We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Haven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lac le Jeune Resort
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Peaceful Haven”
Reviewed 3 June 2010

We spent one night here at the Lac le Jeune Resort Hotel as part of a mini tour of Canada. The setting of this hotel is wonderful – right on the edge of a lake with plentiful birds and other wildlife, which are encouraged to feed here.

The rooms here are very comfortable, but basic, with no TV, no alarm clocks and no hairdryers. We were allocated room 315, which was en-suite with over-bath shower and toiletries. The beds were wonderfully comfortable and this room also had a balcony and lake view over the front of the hotel. There is nothing else here, so you’re not able to walk into a village or town but, with the lovely views and countryside here, you wouldn’t want to miss a stroll at dusk/dawn in this peaceful haven.

Our package included a buffet dinner at night, which was just delicious – remember to keep room for some very tasty desserts!! The breakfast was equally delicious and set us up for the day’s travelling ahead.

The key phrase to sum up this hotel and location would be to “take only photographs and leave only footprints”.

We enjoyed our night at this hotel and would certainly recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    59
    32
    21
    8
See reviews for
59
94
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BRISTOL
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

Lovely views from our first floor bedroom....where else can you watch beavers at dusk 20m from the room?
The birdlife was wonderful, and the setting beautiful.
The breakfasts and evening meal were great,
This place is a perfect antidote to busy Whistler or Kamloops..
The staff were very friendly and informative about the wildlife..
Boat hire was just across the road......great for watching fly-fishing and trout leaping..
One of the best places we stayed in all of Canada.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHNSHAW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Stayed here for one night during our honeymoon in Canada. We were driving from Jasper to Vancouver and this was an ideal stopover.
Hotel is slightly off the main road but really is in an idyllic location - set between two small lakes.
We were met by Wally who made us feel welcome in his own unique way!
Food was basic but very tasty. Most other guests were much older - it did seem to be a place for overnight stops. Hence, everything shut at 11pm.
Only down side was that the room was like an oven No air con. But the weather was strangely hot at that time.
A great place to stay for a day or two.......but I wouldnt want to stay much longer!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RFKNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Booked as part of a Trailfinders tour of BC and Alberta. Like other reviewers had a bit of trepidation as some reviews were not that good. However, it was the (hotel) highlight of the trip. Yes, no hairdryer (had own anyway), tea/coffee, but where on earth can you hop across the road from your hotel at 6am and watch the beaver family swim home from a night out. We were so lucky with the weather - gorgeous sunrise over the lake burning off the early morning mist - fantastic. Then over to the hotel for a really good cooked breakfast. Four course dinner the night before was also delicious and (for Canada) I felt pretty good value CD$30 per head. There is loads of wildlife and the hotel owner/manager encourages squrrels, chipmunks and all sort of birds with food out on the deck/verandah. We really wished we had had another night there.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChesterBiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny Bournemouth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

We arrived tired after a long drive and were somewhat dimayed by the outward appearance of the hotel, however the rooms were clean and the location is just beautiful especially for nature lovers. The rooms are basic without TV etc.. but we knew that before arrival and the view of the lake from our balcony at dawn was breathtaking.
The staff were very welcoming and friendly and the food excellent. But dont ask Wally for an alarm call !!!
Wished we had booked another night there it is a little gem.
Karen, David, Terry and Sharon

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

I recently stayed at the Lac le Jenue Resort and enjoyed myself tremendously. I agree that the hotel could stand with a little updating, but overall I loved the experience. Everything was clean and very comfortable and the service from the staff was outstanding. There may not be telephones or televisions in the rooms, but come on, this is the 21st century and they do have FREE wireless Internet. For myself, that's all I need.

Being positioned between the two lakes is wonderful and access to opportunities for viewing wildlife is endless.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WildShots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Had a fabulous two nights! The food was wonderful. The staff is great. Very relaxing peaceful setting. We had a large room on the third floor overlooking the little lake. We went out on the little lake fly-fishing. Fabulous bird watching and fish spawning channel. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanIsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
15.6 mi away
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kamloops
957 reviews
24.8 mi away
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
15.6 mi away
Hotel 540
Hotel 540
#7 of 54 in Kamloops
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre
16.1 mi away
Riverland Inn & Suites
Riverland Inn & Suites
#15 of 54 in Kamloops
336 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lac le Jeune Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lac le Jeune Resort

Property: Lac le Jeune Resort
Address: Lac le Jeune Rd. | off Coquihalla Hwy., 29 km southwest of Kamloops, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 6B8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#12 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lac le Jeune Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Lac le Jeune Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lac Le Jeune Hotel Kamloops
Lac Le Jeune Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing