We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”
Review of Star Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Star Lodge
Ranked #49 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Reviewed 24 July 2007

After reading the reviews on this site half of our group decided not to come on the trip. Those of us who went were thoroughly impressed with the hotel. The biggest and most important thing is cleanliness and this place was incredibly clean. I've stayed at tons of hotels around the world and this one is probably tops when it comes to cleanliness. Front desk service was exceptional, there was a little mix-up (no one's fault) and they cleared it up for us without any hassle at all. I would stay at this place again without question!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ppppp_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2006

I should have read some of the earlier reviews before staying at this hotel. I wasn't looking for anything fancy, just a basic clean bed and room. You are not going to find that value here.

In the first room they gave me the beds were not made, pop cans were littered around the room, towels thrown in the tub. Thinking that the front desk had made a mistake, I went back to the reception. The next room they gave me was not much better.

1) The bed covers looked like they had been cleaned last in May.
2) The TV cable and some other wiring were hanging loose along the wall.
3) Some of the lights did not work.
4) Musty smell in the room.

I will not be back at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Arji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2006

I stayed at the Econolodge for 2 nights on sept 28-30 I was apprehensive after reading the reviews I had read on here. I got there it took a min to find my reservation but I got my room with a kitchenette for $60/night. My room was a decent size and bed was comfy. I had room 123, the only thing I noticed that was in previous review is that I had 1 wash cloth that was stained but others were perfect. My room had a shaver socket in it unlike the person who wrote a review before. The staff were extremely friendly. The pool area was somewhat dark as the windows were higher up, however the pool was perfect temperature and was good for swimming as it wasnt just a dip pool as many hotels or motels. I would recommend this to anyone. I will be returning next month.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2005

Our room was disappointing even for a budget hotel chain. The bed, TV and view were good, but everything else was old and shabby. The bathroom wasn't particularly clean, there weren't enough towels and there was no shaver socket.

The worst thing was that even in September, the room was so cold that I had to sleep in my clothes.

I think they are trying to renovate - the room was freshly painted and the lampshades were so new they were still in their wrappers - but at the moment I'm sure you can do better in Kamloops for the same money.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKHec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
British Columbia
13
Reviewed 27 August 2005

Knowing Econo Lodge is the "thrifty" end of the Choice Hotel chain, I expected a basic but clean and well-maintained room, perfect for my one night stop on the way through the interior. I was wrong! Here is a brief account of my stay:

-- There was a lingering paint smell.

-- The air conditioner didn't work.

-- There was a LOUD party next door.

-- The lights in the bathroom were exposed (no cover) and light bulbs were burned out.

-- There was mold along the edges of the shower curtain.

Why didn't I complain to management? The office was closed between 12 am and 8 am! I will not make this mistake again, and I can't foresee a time when I'll trust the Econo Lodge name again anytime soon.

  • Stayed: August 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2004

We booked this as a cheap stopover on the way from the Rockies to Vancouver - big mistake. Kamloops itself has little to recommend it and the hotel was awful. The man on reception was very polite and friendly but that is the best that can be said. The room felt very grubby and we felt hesitant about sleeping in the bed. Sheets and towels were grey, worn and marked. It only cost us around $60 for the night but we would definitely spend the extra another time to sleep somewhere where we felt comfortable and weren't worried about the cleanliness. I suppose you get what you pay for. On a brighter note, the nearby Earl's was excellent for our evening meal - good meal and great service.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Ostrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Prévoir bouchons d'oreille et masque pour la nuit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank breizangelik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Hospitality Inn
#46 of 54 in Kamloops
79 reviews
Country View Motor Inn
#36 of 54 in Kamloops
189 reviews
Acadian Inn
#38 of 54 in Kamloops
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aberdeen
Alpine Motel Kamloops
Alpine Motel Kamloops
#32 of 54 in Kamloops
101 reviews
Valleyview
The Ranchland Inn
The Ranchland Inn
#20 of 54 in Kamloops
165 reviews
Hotel 540
#5 of 54 in Kamloops
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Lodge

Address: 775 Columbia St W, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 1K9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range: £33 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Star Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Star Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Kamloops
Kamloops Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing