We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lac Lustre” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lac le Jeune Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lac le Jeune Resort
Ranked #18 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lac Lustre”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2008

"Let's do the time warp again"

70's/80's chintz at this lovely location. It's such a shame as this place could be a gold mine. The hotel is just a bit ragged around the edges. The place is dated and is need of a refurb.

Our room did smell like my Granny's outside lav, but was clean and comfortable. There are no other facilites at the location which meant eating at the hotel. Rather limited timings but the food was very good and wholesome. Plenty of it as well.

There was a coach party staying at the time, but this didn't cause us any problems. We were hoping to do some fishing on the lake, but it was frozen (early May).

We used it as a stop off between Jasper and Whistler. Great location but not such a great hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The hotel!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dollymogLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    54
    30
    21
    7
See reviews for
55
87
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
208 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2007

We booked three cabins for a family get together. The location is great. The accomodation was abismal. The beds were billed as doubles and were 3/4 size. 2 of the 3 fireplaces didn't work. One of the guests had a mouse rummage through their food in the night and when it was mentioned to the manager he just laughed and said usually we get them with the traps and he offered no compensation for a price that was already a bit high.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2007

Such a shame. The location has so much potential, set right on the edge of a really quiet lake. If some investment was made in this hotel, it could be a really exclusive resort. All the staff we met were really friendly, and we had no complaints about the breakfast we had which was excellent.
Unfortunately these plus points are let down by a really tired hotel. The reception, dining area and bedroom were looking really jaded and desperately needed redecorating. The bathroom also needs a refit, it looks really old. The room just felt dated, I'm glad we were only staying there one night on our way to the rockies.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, good breakfast, good location
  • Disliked — Really dated decor
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FCUnitedOfManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2006

On arrival we were impressed with the location, however didnt realise how far off our rockies route we were going, 29km south of Kamloops after a long days drive from Whistler, in hindsight we would of carried on our drive north of Kamloops to Clearwater (75km which was on our route through the rockies) as this was a much better place to stay (Helmken Lodge).

We had 2 rooms in the Lac Lustre lodge overlooking the lake, the rooms were grim on comparison with where else we'd stayed in our whole trip of 14nights it was the worst accomodation. The rooms smelt musty to the point we thought we had a gas leak, and just felt dirty, the beds were uncomfortable and didnt seem like they were clean sheets.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening as unless you are prepared with your own groceries there is no choice and 26km to the nearest shop. It was $23 per head (we had a discount as a wedding party had trashed the room prior to our dinner time) the food was a buffet style and actually we thought it was really nice.

Overall we were disappointed we had stayed here, it almost felt like our clothes would smell after being in the room for the night.

We took out boats on the lake the following day but apart from fishing and hiking there is nothing else to do here.

I have stayed in many hostels and would sugget that this resort should be £10 pppn.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Hygiene
  • Tips/Secrets — Dont go there, there are many more picturesque settings with better accom
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank SharonandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iver, Bucks, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2006

We stayed at Lac Le Jeune Resort for 4 nights during our 3 week tour of BC and Alberta. Our main reason for staying was to allow our youngest to indulge in his passion for fishing. The 4 of us stayed in one of the cabins overlooking the lake.

I can reaffirm many of the observations made by other TripAdvisor members: uncomfortable beds, stained carpets, very poor fittings in the bathroom, lousy maintenance etc etc. Having been forewarned by this website we avoided the dining room and I'm glad that we cooked for ourselves. Fellow guests who braved it were very disappointed with the value for money.

But (and it's a big BUT) this is a lovely location. The peace and tranquility, the setting, the lakes, the forests, they all go to create a wonderful environment. So much so that I am prepared to forgive everything except the awful beds!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Beds
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank RNC1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2006

Having read the reviews of this hotel I wonder why some people complain and what it really takes to please them.
We spent one night there on a Canadian tour and think it was absolutely great .No TV or Radio or Telephone tranquil place wonderful wildlife good food what more could you want.
Nowhere like this in England!!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paulRugeleyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, Warwickshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2005

We stayed at the Lac Lejeune Resort for two nights in August 2005. Our room was huge, with fantastic views over both lakes. Watching the sunrise over the lakes was lovely.

The children (aged 10 and 6) enjoyed the freedom of the hotel grounds and also enjoyed the weather rock - and the pet squirrel.

The dining room was very limited (and expensive for evening meals). Children were not well catered for. The hotel seems to be a favourite for bus tours of middle-aged people - so it was uncomforable to keep the children in the dining room for any length of time. The billing system in the dining room was over-complicated.

This location was wonderful, but the hotel (and the staff) seem to be in a bit of a time-warp.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mammyof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Riverland Inn & Suites
#16 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Hotel 540
#8 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lac le Jeune Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lac le Jeune Resort

Property: Lac le Jeune Resort
Address: Lac le Jeune Rd. | off Coquihalla Hwy., 29 km southwest of Kamloops, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 6B8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#12 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lac le Jeune Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lac le Jeune Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lac Le Jeune Hotel Kamloops
Lac Le Jeune Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing