We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovated back to former glory”
Review of The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Plaza Hotel
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Very nice renovations made to this hotel. Rooms were clean, and price was right. Staff extremely friendly. Continental breakfast was the best, order off a menu and food was fresh and hot, our waitress was a sweetheart . Bathroom was a bit small and hallways narrow but it was built in the 20s. Overall a great place to stay.

Room Tip: 3rd floor corner had great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsvieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

911 - 917 of 989 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

What a great job done on this old hotel, the rooms are small but very clean and well stocked, bottled water left in the room each evening was a welcome treat. Staff are doing a great job getting this renovated hotel up and running, breakfast which was included in the price was very good. The restaurant was opening the day we check out so did not get the opportunity to try the meals and lounge. Most certainly will return. Only one negative, the tour bus engine running early hours, can't do much about this small inconvenience for the very pleasant stay at a good room rate. My congratulations to the new management, I wish you all the very best in keeping up the standards you have set. I have shared my review with a family member who will pass on this information to visiting colleagues.

Room Tip: Good value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulineJsmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stopped by here on our way to Jasper. Just one night with two kids. Booked the night before online. Rooms were fantastic including mini fridge. Free cooked breakfast including bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs, toast, freshly cooked muffins, croissants as well as juice, coffee etc. staff were very friendly. Doesn't look like much on the outside but very new inside.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Our stay at The Plaza was, for the most part, quite nice. The hotel has a great deal of character and, for the most part, was well maintained. There were a few issues in an otherwise nice room. One of the only 2 light bulbs in the bathroom was burned out and someone had cleaned up the glass but had left the element in the socket. Secondly, another electrical issue was that if you sat on or moved the bed in a particular way, one of the bedside lights and the clock radio would turn off. I suspect the plugs were being rubbed by the mattress - a potential fire hazard. As to location, on the up side, it is close to shops and eateries and a lovely park. On the down side we saw alot of inebriated people wandering around. Hotel guests' cars are left in a surface Impark lot adjacent to the hotel and a liquor store. The hotel does not have cameras or security on the lot. Our car and at least one other guest's car had a window smashed out and items taken overnight. As such, although I could recommend the hotel, I think the location is a bit sketchy and would advise caution.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WanderingWebbs1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear valued guest, WanderingWebbs1985

Thank you for staying at the Plaza Hotel during your recent visit to Kamloops, BC.

I was most disappointed to learn of the unfortunate incident you had with your car in the parking lot. These incidents are certainly not indicative of the level of service nor accommodation that we pride ourselves at The Plaza Hotel.

I am pleased to inform you that the hotel will be adding more security cameras in the parking lot!

We value your business and look forward to welcoming you back to The Plaza Hotel in Kamloops real soon.

Best regards,
Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Thank you to Robynn Smith and her staff for helping us enjoy a very nice night in a great Heritage Hotel in Kamloops. The rooms were clean and the renovations were professionally done. The lounge and dining rooms are well appointed. All of the staff were very quick to help, with a real positive attitude.

Being downtown allowed us to walk to many of the retail outlets. Robynn helped handle a special request for us...Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor suite - king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

First time to Kamloops in many years. First time in a hotel there. What a great decision I made to stay at the Plaza. Centre of downtown, reasonable rates. Breakfast and long distance calls included ... As a former hotel front desk clerk for a larger worldwide chain, was very pleased with my stay here.
This older building has been expertly refubished to a charming and warm atmosphere with delightfully pleasant staff in every department.
Elaine M, Osoyoos, BC

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I just stayed at the Plaza Heritage Hotel in Kamloops, BC this past weekend. I stayed one night and it fit my needs perfectly. Free parking, free breakfast and free wifi. This hotel has been recently renovated and they did a great job. The lobby and restaurant are very nicely designed but with a feel appropriate to the age of the building. The elevator is small and kind of old world cool. The stairs are wide and easy to take. My room was #315. It had two beds and a big screen tv. It was small so don't expect to fit more than two people comfortably. The bathroom was also small but perfectly acceptable to me traveling solo. If you need lots of room to spread out in the bathroom you might not be too happy.

The breakfast area was very busy and they offered two complimentary options for breakfast. A continental and a hot traditional breakfast with some choices. It was busy and I had to wait for a few minutes. There was one staff member who was overwhelmed. She was trying to keep up and acknowledged me and told me she would be a few minutes. I was fine with it but others were not so obliging. The manager finally stepped in to help out but it was a little too late for some guests who just rolled their eyes and left.

The Plaza gives you what they advertise. I would stay here again and feel they did a good job at providing a quality service in a renovated older building.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KitsilanoGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Hotel 540
#5 of 54 in Kamloops
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Aberdeen
Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Address: 405 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Business Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range: £56 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamloops’ Grand Dame and only boutique hotel, The Plaza Hotel, is proudly reopening after an 8-month multi-million dollar renovation which has added style and modern conveniences throughout the hotel while preserving its treasured heritage charm.HERITAGE ELEGANCE WITH MODERN COMFORT.All 67 guest rooms received floor-to-ceiling refits, meeting rooms were given upgraded technology and design and the restaurant was remade with new decor and a brand new menu centered on locally-raised steak.New amenities:• New 24 hour business centre• 32” & 40" Samsung HDTVs• Premium HD entertainment and sport programming• Upgraded complimentary WiFi• Updated paint, wallpaper and colour schemes• New guestroom furniture• Superb triple sheeting and bathroom linens• iPod docking clock radios• Highest quality eco-friendly amenities• New bathroomsRESTAURANT: The newly-renovated Fireside Steakhouse & Bar at the Plaza Hotel is proudly offering a full range of locally-raised Black Angus steaks and other selections in relaxed, heritage surroundings perfect for any occasion. The completely renovated room features warm, inviting decor highlighted by a spectacular two-sided fireplace. The centerpiece of the menu is a wide range of premium Black Angus cuts from Southlands Ranch in Knutsford. This beef, available exclusively from the Fireside Steakhouse & Bar is raised by the Haughton family who have been ranching in the Kamloops area for over 100 years. MEETINGS AND BUSINESS TRAVEL: The Plaza Hotel has a variety of highly flexible, renovated function rooms and expert staff who can help you make your next event an unqualified success. The highly functional meeting rooms can accommodate up to 175 people and are ideal for small and medium size business meetings and social gatherings.WEDDINGS: The Plaza Hotel is an elegant and romantic wedding destination with multiple options for ceremonies and receptions and superb in-house catering from our expert kitchen team. Our experienced staff can offer support and insight in planning and executing a dream day and our newly-renovated guest rooms make a perfect place to end the special day for everyone including the happy couple who will adore our romantic Honeymoon Suite.LIQUOR STORE: Conveniently located at street level, the Plaza Hotel’s Liquor Store offers a wide selection of international and regional select wines, micro brew ales, domestic and imported beers and an impressive selection of spirits from around the world. Whether it’s beers for the BBQ, wine for a special dinner or whiskey for a night around the campfire, our knowledgeable and attentive staff will help you choose the right accompaniment for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Heritage Hotel
Plaza Heritage Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing