We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, British Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service!!”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I recently stayed at the South Thompson Inn while attending a conference. While the rooms were nice and spotlessly clean, the thing that really stood out for me was the excellent customer service. Virtually all staff from the owner on down were proactively helpful. It made the experience most enjoyable. An excellent place for a small conference or business retreat.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Majorwoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Thank you so much! Our team strives extremely hard to make our guests stay special and love it when they succeed. Appreciate your comments. We will pass it on to everyone. How great, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    196
    53
    19
    11
See reviews for
144
296
18
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

although we had some trouble finding the hotel we had a very pleasant stay there. Because of the beautiful weather we asked for a river vuew room, which was no problem. The room was okay and we loved the balcony. We also ate at the restaurant hotel and made a reservation in advance. We were suprised that we received a menu card which was printed with our namens. It's just a detail but it gives you an extra smile at your face. The food was good and the portions were very royal. We also had breakfast but that wasn't exciting. Servers were very friendly and rooms were clean and wide enough.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience with us. We always love reading the comments and happy you had a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We selected Kamloops and the South Thompson Inn for our annual couples Golf Trip. the Inn bent over backwards to arrange the proper T times and prepared a fantastic dinner. The attention to detail was excellent. The unique and relaxed atmosphere was wonderfull, we enjoyed the view and pool. We will definitely be back. the only thing they could not do was help my putting..

Room Tip: All rooms have nice views. The ground floor south units have large patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Wow, thank you! As we have said our team thrives on such wonderful comments. So glad to welcome you back in the future. Sorry we could not have helped with your putting. Actually maybe we can. Call Jesse the head pro at Canoe Creek Golf Course 250 832 3285. Tell him David said to give you a putting lesson on me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I stayed there on business for a conference and it was great. The food was absolutely the best and the staff were awesome. We had a little trouble with wireless connections however nothing that was significant enough to cause any major difficulties.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khpPenticton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
We sure are appreciative when we get such positive comments from our guests, thank you so much! We did have a wireless blip, sorry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We really enjoyed the atmosphere and service we received while staying at the Inn for a work conference. The staff were friendly and always ready to provide us with anything we needed. The rooms could use some new decor but overall a lovely place to stay whether for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Thank you for writing your review and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We have quite a variety of décor. Every room is different from modern business Kings to our original Laura Ashley design Something for everyone. We update a few rooms every year so soon no more Laura Ashley. Next time you stay with us please request one of these newly decorated rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2011

I travel extensively and have eaten in many good restaurants
over the years. The restaurant was a delightful surprise.
The flatbread appetizer is fantastic- up there with Trattoria Dell’Arte’s
pizza in New York! Your serving sizes are more than generous and the prices
are certainly not a reflection of the caliber of food being served! Their ingredients are 85% local. The server was fun to talk to and extremely knowledgeable about the menu. I will be sure to spread the word about this hidden gem .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
I will pass on your great comments to Chef Mitch. Love hearing people would recommend us, thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Stopped over on trip from jasper to whistler and ideal place for a one night rest. Lovely location on river and staff very friendly. Wedding going on while we were there but no problems with noise. We had good meal on terrace. Only downside was lack of even a fridge in the rooms as most of the rooms that we stayed in had full kitchens and would have been helpful to be able to store some items eg butter, cheese and drinks. Also location cried out for the opportunity to be able to take a boat out on the river. Overall though would recommend or anyone looking to stop near kamloops for a break.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie_Anna_Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
We are always happy to hear our guests would recommend us, thank you. Also we are happy to put a mini fridge into your room next time, just ask when you make your reservation and we will have one in your room upon your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
929 reviews
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Hotel 540
#7 of 55 in Kamloops
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Thompson Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Property: South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Address: 3438 Shuswap Rd, Kamloops, British Columbia V2H 1T2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#1 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Thompson Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Unique Boutique" Inn is situated on 55 beautifully landscaped acres right on the South Thompson River. Guest accommodations are all individually decorated and feature balconies overlooking the spectacular mountain or river views, luxurious bathrobes, soaker or jetted bathtubs & complimentary wireless internet service. Adjacent to Rivershore Golf Links."Kentucky style" Inn with Western Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your South Thompson Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Thompson Conference Center
South Thompson Inn - Guest Ranch
South Thompson Hotel Kamloops
South Thompson Inn And Conference Center
Thompson Inn Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing