We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay for a work conference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Kamloops, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice stay for a work conference”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We really enjoyed the atmosphere and service we received while staying at the Inn for a work conference. The staff were friendly and always ready to provide us with anything we needed. The rooms could use some new decor but overall a lovely place to stay whether for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Thank you for writing your review and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We have quite a variety of décor. Every room is different from modern business Kings to our original Laura Ashley design Something for everyone. We update a few rooms every year so soon no more Laura Ashley. Next time you stay with us please request one of these newly decorated rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    202
    56
    20
    12
See reviews for
149
310
18
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2011

I travel extensively and have eaten in many good restaurants
over the years. The restaurant was a delightful surprise.
The flatbread appetizer is fantastic- up there with Trattoria Dell’Arte’s
pizza in New York! Your serving sizes are more than generous and the prices
are certainly not a reflection of the caliber of food being served! Their ingredients are 85% local. The server was fun to talk to and extremely knowledgeable about the menu. I will be sure to spread the word about this hidden gem .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
I will pass on your great comments to Chef Mitch. Love hearing people would recommend us, thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Stopped over on trip from jasper to whistler and ideal place for a one night rest. Lovely location on river and staff very friendly. Wedding going on while we were there but no problems with noise. We had good meal on terrace. Only downside was lack of even a fridge in the rooms as most of the rooms that we stayed in had full kitchens and would have been helpful to be able to store some items eg butter, cheese and drinks. Also location cried out for the opportunity to be able to take a boat out on the river. Overall though would recommend or anyone looking to stop near kamloops for a break.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie_Anna_Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
We are always happy to hear our guests would recommend us, thank you. Also we are happy to put a mini fridge into your room next time, just ask when you make your reservation and we will have one in your room upon your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stopped here when driving from Vancouver to Jasper in the Rockies. It's a perfect place for an overnight being just outside the town of Kamloops.

Staff were super friendly, our room clean and comfy (if a little chintzy) with 2 double beds and a nice view. The bar / restaurant on stie was good and reasonably priced. We ate outside on the terrace where you get a view over the river.

There is a an outdoor pool to lounge by, plus paddocks to explore and bikes to use.

It's a little out on it's own, a drive back into Kamloops if you want anything, but that wasn't an issue for us as the hotel had everything we needed.

I would recommend having Satnav or detailed map to get there, it's a little off the beaten track across the railroad and bridge.

Room Tip: Long goods trains run along the other side of the river to the hotel. You might want a room on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick7654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Thank you for staying with us and also for taking your time to write a review, we always appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2011

This place was was excellent in all ways. From the staff to the scenery and into the dining room. One of the best weekends i have ever had. Thank you to all the staff at the South Thompson Inn. Cheers.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Wow, thanks so much for your wonderful review. So very glad you enjoyed yourself so much, our team loves hearing this!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

The moment our Group (Entrada Regatta) arrived at the South Thompson Inn, the hotel manager and staff made us feel at home. They couldn't have done more for us. From the welcome banner on arriving to going out of their way in taking a group photo when we departed. It was a great way to start Entrada Regatta's 15th Anniversary Adventure Trip in BC!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
So glad you enjoyed your stay and we would welcome your group back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Our rafting group spent our first night in BC at the South Thompson Inn while en route to Wells Gray Park to raft the Clearwater River. We were very pleased with our hotel choice. The staff had hung a "Welcome Team Entrada Regatta" sign outside the main building, and had another welcome sign at the front desk when we arrived. Very cool. The restaurant staff also printed personalized menus for our group. From the start (indeed, even before we arrived), everyone at the Inn went out of his/her way to make our visit special. We stayed in the Manor House, which is great for a group of our size. It sits right along the river and comfortably housed 12 guys who like a lot of space. In short, the Inn has great staff, very comfortable rooms, a nice view, and very good food. We had a great experience. I would recommend it to others heading to (or through) the Kamloops area -- whether or not with a group. While it's a bit outside of town, from the look of the hotels in town, it's well worth the extra few minutes drive.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Entrada_Regatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
We are very happy your group had such a great experience during your stay with us. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and had fun rafting the Clearwater River. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Hotel 540
#7 of 54 in Kamloops
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kamloops
949 reviews
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Thompson Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Property: South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Address: 3438 Shuswap Rd, Kamloops, British Columbia V2H 1T2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#1 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Thompson Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Unique Boutique" Inn is situated on 55 beautifully landscaped acres right on the South Thompson River. Guest accommodations are all individually decorated and feature balconies overlooking the spectacular mountain or river views, luxurious bathrobes, soaker or jetted bathtubs & complimentary wireless internet service. Adjacent to Rivershore Golf Links."Kentucky style" Inn with Western Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your South Thompson Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Thompson Conference Center
South Thompson Inn - Guest Ranch
South Thompson Inn And Conference Center
South Thompson Hotel Kamloops
Thompson Inn Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing