We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Nearby Hotels
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scott's Inn and Restaurant - Kamloops(Kamloops)(Great Value!)
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ranchland Inn(Kamloops)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Sandman Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel 540(Kamloops)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Plaza Hotel(Kamloops)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (815)
Filter reviews
815 results
Traveller rating
498
220
62
22
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
498
220
62
22
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivermanor housedriving rangeguest ranchhardwood floorstrouthot tubstayed longercontinental breakfastwe've stayedyogurtone night staylong driveroad tripllamasretreatwedding
Filter
Updating list...
673 - 678 of 815 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2011

On first glance this hotel was a bit too old fashioned for our liking (we are in our late 20’s) - floral wallpaper and white wicker furniture. BUT, you have to appreciate that this hotel styles itself on a ‘kentucky ranch’ and it is just that! The room was immaculate to be fair and very ‘homely’. We really enjoyed our stay! The outdoor pool was really nice and clean.
The only CRITICISM which management need to look at is the attitude of 1 staff member. She was abrupt on our first night at dinner but she was the only one waitressing on our 2nd night (Sat 13th August). When we went down for dinner and greeted her and asked for some menus she snapped “you’ll have to wait! Go outside and sit down but i’ll be a good few minutes!” The restaurant was nearly empty but we did as we were told. After 15 minutes, I went back inside. I said we knew what we would eat so could we just order it. She replied “Certainly not, I have 10 people to take orders from yet!” (There were only 4 tables in use and 3 of them were already eating!) I said could we just get a drink then while we wait and she said “no, I haven’t got time!”. I was gobsmacked! In the end the nice receptionist came and got us some drinks, took our order and brought our meals within 15 minutes! (The kitchen obviously wasn’t busy!) The receptionist (who seemed embarrassed by this waitress’ behaviour) and food were both excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank haroldthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

What a great review and I am so sorry about your experience with your server Our total team is great and we all strive to offer exceptional guest service. It appears with you we did not totally succeed. The way you were treated is not acceptable at all. No excuses but this person is generally great and we are dealing with this incident. I want to thank you for all the good things you had to say about us, we really appreciate you taking your time to write a review.
,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here to break the journey from Calgary to Vancouver, and after reading all the reveiws we were really looking forward to staying here. It is a really different experience and the setting is truely wonderful and very relaxing, but some other aspects of our stay were less than satisfactory. The receptionist was not really engaged with us on arrival and when we got up to our room, we found that it wasn not what we had booked. You also have to know that there is no elevator in this Inn so if you have mobility issues you need a room on the main floor.
The receptionist did become a whole lot more helpful when I asked to be moved to a room which we had booked and from then on she was very helpful.
Unfortunately we got very little sleep. We were in room 56 and the bed was so hard we could have slept on the floor. My husband likes a hard bed, but this was rediculous. Also, the air conditioning unit was very old and noisy and we had to switch it off because of the noise, so the room became very hot.
The restaurant and bar was great. The food was really good and the staff here were fabulous.
The pool and Jacuzzi area are really nice and the grounds are fabulous. The decor in the hotel is a little dated, but is really quite quaint and not a problem, and the journey up the drive is wonderful!
I did complain in the morning and my complaint was handled very well. The receptionist called for a manager who involved the owner, and all the staff were really sorry that our stay had not been of the standard which we were expecting. We will definetly give the hotel another chance on our next visit to Kamloops.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river can be noisy, I would ask for a golf course view in future.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagzRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

I want to thank you for writing such a detailed review. We of course love all the great comments you have written about us and as I have said previously welcome comments that can help us improve our guests experience. So sorry you & your husband found the bed so hard, we have always been told that our beds are extremely comfortable. We generally hear “Best sleep” “Wonderful beds”. I am happy you spoke with me and will make sure at your next visit your bed is softer. We appreciate that you will give us another chance to meet and hopefully exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The rooms have a lot of character, much more that your typical hotel room. The Deck and pool overlooking the river and the extensive grounds would make it a great place for a family reunion or business meeting.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

Our team love hearing that our guests enjoy their friendly service, I will pass that on to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Kamloops happens to be halfway between Jasper and Whistler and that's the only why we had considered spend one night in Kamloops. After the splendour of Jasper and Banff, coming into Kamloops was a heart breaking. Back to the industrial age ! But in this misery coing to the south thompson inn was quite a relief. The hotel is in a much nicer district of the city, quiet. It is very clean and well maintained. The rooms are of a good size extremely clean too. And above alleverybody in the hotel has been so helpful that we will always remember that overnight stay. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and that was also a very good experience. If we happen to be in the situation to,spend one night in Kamloops again, we will go back to south thompson inn without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eliacam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

Thank you so much for taking your time to write such a lovely review of your stay with us, we never get tired of hearing such wonderful words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stayed here after our first night on the Rocky Mountaineer. It is outside of town, and in a beautiful picturesque setting, complete with horses and llamas. The staff and owner were friendly and attentive. Rooms have a balcony that overlooks the river with the mountains in the distance. Perfect place to unwind and enjoy nature. Loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

Always happy to hear positive comments, I will definitely let Leah know you thought she was fantastic. Painting currently being done. Thanks also for your suggestions and very glad you you will back again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews