We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely top notch!!”
Review of The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Plaza Hotel
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Terrace, Canada
1 review
“absolutely top notch!!”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I had my wedding reception at the Plaza Hotel in August 2012...and I really cannot emphasize enough how wonderful and professional the staff was. Not only that, but I have to give mention to Tanya Bennett. She was exceptional. Her graciousness and professionalism was beyond my expectations! This hotel gives you more than you hope for, and not to mention, the rooms are gorgeous!! Our experience there was awesome...they definately go above and beyond for their guests...we will be returning for our anniversaries for sure!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    405
    102
    19
    19
See reviews for
148
506
62
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Booked a room at The Plaza even though there were a few bad reviews. Located right downtown, you can't beat the proximity to good restos and pubs, including th hotel lobby bar with has amazing Caesers. The building is very nice, there is true HDTV in every room, very comfy beds and very nice guest rooms. Overall a pleasant experience and about worth the price.

Room Tip: There are some rooms that aren't wheelchair accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevseif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

we were given this accomodation as part of the redleaf carriage booking on the rocky mountaineer train.the train stops in kamloops for 1 night and your check in and keys handover is all done on the train as you arrive in kamloops.at the plaza staff were very friendly,there is a lift for those who need it.we were very happy with our queen room.immaculate condition.very comfortable bed with good linen ,tv ,clockradio.the ensuite had a shower ,toilet ,vanity.all brand new.downstairs there is a lovely dining room.we ate out though and breakfast was on the train early next morning.the hotel is in the main street and there are a number of eateries.in our room there was a very informative copy of the newspaper that was printed the day the plaza opened, wayback it was a really big event in the region.it makes a great read about the times.there are a number of old photos of the history of the hotel and its people in the corridors. there was a coffee making machine or tea available as well in our room.also some really delicious homemade marshmallows.if i ever went back to kamloops i would stay here again.were given the info on the train that kamloops has more baseball diamonds per capita than anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondiesorrento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This is a great little hotel right in the heart of town that has recently been renovated. Good sized rooms, right in the heart of town and very affordable. In fact a much better option in many way than the more highly rated Fairmont which has the views but is out of town a bit. Wi-fi of course, plus free extras such as toothbrush, toothpaste, shaving cream (and all good quality). On top of all that though, for any international traveller you can phone home anywhere in the world for free. One of the best places we stayed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waynos22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear valued guest - Waynos22

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your very positive feedback. We value your business and we will do our utmost to ensure the most positive and pleasant experience when staying at the Plaza Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel real soon.

Best regards,
Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Pretty rooms,a little in the small side but adequate for our needs.Nice,fluffy towels and free international calls! Complementry breakfast ans toilett items such as tooth brushes etc. The receptionists very friendly and helpful.The rates are very good for the accommodations provided.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bare-with-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear valued guest, nordicbare

Thank you for taking the time to share your very kind words and feedback. We value our guests and their feedback and we will do our utmost to ensure the most positive and pleasant experience when staying at the Plaza Hotel. I will share your comments with the entire team and specially our receptionists.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel real soon.

Best regards,
Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

The Plaza has been recently renovated and combines the charm of an older hotel with up-to-date convenience. The common areas are bright and clean. My room was quiet and perfectly suited to my needs as a business traveller. The location in the middle of town means restaurants and shopping are just steps away. Should you decide to dine in, the hotel restaurant is bright and airy and serves very good food. The buffet breakfast was included in my rate and was excellent value. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. The next time I am in Kamloops I will stay at the Plaza.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bizguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear valued guest, bizguy

Thank you for taking the time to share your very kind words and feedback. We always strive to provide the most positive and pleasant experience when staying at The Plaza Hotel.

We value your business and look forward to welcoming you back to the Plaza Hotel in Kamloops real soon.

Best regards,
Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary AB
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Ahhhh character! I happen to love it. With character comes the some of the drawbacks of older living styles, but I did love the smaller rooms and found that the renovations were done with attention and care to preserve the original architecture and style. This hotel was build in 1928 and I enjoyed the po-mo blend of modern fixtures with art-deco orignal charm. I do admit to being a mite nervous about the parking lot, as the older downtown location has its share of sketchy characters - they were inhabiting a park bench not far from the hotel, I found them to be harmless, although perhaps (judging by some of the comments) intoxicated. (I appreciated that they were very quiet, unlike some of the noisy drunk yahoos I have recently experienced while camping in recreation areas.) I walked my dog on my own that night and found the street to be well-lit. Of course it is always advisable to venture out in a group or in pairs being female, but I felt safe enough to do a short walk. I suspect that this area in Kamloops, like many cities, has had a colourful history, and is undergoing a shift in affluence...luckily they were not blasting Bizet's "Carmen" over loud speakers, to scare away the locals...as is done in certain cities. As it was, our room overlooked the parking lot, and I was reassured to see that our vehicle was left undisturbed!

Musings about the socio-economic eco-cycles of cities aside, we had a delicious meal at the Greek restaurant across the street and a lovely nighttime walk to the river (meeting some more friendly drunken characters en route). My partner and I slept very comfortably in a very clean and airconditioned room. We did not have any issues with street noise, and we were happy to find such a cute hotel that would let us have our chihuahua Oscar stay as well. (We were not called on our cell phones, so we assume that no one complained about our barking dog - who has separation anxiety - perhaps this is another tribute to the soundproofing renovations.) On the down side, we were surprised by the maid opening the door without knocking at 08:00hr. I suppose we should have left our "do not disturb" sign on the door knob.

I also greatly enjoyed the delicious breakfast that was included in the overall price (which was very reasonable) that was served in the Fireside restaurant. The lovely lady who served us was a delight. We will definitely go back to this hotel to explore Kamloops more.

Note: As far as I know there was no swimming pool or fitness centre (as rated in the optional section). However, I can't rate it "N/A" as there is no category so have put it higher to better reflect our overall experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Rowen W

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your very positive and detailed feedback. We value your business and we will do our utmost to ensure the most positive and pleasant experience when staying at the Plaza Hotel.

You are right, there is no swimming pool and fitness centre in the hotel but we have partnered with YMCA which is located 2 blocks from the hotel and has an extensive fitness centre and a swimming pool. Our guests have complimentary access to the entire facility.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel real soon.

Best regards,
Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Hotel 540
#7 of 55 in Kamloops
1,431 reviews
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Property: The Plaza Hotel
Address: 405 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kamloops
#9 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#11 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamloops’ Grand Dame and only boutique hotel, The Plaza Hotel, is proudly reopening after an 8-month multi-million dollar renovation which has added style and modern conveniences throughout the hotel while preserving its treasured heritage charm.HERITAGE ELEGANCE WITH MODERN COMFORT.All 67 guest rooms received floor-to-ceiling refits, meeting rooms were given upgraded technology and design and the restaurant was remade with new decor and a brand new menu centered on locally-raised steak.New amenities:• New 24 hour business centre• 32” & 40" Samsung HDTVs• Premium HD entertainment and sport programming• Upgraded complimentary WiFi• Updated paint, wallpaper and colour schemes• New guestroom furniture• Superb triple sheeting and bathroom linens• iPod docking clock radios• Highest quality eco-friendly amenities• New bathroomsRESTAURANT: The newly-renovated Fireside Steakhouse & Bar at the Plaza Hotel is proudly offering a full range of locally-raised Black Angus steaks and other selections in relaxed, heritage surroundings perfect for any occasion. The completely renovated room features warm, inviting decor highlighted by a spectacular two-sided fireplace. The centerpiece of the menu is a wide range of premium Black Angus cuts from Southlands Ranch in Knutsford. This beef, available exclusively from the Fireside Steakhouse & Bar is raised by the Haughton family who have been ranching in the Kamloops area for over 100 years. MEETINGS AND BUSINESS TRAVEL: The Plaza Hotel has a variety of highly flexible, renovated function rooms and expert staff who can help you make your next event an unqualified success. The highly functional meeting rooms can accommodate up to 175 people and are ideal for small and medium size business meetings and social gatherings.WEDDINGS: The Plaza Hotel is an elegant and romantic wedding destination with multiple options for ceremonies and receptions and superb in-house catering from our expert kitchen team. Our experienced staff can offer support and insight in planning and executing a dream day and our newly-renovated guest rooms make a perfect place to end the special day for everyone including the happy couple who will adore our romantic Honeymoon Suite.LIQUOR STORE: Conveniently located at street level, the Plaza Hotel’s Liquor Store offers a wide selection of international and regional select wines, micro brew ales, domestic and imported beers and an impressive selection of spirits from around the world. Whether it’s beers for the BBQ, wine for a special dinner or whiskey for a night around the campfire, our knowledgeable and attentive staff will help you choose the right accompaniment for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Heritage Hotel
Plaza Heritage Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing