We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquillity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Crowsnest Pass, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tranquillity”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

A place of tranquil beauty and green spaces. The hotel, designed in a country estate style, is a beautiful landmark nestled against a picturesque river. The interior reflects the equestrian theme of the inn with interesting art. Our room over looked spacious lawns and we enjoyed breakfast on a sweeping veranda featuring wicker furniture. The reception and restaurant staff were beyond friendly - they were more than welcoming - we so appreciate their assistance. The rooms, while well-appointed, lack in-room coffee service. However, service is provided in the reception area. We particularly enjoyed a stroll of the grounds including river-front, horse corrals and meandering stream.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
I love all your positive comments about your experience with us. We have a great team and yes we can be fairly relaxed and laid back at times. Hopefully not at the expense of guest service for this is our focus. Every once in a while we get caught at check-in. Sorry for it happening to you. Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor.

Thanks David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    196
    53
    19
    11
See reviews for
144
296
18
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

my husband and were in need of a quiet overnight get away . booked in one night for the sunset and sage package . it was the BEST.!!!! from the moment you drove on to the grounds you were in a very good place. staff excellent. the pool just right. our snacks and meals were a 10 . watched the evening sky ever changing. fell relaxed in to our king size bed.

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barryirma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
I really enjoyed reading your review! You painted a very tranquil picture of you stay with us. Love when people from Kamloops discover us and have a get-a-way so close to home.
Thank you! David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed one night at this lovely out of the way hotel in Kamloops. Very nicely appointed facilities in a quiet expansive landscape. The hotel is a "ranch" on many acres of what appears used to be an active enterprise. The room was large with comfy king size bed and little sitting area. Nice balcony overlooking the South Thompson River and well-kept lawns and gardens. Staff was friendly but a tad "laid back" and not enough of them when we checked in.

Room Tip: Room upstairs facing River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2hi2cu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
I love all your positive comments about your experience with us. We have a great team and yes we can be fairly relaxed and laid back at times. Hopefully not at the expense of guest service for this is our focus. Every once in a while we get caught at check-in. Sorry for it happening to you. Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor.

Thanks David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We three related family seniors were greeted most efficiently and graciously at South Thompson Inn desk staff evening of June 17th. Our room faced the river and we ate our Subway supper on the balcony. Had a nice little cool down in the pool and warm up in hte hot tub before bed. The coffee (tea) pot always available in the library downstairs was an especially nice touch. Fun to look at their photo album in the foyer of all the special events they have hosted there along with many weddings. Got a photo in the black carriage outside and we enjoyed the bikes that were available to see more of the property. Checking out very personable and we both received our Visa receipts.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
So happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Glad you enjoyed the bikes. I added them a few years ago so our guests can do exactly what you did, enjoy our 55 acres. I sure appreciate you taking your time to write such a detailed review on Tripadvisor. Thank you and hope to see you again!
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My family was out in Kamloops for a wedding and chose The South Thompson Inn because of its beautiful setting and amenities. We found the desk staff very friendly and the room and pool area very clean and well maintained and the views were lovely. We loved being able to walk over and visit the horses and alpacas, and were pleasantly surprised when we were informed that there were bicycles available to use! This is a fantastic place to come for a family getaway and well worth the extra drive to town! A mini fridge in our room would have been nice as would menus for the restaurant to look at in the room. My only real complaint is the shared balcony. Our first neighbors kept coming over to look in our room and then the next day the new people in the room stole our chairs and had a large group out there! Putting some kind of a barrier between the two sides would be nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 300StephanF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
I loved reading all of your very positive comments about your stay with us. Next time you come to visit please ask the front desk to put a mini fridge in your room for your arrival. They are happy to do that. Also ask for a menu to take to your room. We do not include in the rooms as we often change some of our menu items, sometimes daily and we would not want to have you decide on something in your room and it not be available in the dining room. We actually print new menus daily so our guests do not get wrinkled or stained ones. Sorry to hear that the neighbours took your chairs, I sure hope you told the front desk so they could bring you some. Thank you again for your review.
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is a classy hotel in a beautiful setting right by the river. Lovely large rooms with shared veranda. Immaculate grounds. Experience spoiled by written warning on arrival of $300 fine for smoking and no drinking of own alcohol in public. No tea making facilities. Also as a group had our meals in dark basement room

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Some TripAdviser comments are easier to answers than others. I never understand people being offended by laws we are obligated to enforce. We enforce all smoking laws so to protect our many non-smoking guests. We do have designated smoking areas and also have 55 acres to roam and smoke. The alcohol rule is to protect our liquor license. We have found the potential penalty of $300 helps let people know these are serious issues. We have tea available 24/7. Coffee as well. We do not have a dark basement room. It is actually a ground floor room You were part of a bus tour and The Kentucky room is where the tour chooses to have dinner. It also has a beautiful patio overlooking the pool and river. We sure appreciate your positive comments about our property.
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were very dissapppinted with our stay. Although the brochure says it's only 15 mins outside the city center it's a actually a 30 min drive. On top of that google maps told us the wrong way to get there. It appeared that the hotel was right by the city and we searched for 20 minutes until we had the sense to call. Only then, we discovered we were 30 minutes away! We were promised "soaker tubs" but they were barely large enough to get halfway in. In the morning, we wanted to enjoy the beautiful landscape before we left but the breakfast was pathetic. 10$ for cereal? With nothing close by you would expect a warm breakfast, naturally. Instead we left hungry with a bad taste in our mouth.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We have no control of Google maps and for sure not responsible for what they do. I have been mislead from Google maps in the past as well. We have contacted them a number of times to report these kinds of issues and they do not seem to care.
We absolutely do not offer a bowl of cereal for $10. We offer a full continental breakfast for $10 which includes yogurt, a muffin or banana bread, orange juice, fruit and yes cereal.
The soaker tubs are 6’ jetted Jacuzzi tubs so cannot understand how you only able to get halfway in.
It appears to me your experience with Google may have set your tone for your visit with us.

I appreciate your comment about our landscape. It is really a shame you did not spend time on our property, it is such a peaceful place to walk around.


David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
929 reviews
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Hotel 540
#7 of 55 in Kamloops
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Thompson Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Property: South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Address: 3438 Shuswap Rd, Kamloops, British Columbia V2H 1T2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#1 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Thompson Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Unique Boutique" Inn is situated on 55 beautifully landscaped acres right on the South Thompson River. Guest accommodations are all individually decorated and feature balconies overlooking the spectacular mountain or river views, luxurious bathrobes, soaker or jetted bathtubs & complimentary wireless internet service. Adjacent to Rivershore Golf Links."Kentucky style" Inn with Western Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your South Thompson Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Thompson Conference Center
South Thompson Inn - Guest Ranch
South Thompson Hotel Kamloops
South Thompson Inn And Conference Center
Thompson Inn Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing