We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We were in Kamloops for the 2014 Brier, spending 9 nights at the Thompson Hotel. Rooms were very clean and well appointed. Staff were all very friendly and accommodating when we needed anything. Breakfasts were excellent but it was disappointing that the adjoining restaurant was closed. Also, we were travelling with a group of friends and had reserved the rooms a year I advance. So again, a little bit disappointed when we all were assigned rooms some distance apart - not a deal breaker, but it would have been nice to have been closer to each other, especially when we booked so far ahead.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Lind M,
Thank you for the Trip Advisor review. We appreciate the feedback regarding your stay. The Thompson Team prides ourselves on our customer service and we disappointed to here you were not near your friends. We hope that you will come back and see again int he future.
Kind Regards,
Jocelyn Bennett
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    334
    129
    26
    5
See reviews for
257
289
28
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mayerthorpe, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2014

They beds were very comfy and the room temp was perfect. We found the staff to be accomadating and friendly. We had an early morning train trip and they went out of there way by having a bagged breakfast for us. It was a fantastic stay and I would recomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Maureen B,
We were happy to welcome your group to the Thompson Hotel. I am glad our Breakfast Associates could assist you with your early departure. We appreciate the great Trip Advisor review. Thank you for staying with us and we hope your see you agian.
Kind Regards,
Jocelyn Bennett
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraser Lake, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel while attending the 2014 Brier......everything was great. Great staff very helpful and accommodating with every request we had...where to eat, where to shop etc.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be staying there next time we go to Kamloops!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Lucky7Alberta
Thank you for the wonderful Trip Advisor review. We are happy that we were able to accomodate your during the busy 2014 Briar event. I am glad your enjoyed blue restaurant it is a great place with fabulous food. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again.
Kind Regards,
Jocelyn Bennett
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stony Plain, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Myself, my husband, and my mother & father visited Kamloops for a couple of nights at the end of February to visit family. When we booked our flights we did not realize we were there just as the 2014 Briar was starting. I was having trouble booking a hotel online because of this and when I called the hotel directly, they gave us what we needed at their best price which was very reasonable. All the staff were friendly and helpful but a big shout out to the cleaning staff who were very accomodating. It is down the street from Hotel 540 which has a great restaurant where 8 of us had a lovely brunch and also houses the local casino.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucky7Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Lucky7Alberta,

Thanks you for your great Trip Advisor comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with team Thompson. I will make sure I pass on your comments regarding our Housekeeping department. They are a great bunch of ladies. We hope Team Thompson can welcome you again.
Thank you
Jocelyn Bennett
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel while our daughters were attending the concert in Kamloops. The staff were all very welcoming and helpful. We asked for restaurant recommendations and the lady at the front desk recommended the Noble Pig next door. A great recommendation! The food and service were also fantastic there. Try the deep fried pickles. The hotel was very clean and quite modern. The beds were comfortable and they provided two robes in each room. We went down to the hot tub/pool area and they had a pool, hot tub, common TV area, billiards and fuzeball. We had a great time playing fuzeball with the kids. The pool area is not fancy but clean and nice. The hotels provides a breakfast each morning and it was good. It even included waffles! The only bad thing about the hotel was the view out of the back of the hotel was a not so nice view of the parking lot. I would definitely stay at this hotel if I was going back to Kamloops. The staff, location and value for dollar make it a can't miss.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxypika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
RoxyPika
Thank you so much for the wonderful review on TripAdvisor! It is very much appreciated, and the staff love to hear the feedback! We are happy you had the opportunity to use our games room, it is a big asset to have. The Thompson Team looks forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards,
Jocelyn Bennett
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The hotel is very clean and the staff is very friendly and efficient. My five day stay was very comfortable, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The indoor swimming pool is nice for short laps and the hot-tub is just right to relax in after a long day. The fitness room has a treadmill, a stationary bike, an elliptical machine and weight station which is just right for a few people to enjoy at the same time. The downtown location is convenient for shopping and there are good dining options close by. Make sure to include a meal or two at the Noble Pig during your stay.

I was very grateful for the professional way that the hotel manager addressed the issue of my "missing" iPod. In the middle of my stay and after an evening where I used the fitness room and pool, I left my iPod in the pocket of the provided bathrobe. Unfortunately for me, the conscientious staff member who cleaned my room the next day replaced the robe with a fresh one and both the original robe and my iPod went through the laundry. When the manager discovered that my iPod was no longer working after its sudsy bath, the hotel was gracious enough to replace my ruined iPod. Thanks for the fabulous customer service. I really appreciate it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review on TripAdvisor! . We pride ourselves on our great customers service and team work. We are very happy that we were able to rectify the situation with your IPOD. I hope that we will see you again.
Kind Regards,
Jocelyn Bennett
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

The rooms have great beds, and lots of nice touches. I liked having real wine glasses, and the big bottles of shampoo and skin lotion, no messing around with the little tiny bottles (although they are there if you feel need to have samples). Great view from the 3rd floor. You hardly hear the trains even with the window open. Great new heater, friendly staff, good breakfast, and enough other amenities within walking distance. Great spot if you are in a tournament at Memorial arena, just wheel you bag over. Walking distance to the Rivershore park.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Makingmemories1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear MakingMemories1..

Thank you so much for the wonderful review on TripAdvisor! . We pride ourselves in being one of the only hotels in Kamloops that is really team friendly with the perfect games room for parents to socialize. Team Thompson Hopes to see you again.
Kind Regards,
Jocelyn Bennett
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Hotel 540
#7 of 54 in Kamloops
1,434 reviews
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kamloops
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: 650 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#10 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre is a full service hotel with superb amenities and exceptional guest service. Located in the downtown area, our property offers clean, comfortable accommodations with rates to suit all budgets. Attached restaurant, The Noble Pig Brewhouse serves up homemade Canadian cuisine along with multiple thirst quenching beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing