We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Plaza Hotel
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Rhondda Cynon Taff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fine Hotel”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Good hotel only there for one night on through trip.Strange that the hotel has only one lift that only holds 4 people, when you have a large group, if you are on the 5th floor as we were it took some time tio get there. However the room is very good perhaps the most comforable bed I have slept in on the whole trip.Bit disappointed with Kamloops arrived there at 1700 and most of the place was shut If you didn't want to eat in the hotel restaurant, the only other place open was Boston Pizza. However it didn't spoil the experience

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PenrhysRhondda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    388
    96
    15
    19
See reviews for
141
485
61
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
196 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Adorably renovated hotel featuring an awesome breakfast and super-clean rooms. Staff was extremely accommodating and the location downtown was nice. However, be sure to take a room off of the main street --especially if it is on the weekend. There is a liquor store below the hotel and several clubs within a block, so on a saturday night things get pretty lively out there. Windows are thin, so a lot of the noise came through into our room until around 3:30 am. Inside the hotel is very quiet.

Room Tip: A room off the main street might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LESBourgeoises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
238 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Walk into the past but all modern amenities. I have rated it higher because it is charming and the staff are very friendly. I was upgraded to a junior suite which is a lovely large room with a couch and sitting area where you can watch a nice Samsung HD TV. The room is large enough that it was almost hard to view the tv from bed. The unique features of this hotel are firstly free international phone calls, a feature I have never seen before in an age where hotels want to charge you $1.50 for a local call. Second, 10% off for guests in the attached liquor store, and third free breakfast. You also have free access to the Y a few blocks away. The rooms are air conditioned although they still have the old silver radiators in the room, although I'm not sure they are functional. The only downside is that I was facing the main drag and there are some Kamloopians (not sure that is correct) that like to race their engines late at night. The bar and lounge are also heritage and I didn't eat dinner but the menu looked good. Central location and will stay again but maybe face a different direction.

Room Tip: ask for a room that does not face onto Victoria Street but go for the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljz53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

This is my new place to stay while in the Loops. Great service, value, food and location. I used to stay at the 4 Points and Holiday Inn Express but the location is not great. Especially in the cold winters up there.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acres_of_Lions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We visited Kamloops for one night, on our trip from Whistler to Clearwater.
We had no reservations for a hotel, so we stopped at the Plaza Heritage Hotel to see if they had space available. We got a room with queen size bed, toilet and shower, with breakfast for CA$119,- (excluding tax). They had bigger rooms, as we noticed when they showed us the available rooms. But this one was OK for us. It was very clean, not very big but enough space for two adults.
Since the hotel is in the centre of Kamloops, everything was within walking distance.
There is a liquor store next to the hotel, you get 10% discount when you show the key of the room.
We had dinner that night in the restaurant of the hotel, which was very nice. The service was excellent (personal, friendly and good advice about wines and desert.)
We slept perfect, since there was little noise.
The breakfast was OK, continental-style.
If you prefer a more personal place to spend the night, not staying in one of the many hotels along highway 1, I would recommend the Plaza Heritage Hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank New-Flying-Dutchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrace, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I had my wedding reception at the Plaza Hotel in August 2012...and I really cannot emphasize enough how wonderful and professional the staff was. Not only that, but I have to give mention to Tanya Bennett. She was exceptional. Her graciousness and professionalism was beyond my expectations! This hotel gives you more than you hope for, and not to mention, the rooms are gorgeous!! Our experience there was awesome...they definately go above and beyond for their guests...we will be returning for our anniversaries for sure!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Booked a room at The Plaza even though there were a few bad reviews. Located right downtown, you can't beat the proximity to good restos and pubs, including th hotel lobby bar with has amazing Caesers. The building is very nice, there is true HDTV in every room, very comfy beds and very nice guest rooms. Overall a pleasant experience and about worth the price.

Room Tip: There are some rooms that aren't wheelchair accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevseif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Hotel 540
#8 of 55 in Kamloops
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Riverland Inn & Suites
#16 of 55 in Kamloops
307 reviews
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Property: The Plaza Hotel
Address: 405 Victoria Street, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kamloops
#9 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#11 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamloops’ Grand Dame and only boutique hotel, The Plaza Hotel, is proudly reopening after an 8-month multi-million dollar renovation which has added style and modern conveniences throughout the hotel while preserving its treasured heritage charm.HERITAGE ELEGANCE WITH MODERN COMFORT.All 67 guest rooms received floor-to-ceiling refits, meeting rooms were given upgraded technology and design and the restaurant was remade with new decor and a brand new menu centered on locally-raised steak.New amenities:• New 24 hour business centre• 32” & 40" Samsung HDTVs• Premium HD entertainment and sport programming• Upgraded complimentary WiFi• Updated paint, wallpaper and colour schemes• New guestroom furniture• Superb triple sheeting and bathroom linens• iPod docking clock radios• Highest quality eco-friendly amenities• New bathroomsRESTAURANT: The newly-renovated Fireside Steakhouse & Bar at the Plaza Hotel is proudly offering a full range of locally-raised Black Angus steaks and other selections in relaxed, heritage surroundings perfect for any occasion. The completely renovated room features warm, inviting decor highlighted by a spectacular two-sided fireplace. The centerpiece of the menu is a wide range of premium Black Angus cuts from Southlands Ranch in Knutsford. This beef, available exclusively from the Fireside Steakhouse & Bar is raised by the Haughton family who have been ranching in the Kamloops area for over 100 years. MEETINGS AND BUSINESS TRAVEL: The Plaza Hotel has a variety of highly flexible, renovated function rooms and expert staff who can help you make your next event an unqualified success. The highly functional meeting rooms can accommodate up to 175 people and are ideal for small and medium size business meetings and social gatherings.WEDDINGS: The Plaza Hotel is an elegant and romantic wedding destination with multiple options for ceremonies and receptions and superb in-house catering from our expert kitchen team. Our experienced staff can offer support and insight in planning and executing a dream day and our newly-renovated guest rooms make a perfect place to end the special day for everyone including the happy couple who will adore our romantic Honeymoon Suite.LIQUOR STORE: Conveniently located at street level, the Plaza Hotel’s Liquor Store offers a wide selection of international and regional select wines, micro brew ales, domestic and imported beers and an impressive selection of spirits from around the world. Whether it’s beers for the BBQ, wine for a special dinner or whiskey for a night around the campfire, our knowledgeable and attentive staff will help you choose the right accompaniment for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Heritage Hotel
Plaza Heritage Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing