We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont be put off by the exterior”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lac le Jeune Resort
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2009

We arrived tired after a long drive and were somewhat dimayed by the outward appearance of the hotel, however the rooms were clean and the location is just beautiful especially for nature lovers. The rooms are basic without TV etc.. but we knew that before arrival and the view of the lake from our balcony at dawn was breathtaking.
The staff were very welcoming and friendly and the food excellent. But dont ask Wally for an alarm call !!!
Wished we had booked another night there it is a little gem.
Karen, David, Terry and Sharon

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Lac le Jeune Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2009

I recently stayed at the Lac le Jenue Resort and enjoyed myself tremendously. I agree that the hotel could stand with a little updating, but overall I loved the experience. Everything was clean and very comfortable and the service from the staff was outstanding. There may not be telephones or televisions in the rooms, but come on, this is the 21st century and they do have FREE wireless Internet. For myself, that's all I need.

Being positioned between the two lakes is wonderful and access to opportunities for viewing wildlife is endless.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WildShots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Had a fabulous two nights! The food was wonderful. The staff is great. Very relaxing peaceful setting. We had a large room on the third floor overlooking the little lake. We went out on the little lake fly-fishing. Fabulous bird watching and fish spawning channel. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanIsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2009

LAC LE JEUNE RESORT,
LAC LE JUENE
Near Kamloops

This resort is out in the wilderness right on the bank Lac Le Jeune
A great welcome awaits you
Our room was a cabin right on the lake bank of the resort
three rooms consisting of a twin bed room
Lounge this Sofa bed, cooker, table and chairs extra large fridge and gas fire
Also bath room.

The resturant food was the best during our stay in Canada consisting of buffet meals for breakfast and evening meal.

Hire a boat on the lake, fishing, go for a walk or you can drive to Kamloops the nearest major city.Or basically just chill out and relax

The resort is full of wildlife with an excellent viewing gallery at the building entrance where nuts etc are feeding squirrels and birds all day.

A recommended stop over or week long fishing resort (if you like fishing).

Thank you for a great stay it was superb.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BILSTON77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2009

My sister, friend, husband and I stayed here as part of a Trafalgar tour of Canada. I had read bad reviews so I was interested to see for myself what this place was really like. It is certainly not for those who can't do without creature comforts; no TV, coffee/tea making facilities, fridge, hairdryer or clock and only a fan (no airconiditioning). Our room was basic but my sister and friend had 3 large beds in theirs and plenty of room for luggage. The food was a plus and we ate well both at dinner and breakfast. The staff were courteous, helpful and friendly. There is an abundance of wildlife that we found charming and we spent most of the daylight hours taking photos of squirrels and chipmunks ( animals we don't have in Australia). There are birds that come to feed and we had a woodpecker outside our room in the morning but the beaver didn't show up that morning.
It is a relaxing place but, without airconditioning, could be uncomfortable in a hot summer.
Overall, we enjoyed our overnight stay but I would like to see a few improvements made eg air con and a kettle would be great.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maz5608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2008

If you want all mod cons, Vogue interiors, uber-slick service and Michelin starred food, don't come here.

However, if you want an incredibly friendly welcome, lovely staff, warm and comfortable accomodation with beavers swimming in the lakes in front and behind the Lodge, fish jumping in the lake, and squirrels and birds feeding from your hand this is a great place! It was wonderfully quiet and peaceful too.

I admit to being taken aback on arrival, the Lodge is not modern and the decor and furnishings are dated. However the room was clean, warm and comfortable (our beds were fine, incidentally) - and the plush bear and beaver toys on the bed were a nice touch as are the bird box room numbers. The owner clearly loves the place, and there is a strong wildlife theme - he is a keen fisherman.

Haut cuisine it is not, but the dinner was OK, hot, plentiful and wholesome, and delivered with a smile and a friendly chat. The dining room seemed to be set up for larger coach parties (buffet / carvery style, food that would perhaps appeal to an older demographic more) but it was fine. Deserts were lovely! And the breakfast was really good.

Since the other residents were in a large group, it would have been easy to just go to bed after dinner and feel a bit isolated, but I'm glad we didn't. The receptionist / barman was really lovely, knowledgable about the area and wildlife and we chatted with him a lot, picking his brains over a few drinks. The owner takes wildlife photos - ask to see his pictures of black bears fishing! The morning staff were great too, we enjoyed their company and again, a good chat about the location and the winter conditions we might expect on our travels further north (immensely reassuring through local knowledge).

I would have liked to stay another night to enjoy the location and wildlife - and I guess in summer the boating opportuities are great (too cold at the end of October). The Lodge has canoes and boats to take out. I think it would be amazing in summer.

Be warned - the lodge is more remote than the website suggests, and we were surprised (and alarmed - thought we were lost) when we tried to find it on the last night of their season, and in the snow and pitch black. The signage is not great - the authorities won't allow signs off the main highway. But we got there. It is some way south from Kamloops, then further than you think from the main road. We drove here from Whistler, and then onto Jasper via Yellowknife the next day, and no doubt, it was a detour from our journey - but it is a very restful night's sleep before the long drive, and waking up to see a beaver swimming across the lake was fantastic.

In conclusion, take the Lodge as you find it (it's fine, just dated), don't expect amazing food, the welcome, service, location and the wildlife are great, and I would happily return.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linzini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2008

We stayed here as part of an organised tour and was told that it was very basic, rustic, but the meals were good and the location fantastic. Well it was basic as promised, particularly in the lower ground floor room where we stayed. We looked out on to what looked like a hole in the ground and the room had very little to recommend it. Certainly stay in Kamploops itself if you must stay in this area.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Ray170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
15.6 mi away
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#8 of 54 in Kamloops
971 reviews
16.1 mi away
Riverland Inn & Suites
Riverland Inn & Suites
#16 of 54 in Kamloops
347 reviews
24.8 mi away
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre
15.6 mi away
Hotel 540
Hotel 540
#6 of 54 in Kamloops
1,515 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lac le Jeune Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lac le Jeune Resort

Address: Lac le Jeune Rd. | off Coquihalla Hwy., 29 km southwest of Kamloops, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 6B8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#12 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range: £70 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lac le Jeune Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lac le Jeune Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lac Le Jeune Hotel Kamloops
Lac Le Jeune Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing