We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
Nearby Hotels
US$100
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plaza Hotel(Kamloops)
US$96
US$93
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$106
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverland Inn & Suites(Kamloops)(Great Value!)
US$57
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ranchland Inn(Kamloops)(Great Value!)
US$54
US$51
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (860)
Filter reviews
860 results
Traveller rating
314
361
149
30
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
361
149
30
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomrocky mountaineernoble piggames areahockey tournamentair hockeyroom was cleanwithin walking distancecontinental breakfastgood nights sleepwould stay here againstayed for one nightcentral locationhot tubovernight stopgreat place to stayindoor pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
671 - 676 of 860 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We didn't really get to see much of the hotel or area as we were only stopping over as part of our Rocky Mountaineer trip.

Due to the train being slightly late we didn't get there until around 8pm, but then had to be away by 6.20am the next morning.

All I can say was that the hotel was fine and the rooms were functional rather then being the height of luxury. There was good free WiFi in the rooms. Staff were very friendly and also a late night swim in the pool was nice.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank WymeswoldVets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here even though it was a short stop-over.

Again, thank you for your review and happy travels!

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

stayed in the Thompson Hotel for a one night stopover on our Canadian 2 week trip . Our room was clean and adequate to accommodate a family of four , Good restaurant next door where we had a lovely evening meal Continental Breakfast was fine in the morning , Ok for a one night stop over ,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here even though it was a short stop-over. We have 2 great restaurants attached to the hotel, Crush and the Noble Pig. The breakfast room is brand new and proving very popular.

Again, thank you for your review and happy travels!

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed here as part of our two day trip on the Rocky Mountaineer en route to Banff. The hotel was perfectly adequate for a quick stayover with a good bar and restaurant next door. The rooms were clean and spacious with good amenities. A coffee and water station in the lobby but a 6am departure meant we didn't stay for breakfast. Kamloops doesn't have that much to offer in itself but most people seem to stay here when travelling through the Rockies to Banff, Vancouver or similar.

Room Tip: All very similar. None of them being too exciting !
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here during your Rocky Mountaineer adventure. Kamloops has a lot to do...just unfortunate the train arrival time is in the evenings so not everything is open. Our Front Desk associates are trained to offer recommendations and sugguestions for things to do at that time in the evenings.

Again, thank you for your review and happy travels!

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We spent the night of July 30th at the Thompson Hotel as a stopover in Kamloops of our Rocky Mountaineer Journey Through the Clouds Gold Leaf trip from Vancouver to Jasper. Our room was clean, with fresh, crisp linens. Be Warned, however, the beds are double not queen. I didn't realize this until being squished by my husband in the middle of the night. As expected after research, I would consider the Thompson Hotel a 2 - 3 star hotel, somewhere below a Courtyard by Marriott. I think they are trying to be more upscale. There is a refrig in each room stocked with coffee creamers. There was coffee and an Iron and Iron Board as well. The manager was out front chatting with guests as we were leaving in the morning.
The Thompson Hotel, with expectations reasonably set in advance, is fine for a one night stop over.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hopefully2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here during your Rocky Mountaineer adventure.

Again, thank you for your review and happy travels!

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Only stayed one night on Rocky Mountaineer trip from Banff to Vancouver, and spent very little time in hotel other than sleeping, but would like to mention a hotel manager (David Deol) who was very prompt in offering us a lift to the station when he realised we had missed the bus connection. He was quick, efficient and extremely friendly, and refused our offer of payment.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattyNorthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here even though it was a short stop-over. David is a genuine people person, always willing to help. I hope you have a chance to visit us again someday!

Again, thank you for your review and happy travels!

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews