We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
103 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Perfectly adequate”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

This hotel appears to have had some bad press. We stopped off overnight as part of our Rocky Mountaineer experience and found it more than adequate. The rooms were clean and well equipped with coffee/tea making facilities and toiletries. It was quiet and absolutely nothing wrong with our stay at all.
We were at the back of the hotel and experienced no noise having a good night's sleep.
Not fussed on Kamloops!

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel on the top floor. Very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandRuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear EnglandRuddles,

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit to The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre. Our team goes out of their way every day to make your stay here the best one possible! I am truly sorry that you didn't get an opportunity to experience everything Kamloops has to offer. For outdoor activities, we are beyond compare, with fishing, swimming, skiing, boating, water sports, hiking, mountain biking...the list goes on! For indoors, we have shopping, movies, libraries, museums, art galleries, pub hopping, fabulous restaurants....can I stop now?! I hope we see you again, we would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    323
    122
    25
    5
See reviews for
252
277
26
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Stayed one night from the Rocky Mountaineer. We found the room dated and rather scruffy. Although the bed was a good size and comfortable the room was not very big especially on a three week tour with two large suitcases. Popped into the Noble Pig for a light meal and beer, it was very crowded and very noisey, the food was pub grub and ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Ken P,

Thank you for your review of The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre. I agree that our rooms could use a little updating (and this is definitely on our radar and in the works!), but scruffy is a little misleading. You will not find a cleaner hotel room in our fair city, indeed, our Housekeeping staff takes every care to ensure you will be comfortable during your stay. I hope you will return to Kamloops in the future and give us another try. We would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore md
Level Contributor
229 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed over night at Thompson
Everything was positive
Hotel staff the room and bed was so comfortable
After riding the rocky mountaineer all day which is great also
The stop in Kamloop is a great stop
Restruant next door was very good staff also
Within a few blocks is a casino if your wanting to take a chance

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmbrakeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear wmbrakeman,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your brief stay with us! We value our Rocky Mountaineer guests and try to give them every opportunity to enjoy our lovely city. I do hope you will consider coming back to Kamloops and exploring more of our attractions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Paying $7 to park anywhere in Kamloops is an absolute joke, but in an empty parking lot? Really?Otherwise, the Internet was fast and free and the rooms were fine. Lots of trains moving through town at all hours just a block away so light sleepers should expect to be disturbed. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigpictureguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear bigpictureguy,

I am pleased to see that our team treated you well, we go out of our way to make everyone feel welcome at The Thompson. We do not build the parking fee into our rates, so if you are not parking a vehicle, you are not paying extra. Downtown parking is at a premium and we guarantee you a spot when you are staying with us. I do hope we will see you again, we would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

The sofas, TV and the bathroom are pretty out dated. Not enough covered parking spots. I had to park outside of the hotel in a public parking lot and paid $7 for it. The continental breakfast area has only 7 tables, we were lucky to get the last one.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willy038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Willy038,

Thank you for reviewing The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre. I am pleased to see that, overall, you enjoyed your visit with us. We are committed to upgrades here in the very near future and do hope you will return to see how we are doing! We would love to have you back to enjoy our lovely city for more than just one night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed there with 4 people in room - the bed was good, not enough towels or shampoo but that was easily rectified. Reasonable quiet. Location was good with walking access to many great restaurants. Pool was a bit small but there was a games room which kids appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smagf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear Smagf,

I am so happy to hear that you and your party enjoyed our games room! It is unique to The Thompson and many families stay here just to sit back, relax and have fun in that area, as it also adjoins our indoor pool and hot tub. We hope to see you back at The Thompson soon, thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This hotel was surprising as my itinerary through Rocky Mountaineer indicated one should not expect too much from the hotels in Kamloops. The room was larger than the other two five star hotels I stayed at. There was air-conditioning which was appreciated as it was a very hot summer's day.

Room Tip: Our room at the end of the corridor was very quiet. The air conditioner was quiet as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 14BUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear 14BUN,

Thank you for your kind review of The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre! I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your brief stay during your vacation with Rocky Mountaineer. I do hope that you will get a chance to enjoy our hotel and our lovely city for longer during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
929 reviews
Hotel 540
#7 of 55 in Kamloops
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: 650 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#10 Family Hotel in Kamloops
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thompson Hotel is located downtown close to Interior Saving Centre, Kamloops Curling Club, Lake City Casino. Hotel amenities include; indoor pool, hot tub, fitness centre, business centre, games room and free breakfast. Two on-site restaurant; The Noble Pig Brewhouse &Vittorio's Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing