We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kamloops Travelodge Mountview
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Just terrible”
Reviewed 29 October 2010

I had a reservation and just go into the front desk... Waited about 2 minutes for somebody to come out.

Got room and used elevator,old,noisy and dirty.
Room had loud A/C,weird TV,and pipes not working well.

Checked out and had confusion.

Charged me wrong price,had receipt signed by wrong person, charged this and this refund this and ........... it goes on and on. Refunded and charged again and gave HBC reward card and processed and got points but doesn't show up on my card.

This place is terrible and will never visit or consult again. Do not trust the pictures.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    74
    81
    31
    19
See reviews for
107
75
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Over the summer, my wife and i had driven from Calgary to Vancouver and then on to Victoria. We made an impromptu stay in Kamloops and we enjoyed our visit so much we stayed an extra night. Aside from the construction, the staff there were very helpful, pleasant, and prompt. They not only gave us a pretty good rate, but they helped us find some local shops and stops.

I would stay there again if we ever go through Kamloops

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swoop74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Bay
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Travelodge Mountview. It is obvious that a lot of transformation has been going on around here since some of the reviews were written a year go.

Considerable upgrades have been done - my room had new attractive furniture, new carpets and tiles in the kitchen & bathroom, and a totally updated shower/bath unit. Everything was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and the towels were actually white and quite fluffy. The outside of the building is a fresh modern colour now and when we stayed in August, it was surrounded by lovely, bright flowers.

The high speed internet worked very well and the pool/hot tub were also in good order. Actually the hot tub could have been hotter. The service was friendly and the cost was well-priced I thought.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilgrimsprogress2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2010

We were travelling from Washington to Alberta and stopped in Kamloops and we stayed at the Travelodge. The young man at the front desk was very warm and polite...it was a great way to start our stay in Kamloops. It appeared as though the hotel was undergoing renovations but the room was very clean and all of the furniture seemed brand new which was a great surprise. We were completely satisfied with the continental breakfast and our kids REALLY enjoyed the pool and hot tub. An overall great stay, we look forward to staying at this hotel in the near future!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara_8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2010

The front desk service was fine.
The room seemed dodgey. One of the desks was covered a layer of dust. There were black marks on the sheets. The microwave in the kitchenette worked for a while and then mysteriously stopped working and then worked again later.
The pool looked semi-abandoned and with all the gross floating stuff, we decided to avoid.
The fan in the bathroom did not function.
There were armoirs and desks and light fixtures in the exterior corridors and at the edges of the parking lot.
It felt like the whole place was in the middle of renovations and no one seemed to care about the appearance of the motel.
The motel (and others in the area) are super-close to Costco which was handy.
The continental breakfast was good.
The funny thing is that it wouldn't take a lot to whip it into shape to be a nice accommodation, just care and attention.

I wish I would have read the reviews on this site, paid more and stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NightStrike97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kamloops hotels

vancouver
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Recently on a stop over in kamloops we decided to stay at the Travelodge Mountview, Having stayed at Travelodge chains in the past we decided on this hotel. What a mistake, Upon arrival we went into the office and noticed a strong smell of curry, Didnt think much of it until we went into our room #306 and the smell was horrible, dirt carpets, dirty bed spread, gross bathroom, my wife went to the car and brought in our own blankets to sleep on top of the bed with, when we showered in the morning we wore our sandles for a fear of foot fungus!! It also offers "free continental breakfast" I should hope they offer something free for having to stay in this dive! But the Bagels smelled moldy and the eggs were ice cold and cracked in a large bowl, The types of cereal wasnt a good choice, all bran or just plain, not a good selection, I wassnt expecting pancakes and bacon or anything but how about some fresh bagels and fresh orange juice, I think the managment needs to do a whole overhaul on this dump and offer the guests a CLEAN comfortable place to stay since they are paying way over priced for this place, I have stayed in WAY better in DOWNTOWN vancouver! We wont be staying here ever again and will be letting everyone know to stay far away from this place. If you are driving late at night and heading thru kamloops keep going, DONT STAY HERE!!!!!! Also NO hottub like posted and the Pool is Ice cold and smells gross just like the rooms! Sorry Truth hurts!!!!!!

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VancouverBccouple09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

We've stayed in many types of hotels, and we know what to expect & what not to expect depending on where you stay & what you pay. We were in town for a convention, so this hotel stay was primarily for a place to use in the evening & sleep at night. We didn't expect it to be stylish, or even comfortable, BUT we did expect it to be clean & our non-smoking room to be smoke free! The room was dirty, dingy, and reeked of smoke! It was very hard to sleep at night in it. When we left, all of our clothes/bags smelled like smoke.

Although the front desk staff was courteous, they confirmed that we were in a non-smoking room as booked (???), but there wasn't really anything they could do because the hotel was fully booked for the weekend (due to the same convention we attended).

A side note as well, we booked this hotel because it advertised having a heated outdoor pool & indoor hot tub. When we checked in, and were asking about the pool/hot tub hours, they informed us that their hot tub had not been working for at least two years! (and wouldn't be fixed anytime soon). When we dipped our hands in the pool, it was so cold that you could probably chill your drinks in it! Also, it was on the North side of the building, so it was mostly in the shade which definitely didn't help the pool temperature. Needless to say, we didn't use it. We did however drive 5 minutes down the road to the Leisure Centre, and had a great swim at their indoor public pool & waterslides.

Bottom line, we would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone, for any reason, and we will absolutely never be back to this hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlrtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Quality Inn Kamloops
#23 of 54 in Kamloops
124 reviews
Aberdeen
Pacific Inn & Suites Kamloops
Days Inn Kamloops BC
#37 of 54 in Kamloops
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aberdeen
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#21 of 54 in Kamloops
182 reviews
Aberdeen
Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamloops Travelodge Mountview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamloops Travelodge Mountview

Property: Kamloops Travelodge Mountview
Address: 1225 Rogers Way, Kamloops, British Columbia V1S 1R9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kamloops Travelodge Mountview 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently remodeled Travelodge Mountview Kamloops Hotel is located in the southwest part of the city with spectacular views of the mountains and the South Thompson River. This Kamloops hotel is conveniently located only 20 km from the airport, just off Highway 1, and offers spacious guestrooms, an indoor hot tub and seasonal outdoor pool. The Travelodge Kamloops Hotel is within walking distance to local restaurants, shopping centers and many exciting things to do in Kamloops. The Travelodge Kamloops provides close proximity to popular outdoor adventures including white water rafting, fishing, boating, horseback riding and skiing. Additionally, nine nearby scenic golf courses offer some of the finest golf in Western Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kamloops Travelodge Mountview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Kamloops
Travel Lodge Kamloops
Kamloops Travel Lodge
Kamloops Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing