We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for an overnight stop-off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops
Ranked #30 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Dublin
Level Contributor
183 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great for an overnight stop-off”
Reviewed 3 October 2009

stayed here on our way from Jasper to Whistler,room was clean & comfortable but bathroom was a bit on the small size also there was no elevator in the block we stayed in. There is a Dennys located in the car park which was great for breakfast & we were given a 10% discount from the hotel which was nice .This hotel is great for an overnight stop-off,on checking out the lady on reception was extremely helpful with directions .

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank procus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    35
    46
    11
    6
See reviews for
15
54
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2009

stayed here on our journey from whistler to the rockies in order to break up the journey and for that is was good enough. We had one of the suites in the building across the carpark from reception. Room was good size with 2 beds, though they were doubles on the small side. Had a kitchen with fridge, cooker etc. It is easy to find as located on main street into kamloops and only a couple fo blocks from Victoria Street where there was a small selection of restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Copsy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, BC Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Stayed at the Sandman in Kamloops on Aug 15 & 16th, 2009. There are 2 buildings. We stayed in the main building where check-in is. The 'suites' are across the back alley from the main building - about 40 yards. The place is a tired ( parking lot, outside of hotel, reception, hallways etc ). But, the rooms are acceptable for $120 including taxes in the summer. They are older but have 'newer' bedding & furniture. The TV has about 50 channels which was nice. Slept with the window open and all was fine - even on a Saturday night. Denny's is also right in the parking lot which is convenient. Parking can be tight if you are driving a truck. The hotel is downtown & you can walk to the hockey rink, city park etc. 7-11 & Starbucks are each 1 block away. So, it is not new by any means, it does need updating but the rooms are clean & will do for a day or 2.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelownaCanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

The Sandmann Inn Kamloops is a no frills hotel. We checked in and the manager on site had a queen sized bed for $89.00 (about $101.00 after taxes)

The Room; quite small with a very high queen sized bed, desk and chair, small TV, phone, and two small chairs. The bathroom was kind of odd as the door was a few inches from hitting the toilet. Mirror and sink was outside of bathroom. The TV however was at the same height as the top of the bed so watching TV was rough. Fridge and a coffee maker with teas and coffee, one free bottle of water, soaps, and toiletries.

Pros; Away from highway, air conditioning, free and illuminated parking, Denny's just a walk away, fridge, very quiet

Cons; no elevator, small room, TV hard to look at while in bed, ice and pop machines in scary lower floor, bathroom door gets in the way when using toilet

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetta_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2007

We stayed in this hotel while traveling from victoria to jasper.it was a one night stop on our honeymoon. arrived in sweltering july heat after driving four hundred miles. we were checked in when we were told that there was no lift and we were on first floor. we had alot of luggage as we were on three week holiday from ireland.they offered to put us in basement level. not sure how i was going to get luggage back up stairs in morning. carried 4 cases up to room myself as there was no help on offer. room had inadequate air conditioning and we asked for a fan that only worked for half an hour at time and then cut out for two.
ask for someone to look at AC, they did but said that that was just how it was.kamloops itself seemed to close up quite early, we were there mid week and last orders in restaurants were 9.00pm.needless to say we hit the road early next morning and did not avail of the Denny's room service.in all basic, clean but noisy and warm, would look for somewhere else next time if only as there seemed to be plenty of options.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathain32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager17, Manager at Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops, responded to this review, 29 May 2009
Now under new management and we are working at making things better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kamloops hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2007

Well we showed up and immediatley noticed the small size of the room. We had informed the front desk before our arrival that we had an infant with us and would be needing a travel cot for our baby to sleep in. Well we got one of the smallest rooms on the floor (as shown on the fire excape page) and with the cot set up, we had hardly any room to walk in. There were raisins on the floor in case we were hungry (but we weren't), a spider on the wall, mildew in the bathtub, a noisy ice machine in the hall that kept waking us up, a bathroom light that would only turn on if you held the switch half way, and a bathroom door that didn't close all the way. If you wanted to sit on the toilet and then close the bathroom door or be standing in front of the toilet and close the bathroom door, you couldn't. The only way to close the bathroom door was to step in the bathtub. That's how small it was. The front staff were very kind however and it was nice to have the Denny's in the same parking lot. I would suggest staying at one of the hotels that are on the south side of the highway where as this one is closer to downtown. Those hotels seemed a bit nicer (my parents stayed in one and we were jealous).

  • Liked — The Denny's across the street
  • Disliked — The unkept appearance
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aarika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager17, Manager at Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops, responded to this review, 29 May 2009
Now under new Management and we are working at making things better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2007

Our room was in the new phase. Our bed was comfortable. The staff is outstanding. I enjoyed very much talking with the manager the morning of our departure. She made our stay here the "icing on the cake"! I would stay here again knowing my family is well accommodated and welcomed!

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — maintenance needed in building
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
Travelodge Kamloops City Centre
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops
Accent Inn Kamloops
#12 of 55 in Kamloops
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Riverland Inn & Suites
#16 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops

Property: Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops
Address: 550 Columbia St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2V1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > City Center
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With one of the most gorgeous landscapes in BC, Kamloops offers a host of year-round visitor activities. This hotel features 65 air-conditioned rooms including some with kitchenette's, a business centre with Internet access, and on-site dining. Conveniently located blocks away from the downtown core, Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops is the ideal place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Inn Kamloops Hotel Kamloops
Sandman Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing