We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location was great the lodge not so good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lac le Jeune Resort
Ranked #18 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Manitou Springs CO
Level Contributor
205 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Location was great the lodge not so good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We had a reservation for three nights in the lodge. When we arrived they thought we were arriving the day before. The lodge rooms are rather old and dated. The room we were in was upstairs on the back side near the steps, it was close to the kitchen and noisy. The room only had two small windows probably about 2 foot by 2 foot, so I think it would be very warm later in the summer. We had a balcony facing out to the backside of the lodge. The windows were very dirty which was a shame as the view was great. No fridge or micro in the room, I guess to force you to eat at the restaurant? They did give us hot water for tea in the morning. The person working the front desk (not the owner) had a bad attitude. He told us the dinner buffet was $33 per person. When asked what the menu would be for the next night he said we would probaby eat at McDonalds. I came in earlier with a shake that we got in Kamloops. On the second day they said they did not have a room for us for the the next day as they had a big tour group arriving. At this time we decided to cut our stay to two nights rather than the three we reserved two months prior. That afternoon a photo tour arrvied so the owner put out another stick with peanut butter to attract more birds. He did not do that for us only when the larger tour group arrived. It is hard to get decent bird photos at the feeders at the front of the lodge in the morning due to the sun. The second perch he put up for the other group would be better for morning photos. We went out on the lake and got some loon photos the first day. The only reason we went here was to get loon photos. It is a very beautiful lake with lots of birds, ducks and loons.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    54
    30
    21
    7
See reviews for
55
87
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nottm
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed here for one night only on our way from Jasper to Whistler.
Due to poor directions from our holiday operator we were unable to find the hotel. After a phone call to our operator we were told that the owner would drive out to us and guide us in.
As he did this he pointed out a beaver dam on the way.
Our room was extremely large, containing three double beds. The bathroom was a bit tired, but was clean and tidy.
The evening meal was buffet style. The food was good and the prices reasonable.
Same with the breakfast.
My favourite part of this hotel is its' verandah. Here you can sit with a beer and your camera photographing all sort of exotic birds that come to feed on the birdtable about 8 feet away.
I wish we could have stayed an extra night as we found this hotel delightful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davrob_nottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

If you are staying near Kamloops this location is fantastic. You are facing a wonderful lake and when we arrived the sun was shining and we sat on the deck with a glass of wine. Heaven

We then went to your room which was I think the best in the hotel room 316. This Hotel was built in the 70's and it shows. The room was large with a balcony but was very dated. We went down for dinner which is a Buffet and discovered the Hotel survives with Bus groups. The dinner was OK but I must commend the staff who were excellent.

Overall I would stay here again for the lakeside location which when compared with Hotels in Kamloops makes it worthwhile. I regret to say this Hotel has its best days some years behind it and now needs some loving care which I doubt the owner is spending on it.

You have to decide what is important to you Is an idilic Canadian lake view more important than the quality of the Hotel. For me the answer is Yes as this was the most photogenic place we have stayed at so far.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rannoch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Englan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

First tip - if you are interesting in wildlife book for more than one night! We stayed for one night en route from Jasper to Whistler and wished we could have stayed longer, as did all the other people we spoke to that night. It is not modern luxury but it is such a relaxed beautiful place we didn't care at all. We had a cabin, which was basic but lovely. It had a big comfy bed, small yet adequate bathroom and a sitting room/kitchenette with a great view over the lake. The evening buffet was good quality and great value. We saw nesting bald eagles, osprey, beavers and numerous birds. The staff were very welcoming and knew a lot about the wildlife in the area and gave great tips on how to spot things.

Room Tip: Go for a cabin, it just adds to the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pitst0p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed here en route from Whistler to Jasper. What an amazingly nice place! Cabin on the lakeside with beavers, osprey and eagles in the evening and swallows reunited in the nest box on the roof the next morning. The wildlife was remarkable and together with the amazing setting and really peaceful location, this was a perfect place to stay. Really cosy and comfortable cabin and the dinner is the evening was really good with an amazing dessert selection. Very reasonable prices for the stay and for beer and wine and really nice staff! We are sorry we went off with the keys but posted them back!

Room Tip: Book a cabin!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nenagh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Similar to other reviews, we stayed there one night last August on the way from Jasper to Whistler. It wasn't the most modern hotel but it has spectacular views of the lakes, the chef is excellent and the manager is a gentleman. The hotel was a clean and well priced retreat. The hotel has huge potential as a wedding or event venue if the right person buys it! The hootel seems to have been renovated in the 1970's and it certainly needs modernisation, but we slept soundly, ate well and relaxed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aidan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We revisited La le Jeune Resort in 2011 we found the cabins had improved. The beds were a dream to sleep upon. New kitchen appliances and very clean. We had our breakfast in cabin sitting outside but did go to the buffet dinner. The dinner was excellent every part of it. It was quiet in the evenings and during the day. You could rent a boat if desired and it is an easy drive to Merritt and the Quilchena ranch also a good place to stay. Lac Le Jeune is somewhat expensive and you think twice about paying the hefty price for the cabins but a few days and nights does make it worthwhile. We will go back. It is basically a tour bus stop. magpie014

Room Tip: stayed in a cabin they appear to sleep 3 or 4 maybe not sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magpie014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Riverland Inn & Suites
#16 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 540
#8 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lac le Jeune Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lac le Jeune Resort

Property: Lac le Jeune Resort
Address: Lac le Jeune Rd. | off Coquihalla Hwy., 29 km southwest of Kamloops, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 6B8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#12 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lac le Jeune Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lac le Jeune Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lac Le Jeune Hotel Kamloops
Lac Le Jeune Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing