We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge the hotel by its exterior!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops
Ranked #30 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Argyll
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't judge the hotel by its exterior!”
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We stayed overnight, before travelling to Vancouver. Must admit, on arrival, the hotel looked a bit tired. But on entering, the decor was fresh and modern. Our room was very roomy: two king size beds, kitchen with fridge freezer, cooker and crockery.

We had a walk down town, found a supermarket, bought tea and came back and cooked it. Room spotless; bed very comfortable. Ideal!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirloinlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    35
    47
    11
    6
See reviews for
15
55
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We were promised a room with a queen bed and recieved 2double beds. The maid walked in the room withour knocking while we were still sleeping. A very unprofessional staff.
We live in BC ...so why not have BC apples out instead of Washington???
The parking was tight in the lots, bathrooms dreadfully small.
WOuld stay here again or recommend it to anyone!
Sorry...but Sandman Kamloops you need to improve!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager17, General Manager at Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
I would like to thank you for your comments and to appologize for your experience during your stay with us. My housekeepers do knock on doors before they enter a room but being solid core doors it is often difficult hearing guest responses. The Housekeepers are very embarrased when it happens and try to do everything to prevent it.
You were up graded to a suite which is larger than our standard room. so that you would be with the rest of your group, I did not realize that you had specifically requested a "Queen". I would like to have queen size beds in all my rooms but that is not an option at this time due to the physical size of the room.
I agree with you about buying BC Apples and we are the first to do so as long as what I can access look as good as what you expect them to do. The day I got these, the selection was very slim but we will be getting BC apples next time.
We are trying and will continue to improve how we do things and thank you for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kamloops hotels

Revelstoke, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2011

One of my favorite hotels in Kamloops. Spent the weekend with my curling team and enjoyed every moment of it. Sandman was able to give us exactly what we needed. Two comfortable beds and a clean room. The location was super convenient as its only a couple blocks from downtown and the curling rink. The onsite Dennys as always is good for a meal. Staff were very helpful in directions to other restaurants too.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank needaholiday15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry uk
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2010

we stayed at the sandman overnight while travelling to vancouver,we found the room was very clean and spacious, the staff very helpfull,bedsnice and comfy and had a good nights rest before carrying on our travels. the only draw back was that it was a little out off town for somewhere to eat, but there is a dennys across the car park which was fine serving descent food and cold beer

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernie4787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Upon arriving at the Sandman Inn, we were a bit taken back by the exterior. However, the staff were friendly and the room was actually ok. It had a fridge, microwave, small bathroom, 1 queen bed, and was clean.
We only stayed one night as a stop off between Calgary and Vancouver.
We ate at Dennys, which is almost in the car park.
There were a lot of teenagers staying there, but we didn't hear much from them.
There were lots of free parking spaces.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkJetlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

The main building is not for anyone with disabilities but they do have a detached building with wheelchair accessible rooms with outside access. Lobby and reception up steps tho.

Rooms are small. Bathroom was ridiculously small but both clean except for a few cobwebs on the ceiling.

No microwave in room but there is a fridge and coffee maker and hair dryer.

Beds were really hard if you like that sort of thing (I don't).

We were in room 132 which is adjoining with next door unfortunately the neighbors had little girls who were up early on our Sunday morning (after a wedding). Needless to say, we were awake early at 6:30. We finally got back to sleep when housekeeping staff (at 8 am) decided they needed to speak to each other from one end of the hallway to the other by yelling. We decided it wasn't worth it and got ready to check out.

The only bright spot was the Dennys on the property. Please check out my review of this. Our 2 mornings here for breakfast was outstanding!!!

I would recommend this hotel only if you plan to be up early unless you stay in the detached building. You might have more success than we did there.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3gmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Country, Canada
Level Contributor
194 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

My husband and I have stayed at the Sandman in Kamloops twice this summer. The staff are very kind and helpful. Our room was nice and the location was very convenient. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RustyRedHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
929 reviews
City Center
Travelodge Kamloops City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Accent Inn Kamloops
#12 of 55 in Kamloops
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops

Property: Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops
Address: 550 Columbia St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2V1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > City Center
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With one of the most gorgeous landscapes in BC, Kamloops offers a host of year-round visitor activities. This hotel features 65 air-conditioned rooms including some with kitchenette's, a business centre with Internet access, and on-site dining. Conveniently located blocks away from the downtown core, Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops is the ideal place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Inn Kamloops Hotel Kamloops
Sandman Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing