We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms are very overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
100 Mile House
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rooms are very overpriced”
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Stayed at the inn for a wedding. The property and amenities are fabulous, however the hotel itself and the rooms are outdated. After paying $240 for a "suite" (which only meant a king size bed and a hide-a-bed, instead of 2 queens), we were charged $10 for a fridge, there was no in room coffee, and we shared the balcony with the room next to us, which was awkward. There was no door to the sink and mirror area, only to the bath and toilet, so I felt like there was nowhere private to do my makeup and what not. The room and hotel were clean, and I was happy to stay there, but if I'm spending that much I expect a better appointed, more modern room.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR_Kamloops, Guest Relations Manager at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 19 September 2010
Thank you for your complement about the wedding. We are well known for accommodating such events with quality and style.

I am sorry to hear, though, that you were not as pleased with the room in which you stayed. Our rooms are all decorated differently so that each one is unique and we are continually in the ongoing process of updating the decor. It sounds as though you stayed in one of the rooms that has not been redecorated recently.
While I understand not everyone is comfortable sharing a balcony, it is a part of Kentucky style and charm of days gone by, as is the free coffee bar where our guest enjoy the beautiful view of the river and socialize before they start their day.
If you stay with us again, perhaps you would consider reserving a room in the Manor House with its own balcony?
We look forward to the opportunity to show you the quality of service and hospitality we are well known for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    189
    53
    18
    11
See reviews for
141
282
17
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We stayed at The South Thompson Inn for just one night whilst on a driving tour from Calgary to Victoria and overall it was an entirely forgettable experience. Not good, not bad, just bland.

The property is rather out of the way but once found it actually presents very attractively indeed. The building is pretty and the gardens are lovely, framed as they are by white-railed horse paddocks.

Sadly, the Inn is nowhere near as charming inside as it looks from the outside. We found the service to be friendly but indifferent, although that may have had something to do with the fact that the place was filled to capacity with members of a loud, boozy, business-convention. Hardly the family atmosphere that they advertised!

Our room was upstairs (which meant a great deal of hauling around of heavy bags) and of bog-standard motel quality. Nothing in the remotest bit special, but clean and it did at least have air-con (which we found to be a rarity in Canada/Alaska, even in 5 star + places). There was really only the one choice that night as far as dining was concerned but, ‘because they served alcohol’ we weren’t permitted to bring our son indoors to eat. We ended up being banished to stools out on the verandah!

Look, there’s nothing actively wrong with the place if all you want is a bed, but if you scratch the surface, it’s just a roadside motel like a million others. I certainly wouldn't tell people it was awful, it's not, but I wouldn't bother going back either.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR_Kamloops, Guest Relations Manager at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 19 September 2010
What a shame you had not the time to take full advantage of our family fun amenities like the heated pool, hot tub and outdoor games. Children always love to visit with horses and llamas, which may have gone far in making your stay more fun. The wraparound veranda offers a beautiful view of the river and the water birds that make it their home.
I am sorry you did not feel as welcome during your dining experience. While licensing does not permit children in the lounge where liquor is served, you certainly have the option of dining inside in madisens, our fine dining restaurant. Perhaps madisens was filled to capacity at the time you visited us and that is why you were seated outside.
It is our desire to make everyone’s stay with us as comfortable and pleasant as possible. I would hope that we might have the opportunity to provide you and your family a more satisfying visit in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2010

If you want to walk out of your hotel and be in downtown Kamloops, don't stay here. However, if you appreciate open spaces, warm hospitality, and a family friendly environment, stay here. A short 10 minute drive to town but even closer to local attractions like the BC Zoo (also a must see if you have kids). Feels like a home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

We have stayed here before and with the same package. But this time we were terribly disappointed in the room and food. We have stayed in the same room previous, the linens were very old and stained. The arrival snack platter was very disappointing as it was not freshly made and cold meat was sour. The dinner that was part of the plan was so over priced, it clearly showed by the lack of locals in the dinning room. Breakfast CONSISTED OF JUICE (TANG), old muffin, very small piece of carrot slice,yogurt and coffee not deluxe by no means. The best part of the stay was the staff...they try really hard to make you feel great. It is a shame but this hotel is really too expensive and food is not good anymore.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bev2869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR_Kamloops, Guest Relations Manager at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 19 September 2010
We strive to provide our guests with top quality service every time they stay with us. I am pleased to hear our team made you feel welcome and appreciated. I also would like to thank you for bringing to our attention a few details we may have overlooked during your stay with us. We will make note of your concerns and include them in our plans to continually improve the quality of service to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coquitlam
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2010

just got back from a golf holiday in Kamloops. i stayed at the south thompson inn. golfed talking rock, tobiano and rivershore. rivershore happens to be right beside this hotel. next year i wont bother with the other courses ill just golf rivershore as it was literally steps from my room. the inn had great service and friendly staff i will defiantly be staying there again THANK YOU ..."STIGR"

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankv90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2010

I was part of a large group that took over most of the facility. I felt the staff were very friendly, accomodating, and helpful. The food was close to spectacular if only there could have been just a little more diversity in our provided menu. My room was very clean and no disappointments. There were a few small maintenence issues that I thought they could catch up on the facility. We were busy in our own program and didn't use some of their ammenities but, enjoyed being by the river near the horses. Found it to be a comfortable setting to relax with room to wander the area. Would have liked to have had an introduction to the facility and area with a map perhaps showing where things are. Not sure where they ride the horses the facility doesn't seem big enough for anything but the smallest ride.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad_Z_363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Unfortunately we were only in for one night would have loved to stayed longer. Found the service to be very warm and friendly. The room was extremely comfortable and very clean. Will look forward to staying there on our next trip through.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Hotel 540
#9 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Thompson Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Property: South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Address: 3438 Shuswap Rd, Kamloops, British Columbia V2H 1T2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Thompson Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Unique Boutique" Inn is situated on 55 beautifully landscaped acres right on the South Thompson River. Guest accommodations are all individually decorated and feature balconies overlooking the spectacular mountain or river views, luxurious bathrobes, soaker or jetted bathtubs & complimentary wireless internet service. Adjacent to Rivershore Golf Links."Kentucky style" Inn with Western Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your South Thompson Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Thompson Conference Center
South Thompson Inn - Guest Ranch
South Thompson Hotel Kamloops
South Thompson Inn And Conference Center
Thompson Inn Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing