overpowering..so much for being a smoke free hotel. Called front desk and someone came up...was quiet for an hour but guess the party escalated again. Called front desk again...and again and no answer!!!! Needless to say it went on all night. We were not comfortable going out there to go to the lobby because of a possible confrontation with the very intoxicated hotel "guests". Talked to the front desk person and 5:30 am and was told not much he could do. That I should have left a message and he would have checked them when he had a minute. Also, that he didn't get any other complaints. Of course...the whole floor was in on the party!!! Not a good experience. My own personal revenge: unleashed my 4 & 5 year old boys at 6:30 am and had them practice opening and closing our hotel room doors. They are naturally loud so they delivered:). NOT staying here on our way back home!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaTravel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Canada Travel4,

I am very sorry for your less than optimal experience during your last stay with us. Unfortunately, our Guest Services Representative was busy assisting another guest during your second telephone call and was unable to see who was dialling the Desk. We do pride ourselves on being a smoke free hotel, but it is impossible to patrol activity inside our guest rooms. I apologize that you were negatively affected by the actions of a few unruly guests.
I would be happy to offer you a complimentary room should you wish to stay with us again, we would love a chance to show you how we do it right!
Please contact me at the hotel. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

We had a pleasent stay. Frendly stuff. and a good condition rooms. The pub at. The street level was fun. Take few min from highway easy Parking friendly staff,clean room, very good breakfast, comfortable king bed and no balcony, , indoor parking, nice,

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aviluvaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Aviluvaton,

Thank you for reviewing the Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre! We all appreciate your kind words and are so pleased that you enjoy staying with us downtown. So much to do, so much to see, Kamloops is the place to be!
I hope we see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Positives: Friendly staff, and comfortable beds, nice little pool.

The Rest:

The room was saturated with the smell of cheap cologne. (Were they trying to cover the smell of another guest's smoking?!!) It was bad. The windows don't open, so we were trapped in an stinky, overpriced 1970's era hotel dressed up like a tawdry silk purse. They warned us when we checked-in that we wouldn't be able to change rooms as it was fully booked.

They charged $7 for parking, and there were a couple of bottles of plain water on the bedside table with $2.50 price tags on them. It was laughable considering the 'downtown' resembled something out of a 'B-grade' truckers movie.

We thought the 'complimentary breakfast' included with the room might make up for the price. However, it's a barely-okay self-served yoghurt cups, cereal, make-it-your self toast and cubed watermelon - as minimal as possible - in a low, dark 70's style 'lounge'. Give me a break! Just give us the room at a reasonable price and we'll find a decent place to eat on our own!

I don't mean to sound so negative, but we'd never ever consider going back, nor would we ever recommend it to a friend. We booked it because of the many glowing reviews on Expedia. We now suspect the most glowing of those may have been written by those somehow connected to the place.

Room Tip: Just book into a cheaper roadside motel. Same or better ambiance at a better price, and eat where y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Joseph D,

I am sorry to hear of your experience at our hotel. We usually try to address any issues our guests have during their stay if we know of them at that time. We are very proud of our downtown Kamloops location and would be happy to give you some tips on how to enjoy all the attractions we have to offer.
I do invite you to give us another try, we would love a chance to show you how we do it right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Hotel is close to so many eating places and easy walk rooms very large
We had to be up early to get back onto the train for breakfast but there was tea and coffee in the lobby free what a nice touch
The beds are true king size that makes for a perfect sleep

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dillon022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear dillon022,

Thank you for your kind review of The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre! Our downtown Kamloops location is so convenient to so many attractions, restaurants and shops, that you will never get bored! I do hope we will see you again, we would love to host you for more than one short night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Hotel 540
#8 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: 650 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#10 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thompson Hotel is located downtown close to Interior Saving Centre, Kamloops Curling Club, Lake City Casino. Hotel amenities include; indoor pool, hot tub, fitness centre, business centre, games room and free breakfast. Two on-site restaurant; The Noble Pig Brewhouse &Vittorio's Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Expedia so you can book your The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing