We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My family was out in Kamloops for a wedding and chose The South Thompson Inn because of its beautiful setting and amenities. We found the desk staff very friendly and the room and pool area very clean and well maintained and the views were lovely. We loved being able to walk over and visit the horses and alpacas, and were pleasantly surprised when we were informed that there were bicycles available to use! This is a fantastic place to come for a family getaway and well worth the extra drive to town! A mini fridge in our room would have been nice as would menus for the restaurant to look at in the room. My only real complaint is the shared balcony. Our first neighbors kept coming over to look in our room and then the next day the new people in the room stole our chairs and had a large group out there! Putting some kind of a barrier between the two sides would be nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 300StephanF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

I loved reading all of your very positive comments about your stay with us. Next time you come to visit please ask the front desk to put a mini fridge in your room for your arrival. They are happy to do that. Also ask for a menu to take to your room. We do not include in the rooms as we often change some of our menu items, sometimes daily and we would not want to have you decide on something in your room and it not be available in the dining room. We actually print new menus daily so our guests do not get wrinkled or stained ones. Sorry to hear that the neighbours took your chairs, I sure hope you told the front desk so they could bring you some. Thank you again for your review.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

440 - 446 of 789 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is a classy hotel in a beautiful setting right by the river. Lovely large rooms with shared veranda. Immaculate grounds. Experience spoiled by written warning on arrival of $300 fine for smoking and no drinking of own alcohol in public. No tea making facilities. Also as a group had our meals in dark basement room

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Some TripAdviser comments are easier to answers than others. I never understand people being offended by laws we are obligated to enforce. We enforce all smoking laws so to protect our many non-smoking guests. We do have designated smoking areas and also have 55 acres to roam and smoke. The alcohol rule is to protect our liquor license. We have found the potential penalty of $300 helps let people know these are serious issues. We have tea available 24/7. Coffee as well. We do not have a dark basement room. It is actually a ground floor room You were part of a bus tour and The Kentucky room is where the tour chooses to have dinner. It also has a beautiful patio overlooking the pool and river. We sure appreciate your positive comments about our property.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were very dissapppinted with our stay. Although the brochure says it's only 15 mins outside the city center it's a actually a 30 min drive. On top of that google maps told us the wrong way to get there. It appeared that the hotel was right by the city and we searched for 20 minutes until we had the sense to call. Only then, we discovered we were 30 minutes away! We were promised "soaker tubs" but they were barely large enough to get halfway in. In the morning, we wanted to enjoy the beautiful landscape before we left but the breakfast was pathetic. 10$ for cereal? With nothing close by you would expect a warm breakfast, naturally. Instead we left hungry with a bad taste in our mouth.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We have no control of Google maps and for sure not responsible for what they do. I have been mislead from Google maps in the past as well. We have contacted them a number of times to report these kinds of issues and they do not seem to care.
We absolutely do not offer a bowl of cereal for $10. We offer a full continental breakfast for $10 which includes yogurt, a muffin or banana bread, orange juice, fruit and yes cereal.
The soaker tubs are 6’ jetted Jacuzzi tubs so cannot understand how you only able to get halfway in.
It appears to me your experience with Google may have set your tone for your visit with us.

I appreciate your comment about our landscape. It is really a shame you did not spend time on our property, it is such a peaceful place to walk around.


David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The South Thompson Inn is consistently a great spot to stay.
Lovely views over the South Thompson River. Friendly reception and good service. Nice pool and hot tub.
The location is a few minutes out of Kamloops, but worth the drive. River shore Golf Couse is right next door . Pet friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMax100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for telling Tripadvisor about your experience staying with us. This is so important to us.
We really appreciate it and of course the great comments. Hope to see you again! David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We wanted to stay somewhere along the Thompson river near Kamloops. The drive along the river from other side is beautiful and gives you a different perspective than driving along the #1 from either Chase or Kamloops depending on which way you are coming. Rooms were very clean.Beds very comfortable. Downside was we were on second floor, so had to lug the luggage upstairs. If you smoke, there are few places to go. Overall nice quiet place to stay after a long drive.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 111Shezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

I wish guests would ask as we are always happy to deal with their luggage. As far a smoking is concerned this is difficult. We follow the law and do not allow smoking anywhere other guests may be affected. We do have a great gazebo out front of The Inn and I am building a shelter overlooking the river as a second covered area. In addition we are on 55 acres.
Thanks David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly, room was very comfortable with a great view overlooking the river with a balcony, food was good and bar staff very attentive, really nice stay, and good value

Room Tip: Go for the river side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind words. Your mention about a “Bit of Spoiling” is great to hear but to us it’s what we expect of our service. We are always so thrilled when our guests leave happy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

About 10 minutes from city centre this is a very nice place for a romantic escape. I was on business and was terribly missing the wife! Seriously it is a nice quiet place that offers a lot and to make matters even better, it's affordable. Plenty of activities, they even rent bicycles for free. The only thing that I have to say is if you go on business, the working place is chanllenging in your room. Super duper comfortable bed, quiet room (except for the trainsssssssssssss with a waterfront room).
Unbelievably good grilled cheese for diner and inexpensive.
The coffee is also very good at breakfast ($10 fee for breakfast).
On trip advisor this place very well deserves its high ranking.
I will definately go again.

Room Tip: Although waterfront rooms have a nice view, it might me more quiet on the other side of the hotel, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvain F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for telling Tripadvisor about your positive experiences while staying with us, we really appreciate it. We also love hearing you will come back. Maybe eventually we will not be so hidden. When you book your next stay with us ask for a room with a mountain range view as you will not hear the train, so silent you will think you lost your hearing. We also have beautiful business Kings which include a large desk for those who must work. Coffee is Lavazza a real Italian roast
It is difficult for a small property like ours to stay #1 on Tripadvisor. This out of 54 properties in Kamloops . It is guests like you who keep us here. Thank you

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Hotel 540
#5 of 54 in Kamloops
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kamloops
981 reviews
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Thompson Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Address: 3438 Shuswap Rd, Kamloops, British Columbia V2H 1T2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range: £59 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Thompson Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Unique Boutique" Inn is situated on 55 beautifully landscaped acres right on the South Thompson River. Guest accommodations are all individually decorated and feature balconies overlooking the spectacular mountain or river views, luxurious bathrobes, soaker or jetted bathtubs & complimentary wireless internet service. Adjacent to Rivershore Golf Links."Kentucky style" Inn with Western Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your South Thompson Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Thompson Conference Center
South Thompson Inn - Guest Ranch
South Thompson Hotel Kamloops
South Thompson Inn And Conference Center
Thompson Inn Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing