We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean but the rooms need updating” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Clean but the rooms need updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We only spent one night at the Thompson Hotel. While it's very clean and the staff from bell hops to front desk to breakfast girl were so friendly....the rooms desperately need updating.

Pink tiles in the bathroom, blue curtains and a lone 1970s pic on the wall......wow.

We ate at the Noble Pig which is attached to the hotel and the food was good.

Trains tracks a block away, but we didn't hear a sound from them all night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs. Richardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    312
    118
    25
    5
See reviews for
245
268
25
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I have been staying at the Thompson for a week and they have been amazing!!!!My computer was damage on the trip to Kamloops and the hotel has allowed me to take over there business center. They have been very helpful and understanding. Paige is outstanding!!!could not ask for anyone better. It is nice that people stay card about the customer service instead of the might dollar. I will pass this on to all my business associates, also Brianna in the breakfast room is Great!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn B, General Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear MollyJ
We would like to thank you for all your great feedback. We were sorry to here about your computer issue, but happy that Paige could assist you. Our team will be very pleased that you had a great stay, and we hope to see you again.
Kind Regard,
Jocelyn Bennett
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed in hotel the thompson hotel and conference centre 2 weeks ago. This hotel was very nice and stuff excellent :-) We really like hot tub and swimming pool.Also breakfast was very nice We would stay there again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarareddeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn B, General Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Sarareddear,
Thank you for your Trip Advisor feedback. We appreciate all your great comments and will pass them on to our staff. We are happy you were able to enjoy the breafkast room, and pool area. We appreciate all you feedback, and hope to see you again.
Kind Regards,
Jocelyn Bennett
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Thompson hotel is the best family destination!! The staff was amazing Jessica, Shannon were outstanding.THere was some challenges with my booking and both of the these agents were Great! Could not ask for better service. Pool and games rooms and new HD TV is outstanding. I will recommend this wonderful property to everyone

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear PeggJ
Thank you for your Trip Advisor feedback. I will be happy to pass your comments on to both Jessica and Shannon, they will be delighted. We are happy you enjoyed the new HD TV package. Again thank you for all the great comments.
Kind Regards,
Jocelyn Bennett
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Hotel older but very nice. Staff was excellent, from the person who checked us in to the pool maintenance person, the people who made up our room, to the ladies who were looking after the breakfast that was included in our hotel rate. The breakfast was very good... nice selection, and one of the best wraps I have every had. The pool and hot tub were great as well. And one block from the casino if interested in that. Only about 20 minutes from the airport.

Room Tip: Remember this is an older hotel, but we thought it was very nice. Loved the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianeelizsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Dianeelizsam
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and will make sure we pass this on to our Team members. We are happy you enjoyed our new breakfast room and all its selections. We hope to see you again.
Kind Regards,
Jocelyn Bennett
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Great service here as always. My family and parents stayed here last week and we were not disappointed. Attention to detail and welcoming smiles at check in. Rooms very clean and we can't say enough about the beds.

Best part of this trip was Jessica. It started with making the reservation by phone and she was there to check us in too. She's a natural for the hospitality industry - cheerful, efficient and seems to genuinely care. We've been coming to the Thompson for years and she's definitely one of the best we've seen. Others were good too but Jessica really stood out.

We'll continue to stay at the Thompson Hotel when in Kamloops just like we have been for over 20 years. Thanks for everything - again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank g0nzarelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn B, General Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear G0nzarelli,
Thank you for your wonderful Trip Advisor review. We were happy to hear your family had a great time. We were happy that Jessica was able to assist you with your stay. We hope that we we will see you again
Thank you
Jocelyn Bennett
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

When I checked into the Thompson, Jessica was there to help. I'd neglected to make a reservation at the 540 (my usual choice in Kamloops) but Dave at the front desk there made a reservation for me here, assuring me that I'd be pleased. And he was right. A very nice hotel, comfortable bed, nice pool and hot tub and breakfast included.

But it was the service from the front desks (Jessica at the Thompson and Dave at the 540) that really stood out. I was the one that didn't make a reservation - but they went out of their way to get me into a room (and a hot tub). THANKS

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cwill4573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn B, General Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
cwill4573,
Thank you for your positive comments on our customer service. Jessica and Dave are great agents that pride themself on there great ability to assit our guest. We were happy that you reconized both of them. Thank you again and we look forward to see you on your next travel.
Kind Regards,
Jocelyn Bennett
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Hotel 540
#8 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: 650 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#10 Family Hotel in Kamloops
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thompson Hotel is located downtown close to Interior Saving Centre, Kamloops Curling Club, Lake City Casino. Hotel amenities include; indoor pool, hot tub, fitness centre, business centre, games room and free breakfast. Two on-site restaurant; The Noble Pig Brewhouse &Vittorio's Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing